Thalia.de

Creativity, Inc.

Overcoming the Unseen Forces That Stand in the Way of True Inspiration

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY
The Huffington Post - Financial Times - Success - Inc. - Library Journal
"What does it mean to manage well?"
From Ed Catmull, co-founder (with Steve Jobs and John Lasseter) of Pixar Animation Studios, comes an incisive book about creativity in business-sure to appeal to readers of Daniel Pink, Tom Peters, and Chip and Dan Heath. Forbes raves that Creativity, Inc. "just might be the business book ever written."
Creativity, Inc. is a book for managers who want to lead their employees to new heights, a manual for anyone who strives for originality, and the first-ever, all-access trip into the nerve center of Pixar Animation-into the meetings, postmortems, and "Braintrust" sessions where some of the most successful films in history are made. It is, at heart, a book about how to build a creative culture-but it is also, as Pixar co-founder and president Ed Catmull writes, "an expression of the ideas that I believe make the best in us possible."
For nearly twenty years, Pixar has dominated the world of animation, producing such beloved films as the Toy Story trilogy, Monsters, Inc., Finding Nemo, The Incredibles, Up, and WALL-E, which have gone on to set box-office records and garner thirty Academy Awards. The joyousness of the storytelling, the inventive plots, the emotional authenticity: In some ways, Pixar movies are an object lesson in what creativity really is . Here, in this book, Catmull reveals the ideals and techniques that have made Pixar so widely admired-and so profitable.
As a young man, Ed Catmull had a dream: to make the first computer-animated movie. He nurtured that dream as a Ph.D. student at the University of Utah, where many computer science pioneers got their start, and then forged a partnership with George Lucas that led, indirectly, to his founding Pixar with Steve Jobs and John Lasseter in 1986. Nine years later, Toy Story was released, changing animation forever. The essential ingredient in that movie's success-and in the thirteen movies that followed-was the unique environment that Catmull and his colleagues built at Pixar, based on philosophies that protect the creative process and defy convention, such as:
- Give a good idea to a mediocre team, and they will screw it up. But give a mediocre idea to a great team, and they will either fix it or come up with something better.
- If you don't strive to uncover what is unseen and understand its nature, you will be ill prepared to lead.
- It's not the manager's job to prevent risks. It's the manager's job to make it safe for others to take them.
- The cost of preventing errors is often far greater than the cost of fixing them.
- A company's communication structure should not mirror its organizational structure. Everybody should be able to talk to anybody.
Praise for Creativity, Inc.
"Over more than thirty years, Ed Catmull has developed methods to root out and destroy the barriers to creativity, to marry creativity to the pursuit of excellence, and, most impressive, to sustain a culture of disciplined creativity during setbacks and success." -Jim Collins, co-author of Built to Last and author of Good to Great
"Too often, we seek to keep the status quo working. This is a book about breaking it." -Seth Godin
Rezension
Just might be the best business book ever written. - Forbes "Achieving enormous success while holding fast to the highest artistic standards is a nice trick-and Pixar, with its creative leadership and persistent commitment to innovation, has pulled it off. This book should be required reading for any manager." -Charles Duhigg, author of The Power of Habit "Steve Jobs-not a man inclined to hyperbole when asked about the qualities of others-once described Ed Catmull as 'very wise,''very self-aware,''really thoughtful,''really, really smart,' and possessing 'quiet strength,' all in a single interview. Any reader of Creativity, Inc., Catmull's new book on the art of running creative companies, will have to agree. Catmull, president of both Pixar and Walt Disney Animation, has written what just might be the most thoughtful management book ever." - Fast Company "It's one thing to be creative; it's entirely another-and much more rare-to build a great and creative culture. Over more than thirty years, Ed Catmull has developed methods to root out and destroy the barriers to creativity, to marry creativity to the pursuit of excellence, and, most impressive, to sustain a culture of disciplined creativity during setbacks and success. Pixar's unrivaled record, and the joy its films have added to our lives, gives his method the most important validation: It works." -Jim Collins, co-author of Built to Last and author of Good to Great "Too often, we seek to keep the status quo working. This is a book about breaking it." -Seth Godin"What is the secret to making more of the good stuff? Every so often Hollywood embraces a book that it senses might provide the answer. . . . Catmull's book is quickly becoming the latest bible for the show business crowd." -The New York Times "The most practical and deep book ever written by a practitioner on the topic of innovation." -Prof. Gary P. Pisano, Harvard Business School"Business gurus love to tell stories about Pixar, but this is our first chance to hear the real story from someone who lived it and led it. Everyone interested in managing innovation-or just good managing-needs to read this book." -Chip Heath, co-author of Switch and Decisive "A fascinating story about how some very smart people built something that profoundly changed the animation business and, along the way, popular culture . . . [ Creativity, Inc. ] is a well-told tale, full of detail about an interesting, intricate business. For fans of Pixar films, it's a must-read. For fans of management books, it belongs on the 'value added' shelf." - The Wall Street Journal
"Pixar uses technology only as a means to an end; its films are rooted in human concerns, not computer wizardry. The same can be said of Creativity Inc., Ed Catmull's endearingly thoughtful explanation of how the studio he co-founded generated hits such as the Toy Story trilogy, Up and Wall-E . . . . [Catmull] uses Pixar's triumphs and near-disasters to outline a system for managing people in creative businesses-one in which candid criticism is delivered sensitively, while individuality and autonomy are not strangled by a robotic corporate culture." - Financial Times
"A wonderful new book . . . Unlike most books written by founders, this isn't some myth-heavy legacy project-it's far closer to a blueprint. Catmull takes us inside the Pixar ecosystem and shows how they build and refine excellence, in revelatory detail. . . . If you do creative work, you should read it, now." -Daniel Coyle, author of The Talent Code
"A superb debut intended for managers in all fields of endeavor . . . He takes readers inside candid discussions and retreats at which participants, assuming the early versions of movies are bad, explore ways to improve them. Unusually rich in ideas, insights and experiences, the book celebrates the benefits of an open, nurturing work environment. An immensely readable and rewarding book that will challenge and inspire readers to make t
Portrait
Ed Catmull ist Mitgründer von Pixar Animation Studios und President von Pixar Animation and Disney Animation. Er wurde mit fünf Academy Awards ausgezeichnet, darunter dem Gordon E. Sawyer Award für seine Lebensleistung im Bereich der Computergrafik. Er lebt mit seiner Frau und seinen Kindern in San Francisco.
… weiterlesen
In den Warenkorb
Filialabholung

