Thalia.de

In weniger als einer Minute mit dem Lesen beginnen. Sie haben noch keinen tolino?

Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End

The last book in the trilogy begun by Jennifer Worth's New York Times bestseller and the basis for the PBS series Call the Midwife

When twenty-two-year-old Jennifer Worth, from a comfortable middle-class upbringing, went to work as a midwife in the poorest section of postwar London, she not only delivered hundreds of babies and touched many lives, she also became the neighborhood's most vivid chronicler. Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End is the last book in Worth's memoir trilogy, which the Times Literary Supplement described as "powerful stories with sweet charm and controlled outrage" in the face of dire circumstances.

Here, at last, is the full story of Chummy's delightful courtship and wedding. We also meet Megan'mave, identical twins who share a browbeaten husband, and return to Sister Monica Joan, who is in top eccentric form. As in Worth's first two books, Call the Midwife: A Memoir of Birth, Joy, and Hard Times and Call the Midwife: Shadows of the Workhouse, the vividly portrayed denizens of a postwar East End contend with the trials of extreme poverty—unsanitary conditions, hunger, and disease—and find surprising ways to thrive in their tightly knit community.

A rich portrait of a bygone era of comradeship and midwifery populated by unforgettable characters, Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End will appeal to readers of Frank McCourt, Katherine Boo, and James Herriot, as well as to the fans of the acclaimed PBS show based on the trilogy.

Portrait

Jennifer Worth trained as a nurse at the Royal Berk-shire Hospital in Reading, and was later ward sister at the Elizabeth Garrett Anderson Hospital in London, then the Marie Curie Hospital, also in London. Music had always been her passion, and in 1973 she left nursing in order to study music intensively, teaching piano and singing for about twenty-five years. Jennifer died in May 2011 after a short illness, leaving her husband, Philip; two daughters; and three grandchildren. Her books have all been bestsellers in England.

… weiterlesen
Beschreibung

Produktdetails


Format ePUB i
Kopierschutz kopiergeschützt i
Seitenzahl 336, (Printausgabe)
Erscheinungsdatum 12.03.2013
Sprache Englisch
EAN 9780062270078
Verlag HarperCollins
eBook (ePUB)
7,46
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Sofort per Download lieferbar
In der Cloud verfügbar
Per E-Mail verschenken i

Andere Kunden interessierten sich auch für

  • 42619389
    Letters to the Midwife
    von Jennifer Worth
    eBook
    5,49
  • 45779405
    Not Dead Yet: The Autobiography
    von Phil Collins
    eBook
    14,99
  • 46329838
    Hillbilly Elegy: A Memoir of a Family and Culture in Crisis
    von J. D. Vance
    eBook
    11,89
  • 33111735
    Unorthodox
    von Deborah Feldman
    eBook
    10,99 bisher 17,49
  • 47704295
    Born a Crime
    von Trevor Noah
    eBook
    27,49
  • 35459858
    Wild
    von Cheryl Strayed
    eBook
    7,49
  • 45122877
    Born to Run
    von Bruce Springsteen
    eBook
    15,90
  • 45865430
    Total Competition
    von Ross Brawn
    eBook
    30,99
  • 33111364
    Angela's Ashes
    von Frank McCourt
    eBook
    18,99
  • 30902479
    Losing My Virginity
    von Sir Richard Branson
    eBook
    9,99
  • 38983003
    Exodus
    von Deborah Feldman
    eBook
    15,49
  • 45168728
    Buffering
    von Hannah Hart
    eBook
    14,99
  • 45930400
    Our Revolution
    von Bernie Sanders
    eBook
    22,73
  • 39745062
    So Long, Marianne
    von Kari Hesthamar
    eBook
    20,59
  • 38739451
    Desert Flower
    von Waris Dirie
    eBook
    11,92
  • 42406366
    Not That Kind of Girl: A Young Woman Tells You What She’s Learned
    von Lena Dunham
    eBook
    9,17
  • 38224115
    Wild (Oprah's Book Club 2.0 Digital Edition)
    von Cheryl Strayed
    eBook
    15,49
  • 28113251
    The Innocent Man
    von John Grisham
    eBook
    8,49
  • 46083116
    At Home In The World
    von Thich Nhat Hanh
    eBook
    10,99
  • 32671877
    I'm Your Man
    von Sylvie Simmons
    eBook
    10,99

Buchhändler-Empfehlungen

Kristin Schenk, Thalia-Buchhandlung Coesfeld

Jennifer Worth tells with much detail the life in the 1950s between midwifery and nursing in one of Londons poorest districts. A fantastic read! Jennifer Worth tells with much detail the life in the 1950s between midwifery and nursing in one of Londons poorest districts. A fantastic read!

Kundenbewertungen


Es wurden noch keine Bewertungen geschrieben.

Wird oft zusammen gekauft

Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End

Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End

von Jennifer Worth

eBook
7,46
+
=
Blauschmuck

Blauschmuck

von Katharina Winkler

(4)
eBook
15,99
+
=

für

23,45

inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.

Alle kaufen