Thalia.de

Every Day is for the Thief

NAMED ONE OF THE TEN BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY DWIGHT GARNER, THE NEW YORK TIMES - NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY San Francisco Chronicle NPR The Root The Telegraph The Globe and Mail
NATIONAL BESTSELLER - FINALIST, PHILLIS WHEATLEY BOOK AWARD - TEJU COLE WAS NAMED ONE OF THE MOST INFLUENTIAL AFRICANS OF THE YEAR BY NEW AFRICAN MAGAZINE
For readers of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie and Michael Ondaatje, Every Day Is for the Thief is a wholly original work of fiction by Teju Cole, whose critically acclaimed debut, Open City, was the winner of the PEN/Hemingway Award and a finalist for the National Book Critics Circle Award, and was named one of the best books of the year by more than twenty publications.

Fifteen years is a long time to be away from home. It feels longer still because I left under a cloud.

A young Nigerian living in New York City goes home to Lagos for a short visit, finding a city both familiar and strange. In a city dense with story, the unnamed narrator moves through a mosaic of life, hoping to find inspiration for his own. He witnesses the "yahoo yahoo" diligently perpetrating email frauds from an Internet café, longs after a mysterious woman reading on a public bus who disembarks and disappears into a bookless crowd, and recalls the tragic fate of an eleven-year-old boy accused of stealing at a local market.
Along the way, the man reconnects with old friends, a former girlfriend, and extended family, taps into the energies of Lagos life-creative, malevolent, ambiguous-and slowly begins to reconcile the profound changes that have taken place in his country and the truth about himself.
In spare, precise prose that sees humanity everywhere, interwoven with original photos by the author, Every Day Is for the Thief -originally published in Nigeria in 2007-is a wholly original work of fiction. This revised and updated edition is the first version of this unique book to be made available outside Africa. You've never read a book like Every Day Is for the Thief because no one writes like Teju Cole.
Praise for Every Day Is for the Thief
"A luminous rumination on storytelling and place, exile and return . . . extraordinary." - San Francisco Chronicle
"Cole is following in a long tradition of writerly walkers who, in the tradition of Baudelaire, make their way through urban spaces on foot and take their time doing so. Like Alfred Kazin, Joseph Mitchell, J. M. Coetzee, and W. G. Sebald (with whom he is often compared), Cole adds to the literature in his own zeitgeisty fashion." -The Boston Globe
"Crisp, affecting . . . Cole constructs a narrative of fragments, a series of episodes that he allows to resonate." - The New York Times Book Review
"Hugely rewarding . . . both a celebration of one of the world's most vibrant cities and a lament over what can be one of the most frustrating and difficult places to live. It is also a story of family breakup and an uneasy homecoming-the narrator has been away for fifteen years and must relearn how to navigate a place that was once home." -NPR
"[ Every Day Is for the Thief has] a restraint that allows [Cole] to slip in these exquisitely rendered observations on life, love, art that leave you feeling richer and more attuned to your own reality once you've finished reading." -Dinaw Mengestu, The Atlantic
From the Hardcover edition.
Rezension
A luminous rumination on storytelling and place, exile and return . . . extraordinary. - San Francisco Chronicle "[Teju] Cole is following in a long tradition of writerly walkers who, in the tradition of Baudelaire, make their way through urban spaces on foot and take their time doing so. Like Alfred Kazin, Joseph Mitchell, J. M. Coetzee, and W. G. Sebald (with whom he is often compared), Cole adds to the literature in his own zeitgeisty fashion." -The Boston Globe "Crisp, affecting . . . Cole constructs a narrative of fragments, a series of episodes that he allows to resonate." - The New York Times Book Review "Hugely rewarding . . . [ Every Day Is for the Thief ] is both a celebration of one of the world's most vibrant cities and a lament over what can be one of the most frustrating and difficult places to live. It is also a story of family breakup and an uneasy homecoming-the narrator has been away for fifteen years and must relearn how to navigate a place that was once home." -NPR"[ Every Day Is for the Thief has] a restraint that allows [Teju Cole] to slip in these exquisitely rendered observations on life, love, art that leave you feeling richer and more attuned to your own reality once you've finished reading." -Dinaw Mengestu, The Atlantic "Shimmering . . . transcendent." -The Seattle Times "Wonderful . . . a book that never fails to find a thoughtful and essential thing to say." -Los Angeles Times "Fearless, nimble, and surprising." -The Daily Beast "To read Cole is to be swept away by the language of a master wordsmith. In Every Day Is for the Thief, the PEN/Hemingway Award winner turns his considerable talents to the character of the expatriate, a young Nigerian medical student living in New York City who returns home to Lagos for a short visit. In his adventures wandering the town, reflections on the Nigerian homeland and the self-as-outsider arise. This work was originally published in Nigeria in 2007, four years before the release of Cole's novel Open City, but was not available in the U.S. until now. We are thankful that non-Nigerian readers can now enjoy Cole's first novel." - The Root "A Teju Cole novel is a reading experience matched by few contemporary writers." - Flavorwire " Every Day Is for the Thief, by turns funny, mournful, and acerbic, offers a portrait of Nigeria in which anger, perhaps the most natural response to the often lamentable state of affairs there, is somehow muted and deflected by the author's deep engagement with the country: a profoundly disenchanted love. Teju Cole is among the most gifted writers of his generation." -Salman Rushdie"[A] tightly focused but still marvelously capacious little novel . . . built with cool originality . . . The house of literature [Cole] is busy creating is an in-between space with fluid dimensions, resisting entrenchment." - The Christian Science Monitor"Direct and bracing, a short, sharp counterpunch to those who seek to romanticise Africa." - The Telegraph (UK)" Every Day Is for the Thief holds something for people with all levels of familiarity with Nigeria. It is an introduction and a provocation, a beautifully simple portrait and a nuanced examination. It invites you to steal a glimpse of Lagos." - Pittsburgh Post-Gazette "A worthy precursor and, in a way, a companion piece to Cole's highly acclaimed Open City . . . Cole's narrator is compelling-someone with whom you want to spend time ambling, looking and chatting. I was happy to be along for the journey." - The Plain Dealer "[ Every Day Is for the Thief ] expands and reinforces the accomplishments of Open City, confirming along the way that Teju is one of the foremost-for the lack of a better term-bicultural writers." -Aleksandar Hemon, Bomb " Every Day Is for the Thief is a vivid, episodic evocation of the truism that you can't go home again; but that doesn't mean you're not free to try. A return to his native Nigeria plunges Cole's charming narrator into a tem
Portrait
Teju Cole, geboren 1975, wuchs in Nigeria auf und kam als Jugendlicher in die USA. Er ist als Kunsthistoriker, Schriftsteller und Fotograf tätig und hat eine Stelle als Distinguished Writer in Residence am Bard College inne. Im Jahr 2015 wurde er mit dem Windham-Campbell-Literaturpreis in der Kategorie Belletristik ausgezeichnet. Teju Cole lebt in Brooklyn, New York.
… weiterlesen
In den Warenkorb
Filialabholung

