Thalia.de

The End of the World Running Club

(1)
The Number One Bestseller and featured on Simon Mayo's Radio 2 Book Club
THE ULTIMATE RACE-AGAINST-TIME THRILLER
When the world ends and you find yourself stranded on the wrong side of the country, every second counts.
No one knows this more than Edgar Hill. 550 miles away from his family, he must push himself to the very limit to get back to them, or risk losing them forever...
His best option is to run.
But what if your best isn't good enough?
An original and powerful post-apocalyptic thriller, perfect for fans of The Martian
Rezension
"Extraordinary" Simon Mayo Radio 2 Book Club
… weiterlesen
In den Warenkorb
Filialabholung

Versandkostenfrei

Bezahlung bei Abholung

Beschreibung

Produktdetails


Einband Taschenbuch
Seitenzahl 464
Erscheinungsdatum 05.05.2016
Sprache Englisch
ISBN 978-1-78503-266-0
Reihe Del Rey
Verlag Random House UK
Maße (L/B/H) 195/126/32 mm
Gewicht 319
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
7,99
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Sofort lieferbar
Versandkostenfrei
In den Warenkorb
Filialabholung

Versandkostenfrei

Bezahlung bei Abholung

Kundenbewertungen


Durchschnitt
1 Bewertung
Übersicht
1
0
0
0
0

The End of the World Running Club
von miss.mesmerized am 15.05.2016

A strange remembrance of last night’s news, a world turned upside down, something strange but important happening. Edgar Hill’s life has been rather uneventful so far, but on this morning, he has to show that he can take care of his family. A strike, or rather: masses of strikes,... A strange remembrance of last night’s news, a world turned upside down, something strange but important happening. Edgar Hill’s life has been rather uneventful so far, but on this morning, he has to show that he can take care of his family. A strike, or rather: masses of strikes, hit Britain and only minutes make the difference between life and death. In the last, second, he can hide himself, his wife and their two kinds in their cellar. Soon he has to realize that he was everything but not prepared for such a situation. After weeks they are rescued and brought to a camp with hundreds of others survivors. The country is devastated, but there is hope. From the overweight, disinterested father, Ed turns into a strong man who immediately after has to show that strength can move mountains. Adrian J. Walker first starts off with a rather classic pandemonium after an unfathomable strike hits innocent citizens. Chaos and anger, the fight for life and ruthless behavior rule. Then we see people taking care of each other, forming a new community which is stronger – just until the moment when the number of places which ensure survival is limited. The scenario appears to be quite realistic, most of it remains in the dark and cloudy which I think was a good idea since the characters do not really get reliable information and have to draw their own conclusions. The strongest of the novel, however, was the development of the protagonist. Not only did he slowly turn into a kind of hero, but the way he changes gradually and grows with each challenge it great to read and also authentic and believable. I would not call the novel a thriller, there was a bit of thrill, surely, but for me the study of the characters and the human behavior in general in such a scenario are much more convincing and interesting than the moments of suspense.

Hat Ihnen diese Empfehlung geholfen?
0 0