Thalia.de

The End of the World Running Club

(1)
The Number One Bestseller and featured on Simon Mayo's Radio 2 Book Club
THE ULTIMATE RACE-AGAINST-TIME THRILLER
When the world ends and you find yourself stranded on the wrong side of the country, every second counts.
No one knows this more than Edgar Hill. 550 miles away from his family, he must push himself to the very limit to get back to them, or risk losing them forever...
His best option is to run.
But what if your best isn't good enough?
An original and powerful post-apocalyptic thriller, perfect for fans of The Martian
Rezension
"Extraordinary" Simon Mayo Radio 2 Book Club
… weiterlesen
In den Warenkorb
Filialabholung

Versandkostenfrei

Bezahlung bei Abholung

Beschreibung

Produktdetails


Einband Taschenbuch
Seitenzahl 464
Erscheinungsdatum 05.05.2016
Sprache Englisch
ISBN 978-1-78503-266-0
Reihe Del Rey
Verlag Random House UK
Maße (L/B/H) 195/126/32 mm
Gewicht 319
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
8,99
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Sofort lieferbar
Versandkostenfrei
In den Warenkorb
Filialabholung

Versandkostenfrei

Bezahlung bei Abholung

Andere Kunden interessierten sich auch für

  • 34910866
    The Life List
    von Lori Nelson Spielman
    (5)
    Buch
    6,99 bisher 9,70
  • 36848824
    Raven's Shadow 01. Blood Song
    von Anthony Ryan
    Buch
    8,99
  • 43718516
    Paradise City
    von Elizabeth Day
    Buch
    8,99
  • 43246734
    The Forgetting Time
    von Sharon Guskin
    Buch
    8,99
  • 43746620
    Day Shift
    von Charlaine Harris
    Buch
    6,99
  • 43866077
    Tales From the Kingdoms
    von Sarah Pinborough
    Buch
    14,99
  • 42235324
    The Amazing Book is Not on Fire
    von Dan Howell
    (3)
    Buch
    11,99
  • 39457238
    The Farseer Trilogy 2. Royal Assassin
    von Robin Hobb
    Buch
    9,99
  • 43549543
    Satin Island
    von Tom McCarthy
    Buch
    8,99
  • 44975842
    The Scent of Salt & Sand: An Escaped Novella
    von Kristen Cast
    Buch
    8,99
  • 38854808
    The Republic of Thieves
    von Scott Lynch
    Buch
    7,99
  • 44798002
    Do Not Say We Have Nothing
    von Madeleine Thien
    Buch
    12,99
  • 41659146
    Outlander Boxed Set
    von Diana Gabaldon
    (1)
    Buch
    26,34 bisher 38,49
  • 20747206
    Jane Eyre (Collins Classics)
    von Charlotte Brontë
    Buch
    2,99
  • 30674192
    A Raisin in the Sun
    von Lorraine Hansberry
    (1)
    Buch
    6,80
  • 43564382
    Milk and Honey
    von Rupi Kaur
    Buch
    12,99 bisher 14,99
  • 3061941
    A Raisin in the Sun
    von Lorraine Hansberry
    Buch
    6,99
  • 42413879
    All the Light We Cannot See
    von Anthony Doerr
    (2)
    Buch
    7,85 bisher 10,49
  • 29974749
    Me Before You
    von Jojo Moyes
    (6)
    Buch
    8,85 bisher 11,80
  • 43809866
    It Ends with Us
    von Colleen Hoover
    (1)
    Buch
    8,99 bisher 11,50

Kundenbewertungen


Durchschnitt
1 Bewertung
Übersicht
1
0
0
0
0

The End of the World Running Club
von miss.mesmerized am 15.05.2016

A strange remembrance of last night’s news, a world turned upside down, something strange but important happening. Edgar Hill’s life has been rather uneventful so far, but on this morning, he has to show that he can take care of his family. A strike, or rather: masses of strikes,... A strange remembrance of last night’s news, a world turned upside down, something strange but important happening. Edgar Hill’s life has been rather uneventful so far, but on this morning, he has to show that he can take care of his family. A strike, or rather: masses of strikes, hit Britain and only minutes make the difference between life and death. In the last, second, he can hide himself, his wife and their two kinds in their cellar. Soon he has to realize that he was everything but not prepared for such a situation. After weeks they are rescued and brought to a camp with hundreds of others survivors. The country is devastated, but there is hope. From the overweight, disinterested father, Ed turns into a strong man who immediately after has to show that strength can move mountains. Adrian J. Walker first starts off with a rather classic pandemonium after an unfathomable strike hits innocent citizens. Chaos and anger, the fight for life and ruthless behavior rule. Then we see people taking care of each other, forming a new community which is stronger – just until the moment when the number of places which ensure survival is limited. The scenario appears to be quite realistic, most of it remains in the dark and cloudy which I think was a good idea since the characters do not really get reliable information and have to draw their own conclusions. The strongest of the novel, however, was the development of the protagonist. Not only did he slowly turn into a kind of hero, but the way he changes gradually and grows with each challenge it great to read and also authentic and believable. I would not call the novel a thriller, there was a bit of thrill, surely, but for me the study of the characters and the human behavior in general in such a scenario are much more convincing and interesting than the moments of suspense.

Hat Ihnen diese Empfehlung geholfen?
0 0

Wird oft zusammen gekauft

The End of the World Running Club

The End of the World Running Club

von Adrian J. Walker

(1)
Buch
8,99
+
=
One Step Too Far

One Step Too Far

von Tina Seskis

Buch
6,99
+
=

für

15,98

inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.

Alle kaufen