Thalia.de

In weniger als einer Minute mit dem Lesen beginnen. Sie haben noch keinen tolino?

Cloud Atlas

A Novel

By the New York Times bestselling author of The Bone Clocks | Shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize | Includes a new Afterword by David Mitchell
A postmodern visionary and one of the leading voices in twenty-first-century fiction, David Mitchell combines flat-out adventure, a Nabokovian love of puzzles, a keen eye for character, and a taste for mind-bending, philosophical and scientific speculation in the tradition of Umberto Eco, Haruki Murakami, and Philip K. Dick. The result is brilliantly original fiction as profound as it is playful. In this groundbreaking novel, an influential favorite among a new generation of writers, Mitchell explores with daring artistry fundamental questions of reality and identity.
Cloud Atlas begins in 1850 with Adam Ewing, an American notary voyaging from the Chatham Isles to his home in California. Along the way, Ewing is befriended by a physician, Dr. Goose, who begins to treat him for a rare species of brain parasite. . . . Abruptly, the action jumps to Belgium in 1931, where Robert Frobisher, a disinherited bisexual composer, contrives his way into the household of an infirm maestro who has a beguiling wife and a nubile daughter. . . . From there we jump to the West Coast in the 1970s and a troubled reporter named Luisa Rey, who stumbles upon a web of corporate greed and murder that threatens to claim her life. . . . And onward, with dazzling virtuosity, to an inglorious present-day England; to a Korean superstate of the near future where neocapitalism has run amok; and, finally, to a postapocalyptic Iron Age Hawaii in the last days of history.
But the story doesn't end even there. The narrative then boomerangs back through centuries and space, returning by the same route, in reverse, to its starting point. Along the way, Mitchell reveals how his disparate characters connect, how their fates intertwine, and how their souls drift across time like clouds across the sky.
As wild as a videogame, as mysterious as a Zen koan, Cloud Atlas is an unforgettable tour de force that, like its incomparable author, has transcended its cult classic status to become a worldwide phenomenon.
Praise for Cloud Atlas

"[David] Mitchell is, clearly, a genius. He writes as though at the helm of some perpetual dream machine, can evidently do anything, and his ambition is written in magma across this novel's every page."-The New York Times Book Review

"One of those how-the-holy-hell-did-he-do-it? modern classics that no doubt is-and should be-read by any student of contemporary literature."-Dave Eggers

"Wildly entertaining . . . a head rush, both action-packed and chillingly ruminative."-People

"The novel as series of nested dolls or Chinese boxes, a puzzle-book, and yet-not just dazzling, amusing, or clever but heartbreaking and passionate, too. I've never read anything quite like it, and I'm grateful to have lived, for a while, in all its many worlds."-Michael Chabon

"Cloud Atlas ought to make [Mitchell] famous on both sides of the Atlantic as a writer whose fearlessness is matched by his talent."-The Washington Post Book World

"Thrilling . . . One of the biggest joys in Cloud Atlas is watching Mitchell sashay from genre to genre without a hitch in his dance step."-Boston Sunday Globe

"Grand and elaborate . . . [Mitchell] creates a world and language at once foreign and strange, yet strikingly familiar and intimate."-Los Angeles Times
From the Trade Paperback edition.
Portrait
David Mitchell is the award-winning and bestselling author of The Bone Clocks, The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet, Black Swan Green, Cloud Atlas, Number9Dream, and Ghostwritten. Twice shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize, Mitchell was named one of the 100 most influential people in the world by Time in 2007. With KA Yoshida, Mitchell translated from the Japanese the internationally bestselling memoir The Reason I Jump. He lives in Ireland with his wife and two children.From the Hardcover edition.
… weiterlesen
Beschreibung

Produktdetails


Format ePUB i
Kopierschutz kopiergeschützt i
Seitenzahl 528, (Printausgabe)
Erscheinungsdatum 10.12.2008
Sprache Englisch
EAN 9780307483041
Verlag Random House Publishing Group
eBook
14,49
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Sofort per Download lieferbar
In der Cloud verfügbar
Per E-Mail verschenken i

Andere Kunden interessierten sich auch für

  • 33961233
    Cloud Atlas
    von David Mitchell
    (2)
    eBook
    6,99
  • 33691666
    Der Wolkenatlas
    von David Mitchell
    (30)
    eBook
    9,99
  • 39404356
    Der dreizehnte Monat
    von David Mitchell
    eBook
    9,99
  • 35758472
    The Cloud Atlas
    von Liam Callanan
    eBook
    14,49
  • 38966528
    Morgen kommt ein neuer Himmel
    von Lori Nelson Spielman
    (258)
    eBook
    9,99
  • 43596929
    Guter Mann im Mittelfeld
    von Andrei Mihailescu
    eBook
    16,99
  • 45395169
    Sternenfunken
    von Nora Roberts
    (7)
    eBook
    8,99
  • 43647451
    After You
    von Jojo Moyes
    eBook
    6,99
  • 32307811
    Fifty Shades Trilogy: Fifty Shades of Grey / Fifty Shades Darker / Fifty Shades Freed
    von E L James
    (5)
    eBook
    17,99
  • 47530072
    The Shadow Sister
    von Lucinda Riley
    eBook
    13,99
  • 43886088
    The Storm Sister
    von Lucinda Riley
    eBook
    6,49 bisher 8,99
  • 26688728
    Can You Keep A Secret?
    von Sophie Kinsella
    (9)
    eBook
    6,99
  • 40324787
    The Seven Sisters
    von Lucinda Riley
    (1)
    eBook
    8,99
  • 43812448
    Fates and Furies
    von Lauren Groff
    eBook
    4,99 bisher 6,99
  • 45246261
    The Terranauts
    von T. C. Boyle
    eBook
    8,89
  • 42881972
    Riot
    von Jamie Shaw
    eBook
    4,99
  • 52002429
    Good Boy (WAGs, #1)
    von Sarina Bowen
    eBook
    4,99
  • 42539478
    Chaos
    von Jamie Shaw
    eBook
    4,99
  • 43027690
    Grey (englischsprachige Ausgabe)
    von E L James
    (10)
    eBook
    6,99
  • 40124598
    Edge of Eternity
    von Ken Follett
    eBook
    6,49 bisher 9,99

Kundenbewertungen


Es wurden noch keine Bewertungen geschrieben.

Wird oft zusammen gekauft

Cloud Atlas

Cloud Atlas

von David Mitchell

eBook
14,49
+
=
Escape Everything!

Escape Everything!

von Robert Wringham

eBook
10,99
+
=

für

25,48

inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.

Alle kaufen