Thalia.de

Burning Midnight

What would you pay for superpowers?

For fans of The Maze Runner and The 5th Wave, this debut YA novel from Hugo Award-winner Will McIntosh pits four teens against an evil billionaire in the race of a lifetime.
Sully is a sphere dealer at a flea market. It doesn't pay much - Alex Holliday's stores have muscled out most of the independent sellers - but it helps him and his mum make the rent. No one knows where the brilliant-coloured spheres came from. One day they were just there, hidden all over the earth like huge gemstones. Burn a pair and they make you a little better: an inch taller, skilled at maths, better-looking. The rarer the sphere, the greater the improvement - and the more expensive the sphere.
When Sully meets Hunter, a girl with a natural talent for finding spheres, the two start searching together. What they find will change more than just their lives . . . Because the entire world fights over spheres, but no one knows why they're here or what their powers are . . . until now.
Rezension
Burning Midnight has an inventive plot, unlike any other YA sci-fi you'll have read. The book's best asset is its pace. Once it gets going, it goes hard, and the action sequences are breathlessly cinematic. SFX Magazine
Portrait
Will McIntosh, geboren in New York, hat bereits zahlreiche Science-Fiction-Kurzgeschichten veröffentlicht und wurde mehrfach ausgezeichnet, unter anderem mit dem Hugo Award. Er ist Professor für Psychologie an der Georgia Southern University, wo er den Umgang der Menschen mit der Gegenwartskultur studiert.
… weiterlesen
In den Warenkorb
Filialabholung

Versandkostenfrei

Bezahlung bei Abholung

Beschreibung

Produktdetails


Einband Taschenbuch
Seitenzahl 320
Altersempfehlung 11 - 15
Erscheinungsdatum 11.02.2016
Sprache Englisch
ISBN 978-1-5098-0356-9
Reihe Macmillan Children's Books
Verlag Pan Macmillan
Maße (L/B/H) 195/130/35 mm
Gewicht 233
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
6,99
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Sofort lieferbar
Versandkostenfrei
In den Warenkorb
Filialabholung

Versandkostenfrei

Bezahlung bei Abholung

Kundenbewertungen


Es wurden noch keine Bewertungen geschrieben.