Thalia.de

In weniger als einer Minute mit dem Lesen beginnen. Sie haben noch keinen tolino?

The Lies We Tell

(1)

You can never escape your past...

PRAISE FOR THE LIES WE TELL

The Lies We Tell has a sense of tension and skewed reality from page one. Delightfully creepy and skilfully plotted ... it's a can't-wait-to-get-back-to-it book and I thoroughly enjoyed it.' Hilary Boyd, bestselling author of Thursdays in the Park and Meet Me on the Beach

The last time Katy saw Jude was on a school trip, when Jude was attacked by a stranger and Katy ran away. Twenty years later, Jude is back, and her reappearance coincides with a series of unsettling incidents: a stranger appears in the downstairs flat; Katy's house is vandalised; her mother is mugged and her home ransacked.

And Jude seems to know an uncomfortable amount about Katy's current life...

For fans of Gone Girl, The Girl on the Train and Kathryn Croft, THE LIES WE TELL is an addictive, complex and completely gripping psychological thriller in which present and past intertwine to devastating effect. Forced to revisit the same rocky waters of friendship and power they inhabited when they were fifteen, as the story reaches its explosive climax, Jude and Katy realise that when it comes to memory, truth and family - nothing and no-one are what they seem.

'After a dramatic opening, The Lies We Tell develops into an intriguing story full of slow-burning suspense.' Sophie McKenzie, author of Close My Eyes and Here We Lie

Meg Carter worked as a journalist for twenty years before turning her hand to fiction. Her features have appeared in many newspapers, magazines and online with contributions to titles including You magazine, Independent, Guardian, Financial Times, and Radio Times. She is on the advisory committee of Women in Journalism. Meg recently relocated from west London to Bath, where she now lives with her husband and teenage son. The Lies We Tell is her first novel.

Portrait
Meg Carter worked as a journalist for twenty years before turning her hand to fiction. Her features have appeared in many newspapers, magazines and online with contributions to titles including You magazine, Independent, Guardian, Financial Times, and Radio Times. She is on the advisory committee of Women in Journalism. Meg recently relocated from west London to Bath, where she now lives with her husband and teenage son. The Lies We Tell is her first novel.
… weiterlesen
Beschreibung

Produktdetails


Format ePUB i
Kopierschutz kopiergeschützt i
Seitenzahl 320, (Printausgabe)
Erscheinungsdatum 17.08.2015
Sprache Englisch
EAN 9781910859018
Verlag Canelo Digital Publishing Ltd
Verkaufsrang 54.548
eBook (ePUB)
1,99
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Sofort per Download lieferbar
In der Cloud verfügbar
Per E-Mail verschenken i

Andere Kunden interessierten sich auch für

  • 43877378
    Mississippi Off the Beaten Path®
    von Marlo Carter Kirkpatrick
    eBook
    17,79
  • 43167382
    Killing Eva
    von Alex Blackmore
    eBook
    6,99
  • 42718056
    Copts in Egyptian Politics (RLE Egypt
    von B.L. Carter
    eBook
    111,48
  • 41131128
    Fake ID
    von Jason Starr
    eBook
    6,99
  • 35932650
    Carry Me Across the Water
    von Ethan Canin
    eBook
    15,49
  • 28036807
    Callisto
    von Lin Carter
    eBook
    11,21
  • 40890280
    Typographic Design
    von Rob Carter
    eBook
    57,99
  • 45779156
    Conclave
    von Robert Harris
    eBook
    10,99
  • 41211166
    Blood on Snow
    von Jo Nesbo
    eBook
    6,49
  • 34179342
    Inferno
    von Dan Brown
    (1)
    eBook
    6,99
  • 41211694
    Die Again
    von Tess Gerritsen
    eBook
    6,99
  • 44944784
    My Husband's Wife
    von Jane Corry
    eBook
    6,99
  • 39286743
    The Girl Next Door
    von Ruth Rendell
    eBook
    6,99
  • 46688682
    The Truth Factory
    von Cody McFadyen
    eBook
    4,99 bisher 5,99
  • 43702827
    Playing with Fire
    von Tess Gerritsen
    eBook
    6,99
  • 46339259
    The Obsidian Chamber
    von Douglas Preston
    eBook
    7,99 bisher 8,99
  • 45186985
    The Secret: The brand new thriller from the bestselling author of The Teacher
    von Katerina Diamond
    eBook
    4,99
  • 42045861
    Make Me
    von Lee Child
    eBook
    4,99 bisher 6,99
  • 32016314
    The Chemistry Of Death
    von Simon Beckett
    eBook
    6,99
  • 44666199
    15th Affair
    von James Patterson
    eBook
    4,99

Kundenbewertungen


Durchschnitt
1 Bewertung
Übersicht
0
1
0
0
0

The Lies We Tell
von miss.mesmerized am 04.10.2015

Twenty years have passed since last Katy saw Jude. The incident burnt into her brain: the friend was attacked and Katy left her alone and ran away. Now she is back and there are things to be sorted out. At first Katy does not give it too much attention... Twenty years have passed since last Katy saw Jude. The incident burnt into her brain: the friend was attacked and Katy left her alone and ran away. Now she is back and there are things to be sorted out. At first Katy does not give it too much attention but gradually her life becomes more and more threatened by the old acquaintance and she starts to wonder if she got something wrong from in her memory of that summer. Slowly the past returns and in talking to her family she finds out what was hidden behind masks and changes her life forever. What starts as a slow with minor incidents becomes more thrilling when they are linked and a pattern becomes visible. As Katy unfolds what happened in her youth the reader develops an understanding and being in the advantage of memories from different characters, you soon detect that there was a lot more than the innocent girl assumed. Watching her detect the dyfunctioning of her own family, lies not only she told but also her surrounding and a memory which was adjusted to her own needs, is what makes reading this novel a great fun. The plot is strong and interesting, yet the language sometimes lacks variety and especially the scenes in which Katy and her husband quarrel are weak and annoying. If they are meant to slow down the action and to create suspense, this did not work for me. It might, however, for readers who are into romance and the hardship of marriages. The end, too, was a bit too much to my taste. All in all, a convincing story with an enthralling plot.

Hat Ihnen diese Empfehlung geholfen?
0 0

Wird oft zusammen gekauft

The Lies We Tell

The Lies We Tell

von Meg Carter

(1)
eBook
1,99
+
=
Night School

Night School

von Lee Child

eBook
14,99
+
=

für

16,98

inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.

Alle kaufen