Versandkostenfrei

Bezahlung bei Abholung

Beschreibung

Produktdetails


Einband Taschenbuch
Seitenzahl 192
Erscheinungsdatum 03.03.2015
Sprache Englisch
ISBN 978-0-8129-8585-6
Verlag Random House LCC US
Maße (L/B/H) 203/131/22 mm
Gewicht 167
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
12,99
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Sofort lieferbar
Versandkostenfrei
In den Warenkorb
Filialabholung

Versandkostenfrei

Bezahlung bei Abholung

Andere Kunden interessierten sich auch für

  • 40122472
    Every Day is for the Thief
    von Teju Cole
    Buch
    7,99
  • 37039991
    Every Day is for the Thief
    von Teju Cole
    Buch
    12,98
  • 43846778
    The Secrets of Happines
    von Lucy Diamond
    Buch
    8,99
  • 37426097
    Last Friends (Old Filth Trilogy 3)
    von Jane Gardam
    Buch
    8,99
  • 34910866
    The Life List
    von Lori Nelson Spielman
    (5)
    Buch
    6,99 bisher 9,70
  • 42413879
    All the Light We Cannot See
    von Anthony Doerr
    (2)
    Buch
    7,85 bisher 10,49
  • 29974749
    Me Before You
    von Jojo Moyes
    (6)
    Buch
    8,85 bisher 11,80
  • 43809866
    It Ends with Us
    von Colleen Hoover
    (1)
    Buch
    8,99 bisher 11,50
  • 40495717
    Here I Am
    von Jonathan Safran Foer
    (1)
    Buch
    9,99
  • 4570744
    The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
    von Mark Haddon
    (7)
    Buch
    6,99
  • 45047266
    Nutshell
    von Ian McEwan
    (2)
    Buch
    14,99
  • 44681417
    The Seven Sisters 03. The Shadow Sister
    von Lucinda Riley
    Buch
    13,95 bisher 16,49
  • 40476149
    After You
    von Jojo Moyes
    Buch
    7,99
  • 46095035
    Born A Crime
    von Trevor Noah
    Buch
    12,99
  • 46005753
    Born a Crime
    von Trevor Noah
    Buch
    13,99
  • 45619451
    Two by Two
    von Nicholas Sparks
    Buch
    13,99
  • 43943028
    After You
    von Jojo Moyes
    (1)
    Buch
    8,50 bisher 10,00
  • 35006002
    S.
    von Doug Dorst
    (2)
    Buch
    27,99 bisher 38,90
  • 44871835
    Swing Time
    von Zadie Smith
    (2)
    Buch
    12,99
  • 37162494
    Old Filth (Old Filth Trilogy 1)
    von Jane Gardam
    (1)
    Buch
    8,99

Kundenbewertungen


Es wurden noch keine Bewertungen geschrieben.

Wird oft zusammen gekauft

Every Day is for the Thief

Every Day is for the Thief

von Teju Cole

Buch
12,99
+
=
Open City

Open City

von Teju Cole

Buch
6,99
+
=

für

19,98

inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.

Alle kaufen