Thalia.de

The Association of Small Bombs

A Novel

National Book Award Finalist
One of the New York Times Book Review 's Ten Best Books of the Year
A Washington Post Notable Fiction Book of 2016
Named a Best Book of 2016 by: Buzzfeed, Esquire, Time magazine, Vulture.com, and PopSugar
Longlisted for the FT/Oppenheimer Emerging Voices Award
"Wonderful. . . . Smart, devastating, unpredictable, and enviably adept in its handling of tragedy and its fallout. If you enjoy novels that happily disrupt traditional narratives-about grief, death, violence, politics-I suggest you go out and buy this one. Post haste." -Fiona Maazel, The New York Times Book Review
"Brilliant. . . . Mr. Mahajan's writing is acrid and bracing, tightly packed with dissonant imagery. . . . The Association of Small Bombs is not the first novel about the aftermath of a terrorist attack, but it is the finest I've read at capturing the seduction and force of the murderous, annihilating illogic that increasingly consumes the globe." - Sam Sacks, The Wall Street Journal
"[Mahajan's] eagerness to go at the bomb from every angle suggests a voracious approach to fiction-making, a daring imaginative promiscuity that moves beyond the scope of his first, very good novel, Family Planning ." - The New Yorker
"[A] beautifully written novel. . . . Ambitious. . . . Carries us deep into the human side of a tragedy." - The Washington Post
For readers of Mohsin Hamid, Dave Eggers, Arundhati Roy, and Teju Cole, The Association of Small Bombs is an expansive and deeply humane novel that is at once groundbreaking in its empathy, dazzling in its acuity, and ambitious in scope
When brothers Tushar and Nakul Khurana, two Delhi schoolboys, pick up their family's television set at a repair shop with their friend Mansoor Ahmed one day in 1996, disaster strikes without warning. A bomb-one of the many "small" bombs that go off seemingly unheralded across the world-detonates in the Delhi marketplace, instantly claiming the lives of the Khurana boys, to the devastation of their parents. Mansoor survives, bearing the physical and psychological effects of the bomb. After a brief stint at university in America, Mansoor returns to Delhi, where his life becomes entangled with the mysterious and charismatic Ayub, a fearless young activist whose own allegiances and beliefs are more malleable than Mansoor could imagine. Woven among the story of the Khuranas and the Ahmeds is the gripping tale of Shockie, a Kashmiri bomb maker who has forsaken his own life for the independence of his homeland.
Karan Mahajan writes brilliantly about the effects of terrorism on victims and perpetrators, proving himself to be one of the most provocative and dynamic novelists of his generation.
Rezension
National Book Award Finalist
"Wonderful. . . . Smart, devastating, unpredictable, and enviably adept in its handling of tragedy and its fallout. If you enjoy novels that happily disrupt traditional narratives-about grief, death, violence, politics-I suggest you go out and buy this one. Post haste."
-Fiona Maazel, The New York Times Book Review
"Brilliant. . . . Mr. Mahajan's writing is acrid and bracing, tightly packed with dissonant imagery. . . . The Association of Small Bombs is not the first novel about the aftermath of a terrorist attack, but it is the finest I've read at capturing the seduction and force of the murderous, annihilating illogic that increasingly consumes the globe."
-Sam Sacks, The Wall Street Journal
"[Mahajan's] eagerness to go at the bomb from every angle suggests a voracious approach to fiction-making, a daring imaginative promiscuity that moves beyond the scope of his first, very good novel, Family Planning . . . . Tragedy deepens Mahajan's range. In the first few pages of his new novel, he renders the spectacle of the bombing with a languid, balletic beauty, pitting the unhurried composure of his prose against the violence of the events it describes. . . . Mahajan has a cinematic attunement to the spectacle of disaster, and he often focuses on the minor rather than the grandiose, to eerie effect."
-Alexandra Schwartz, The New Yorker
"A deeply moving exploration of terrorism that destroys the tropes of the subcontinental novel. . . . In flitting between the perspectives of terrorists and victims, parents and children, Hindus and Muslims, Mahajan has committed to a radical and extended act of empathy. . . . Where other authors concede the clash between the West's physicality and the East's spiritualism, Mahajan deftly shows how fundamentally reliant each is on the other, and, consequently, how silly the binary truly is."
-Sharan Shetty, The Slate Book Review
"A singularly intelligent novel."
-Parul Sehgal, The New York Times Book Review
"[A] beautifully written novel. . . . Ambitious. . . . Carries us deep into the human side of a tragedy. . . ."
-The Washington Post
"When two brothers are killed in an explosion in Delhi, it forever changes the lives of the boy who was with them, the parents who mourn them and the man who made the bomb."
- Time , "A Best Book of 2016 So Far"
"A complex meditation on violence, fundamentalism and grief. . . . A superb novel. . . . A careful, discriminate and moral work of art."
-Luke Brown, Financial Times
"A mind-blowing book on many, many levels. The characterisation is extraordinary. . . . A very extraordinary book."
-BBC Radio 4, Saturday Review
"Even when handling the darkest material or picking through confounding emotional complexities, Mahajan maintains a light touch and a clarity of vision. . . . He is particularly adept at capturing the quicksilver shifts of mood that accompany states of high emotion. . . . Mahajan shows immense perspicacity in his handling of Deepa, and of the other women in the novel. . . . Mahajan's novel is as much a chronicle of the cascading effects of the opening of India's economy and the global response to 9/11 as it is about a bomb explosion in a down-at-heel neighborhood market. . . . In the end the Lajpat Nagar bomb, like the plot of a novel, is at the beck and call of the writer who conjured it. Except that instead of dooming his characters all at once, Mahajan picks them off with abrupt indifference, like a lone shooter, one by one."
-Deborah Baker, London Review of Books
"The pitfalls of the terror novel are crudity, fetishization of the terrorist's mind, and over-attention to the obvious, but Mahajan's book suffers from none of these. He's proved that the job can be done with subtlety and an eye for the fine grains of daily life, and not without comedy or irony."
-Christian Lorentzen, Vulture.com's "Best Books of 2016 (So Far)"
"A tour de force of psychological probing
Portrait
Karan Mahajan, Jahrgang 1984, ist in Indien aufgewachsen und hat an der Stanford-Universität Englisch und Wirtschaft studiert. Der Autor lebt heute in New York und schreibt seinen zweiten Roman.
… weiterlesen
In den Warenkorb
Filialabholung