Versandkostenfrei

Bezahlung bei Abholung

Beschreibung

Produktdetails


Einband Taschenbuch
Seitenzahl 368
Erscheinungsdatum 08.04.2014
Sprache Englisch
ISBN 978-0-553-84122-0
Verlag Random House LCC US
Maße (L/B/H) 234/156/25 mm
Gewicht 530
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
12,99
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Sofort lieferbar
Versandkostenfrei
In den Warenkorb
Filialabholung

Versandkostenfrei

Bezahlung bei Abholung

Andere Kunden interessierten sich auch für

  • 46122525
    The Official Guide to the GMAT Review 2017 Bundle + Question Bank + Video
    von GMAC
    Buch
    61,99
  • 31129738
    Thinking, Fast and Slow
    von Daniel Kahneman
    Buch
    12,99
  • 43912458
    Trump: The Art of the Deal
    von Tony Schwartz
    Buch
    9,99
  • 27071413
    Rich Dad Poor Dad
    von Robert T. Kiyosaki
    Buch
    6,99
  • 42214758
    The Culture Map
    von Erin Meyer
    Buch
    12,99
  • 32964238
    Why Nations Fail
    von Daron Acemoglu
    Buch
    9,99
  • 21550543
    Think BIG
    von Donald J. Trump
    Buch
    6,99
  • 46122529
    The Official Guide for GMAT Review 2017 with Online Question Bank and Exclusive Video
    von GMAC
    Buch
    34,99
  • 29862330
    The Lean Startup
    von Eric Ries
    Buch
    14,99
  • 18958611
    Predictably Irrational
    von Dan Ariely
    Buch
    6,99
  • 40796548
    The Future of the Professions
    von Richard Susskind
    Buch
    19,99
  • 31419499
    Getting to Yes
    von Roger Fisher
    Buch
    9,99
  • 43982726
    Elon Musk
    von Ashlee Vance
    Buch
    7,99
  • 43818536
    Elon Musk
    von Ashlee Vance
    Buch
    8,99
  • 22861025
    Start with Why
    von Simon Sinek
    Buch
    12,99
  • 38960220
    Lean In
    von Sheryl Sandberg
    Buch
    9,99
  • 36844343
    Lean In
    von Sheryl Sandberg
    Buch
    8,99
  • 44042107
    Elon Musk
    von Ashlee Vance
    Buch
    5,99
  • 43903891
    The Rise of the Robots
    von Martin Ford
    Buch
    9,99
  • 36899524
    Essentialism
    von Greg McKeown
    Buch
    14,99

Kundenbewertungen


Es wurden noch keine Bewertungen geschrieben.

Wird oft zusammen gekauft

Creativity, Inc.

Creativity, Inc.

von Ed Catmull

Buch
12,99
+
=
The Business Book

The Business Book

von Scarlett O'Hara

Buch
16,99
+
=

für

29,98

inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.

Alle kaufen