Versandkostenfrei

Bezahlung bei Abholung

Beschreibung

Produktdetails


Einband Taschenbuch
Seitenzahl 288
Erscheinungsdatum 21.03.2017
Sprache Englisch
ISBN 978-0-14-310927-3
Verlag Penguin LCC US
Maße (L/B/H) 205/136/30 mm
Gewicht 247
Verkaufsrang 1.132
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
12,99
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Versandfertig in 5 - 7 Tagen
Versandkostenfrei
In den Warenkorb
Filialabholung

Versandkostenfrei

Bezahlung bei Abholung

Andere Kunden interessierten sich auch für

  • 45047266
    Nutshell
    von Ian McEwan
    (2)
    Buch
    14,99
  • 45467726
    The Vegetarian
    von Han Kang
    Buch
    7,99
  • 44722506
    The Association of Small Bombs
    von Karan Mahajan
    Buch
    12,99
  • 34910866
    The Life List
    von Lori Nelson Spielman
    (5)
    Buch
    6,99 bisher 9,70
  • 42413879
    All the Light We Cannot See
    von Anthony Doerr
    (2)
    Buch
    7,85 bisher 10,49
  • 29974749
    Me Before You
    von Jojo Moyes
    (6)
    Buch
    8,85 bisher 11,80
  • 43809866
    It Ends with Us
    von Colleen Hoover
    (1)
    Buch
    8,99 bisher 11,50
  • 4570744
    The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
    von Mark Haddon
    (7)
    Buch
    6,99
  • 44681417
    The Seven Sisters 03. The Shadow Sister
    von Lucinda Riley
    Buch
    13,95 bisher 16,49
  • 40476149
    After You
    von Jojo Moyes
    Buch
    7,99
  • 46005753
    Born a Crime
    von Trevor Noah
    Buch
    13,99
  • 43943028
    After You
    von Jojo Moyes
    (1)
    Buch
    8,50 bisher 10,00
  • 46095035
    Born A Crime
    von Trevor Noah
    Buch
    14,99
  • 45619451
    Two by Two
    von Nicholas Sparks
    Buch
    13,99
  • 44871835
    Swing Time
    von Zadie Smith
    (2)
    Buch
    12,99
  • 35006002
    S.
    von J. J. Abrams
    (2)
    Buch
    27,99 bisher 38,90
  • 15053199
    Silver Bay
    von Jojo Moyes
    (1)
    Buch
    7,99 bisher 9,99
  • 11640077
    Dead Poets Society
    von Nancy H. Kleinbaum
    (1)
    Buch
    6,99
  • 31364670
    My Brilliant Friend, Book 1: Childhood, Adolescence
    von Elena Ferrante
    Buch
    12,99
  • 37162494
    Old Filth (Old Filth Trilogy 1)
    von Jane Gardam
    (1)
    Buch
    8,99

Kundenbewertungen


Es wurden noch keine Bewertungen geschrieben.

Wird oft zusammen gekauft

The Association of Small Bombs

The Association of Small Bombs

von Karan Mahajan

Buch
12,99
+
=
Here I Am

Here I Am

von Jonathan Safran Foer

(1)
Buch
9,99
+
=

für

22,98

inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.

Alle kaufen