Thalia.de

In weniger als einer Minute mit dem Lesen beginnen. Sie haben noch keinen tolino?

The Radleys

Meet the Radleys. Peter, Helen and their teenage children, Clara and Rowan, live in a typical suburban English town. They are an everyday family, averagely dysfunctional, averagely content. But, as their children have yet to find out, the Radleys have a devastating secret. In this moving, thrilling and extraordinary portrait of one unusual family, The Radleys asks what we grow into when we grow up, and explores what we gain - and lose - when we deny our appetites.
Portrait
Matt Haig was born in 1975. His debut novel, The Last Family in England, was a UK bestseller. The Dead Fathers Club, an update of Hamlet featuring an eleven-year-old boy, and The Possession of Mr Cave, a horror story about an overprotective father, are being made into films and have been translated into numerous languages. He is also the author of the award winning children's novel Shadow Forest, and its sequel, The Runaway Troll. Matt has lived in London and Spain, and now lives in York with the writer Andrea Semple and their two children.
Zitat
* Dripping in blood, this is a story of family secrets so terrible that they shouldn't be uncovered. Guardian * Red-blooded fiction at its most seductive. Sunday Telegraph * Delightfully eccentric ... a strangely moving portrait of a marriage. The Financial Times * A sharp, bloody tale of abstinence and indulgence (and trying not to eat the neighbours). -- Steven Hall, Author Of The Raw Shark Texts * Reality bites in a funny family affair... pointed, clever and witty. -- Kim Newman Independent * Haig's very original spin on the [vampire] myth is insightful, frightening and uplifting. The Guardian * Smart, snappy, quirky ... as much a satire on self-denying suburban life as a straightforward bloodthirsty tale. Scotsman * Ratchets up the pace and the tension until the taut conclusion. Bloody good fun. SFX Magazine * Switches deftly between a classic Carrie-style narrative of teen difference, in which the kids are teased for their outsiderness, and a parental tale of mid-life crisis. Herald * Great fun, with much enjoyment derived from the placing of these ancient bloodsuckers in dull English suburbia. Vogue * Haig writes in addictive, bitesize chapters that pump the action along... All vampire fiction has a strong sexual element, but in this book, the passion's not just for the pale-faced teens. Daily Mail * Haig has managed to coax something delightfully new and, unusually, rather English from a saturated genre... [He] combines strong dialogue with a healthy sense of self-parody in a novel that should appeal to all vampire fans, whatever their age. Metro * A witty introduction to present-day vampire lore... Highly recommended. Observer * vampire fans will find lots to enjoy, but it's the blackly comic dissection of the family that makes this book stand out. The Guardian * Witty as well as deep. Books for Keeps * The 'some adult content' coverline gives due warning that teen readers might be bored by adults holding dinner parties and contemplating affaris, but the story should carry them through such longueurs. Books for Keeps
… weiterlesen
Beschreibung

Produktdetails


Format ePUB i
Kopierschutz kopiergeschützt i
Seitenzahl 352, (Printausgabe)
Erscheinungsdatum 01.07.2010
Sprache Englisch
EAN 9781847679161
Verlag Canongate Books Ltd.
eBook (ePUB)
9,49
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Sofort per Download lieferbar
In der Cloud verfügbar
Per E-Mail verschenken i

Andere Kunden interessierten sich auch für

  • 42467252
    La ambición de Norman Roy
    von Antonio Íñiguez Escobar
    eBook
    4,99
  • 26688457
    The Possession of Mr Cave
    von Matt Haig
    eBook
    8,49
  • 23695821
    Die Radleys
    von Matt Haig
    eBook
    9,99
  • 40942182
    Oma lässt grüßen und sagt, es tut ihr leid
    von Fredrik Backman
    (5)
    eBook
    9,99
  • 40312498
    You're the One That I Want
    von Giovanna Fletcher
    eBook
    6,99
  • 42442122
    Mit Englisch unterwegs
    von Juliane Forssmann
    eBook
    8,99
  • 26688758
    The Mephisto Club
    von Tess Gerritsen
    eBook
    6,99
  • 46083114
    Bridget Jones’s Baby
    von Helen Fielding
    eBook
    9,99
  • 40313247
    The Rosie Effect
    von Graeme Simsion
    (1)
    eBook
    6,99
  • 45779580
    Nutshell
    von Ian McEwan
    eBook
    12,99
  • 46675775
    This Was a Man
    von Jeffrey Archer
    eBook
    14,49
  • 45106485
    The Nest: America's hottest new bestseller
    von Cynthia D'Aprix Sweeney
    eBook
    9,99
  • 47666236
    Archangel's Heart
    von Nalini Singh
    eBook
    5,99 bisher 7,49
  • 45438018
    Lyrebird
    von Cecelia Ahern
    eBook
    12,99
  • 45106483
    Cecelia Ahern 3-Book Collection: One Hundred Names, How to Fall in Love, The Year I Met You
    von Cecelia Ahern
    eBook
    4,99
  • 38490532
    Be Careful What You Wish For
    von Jeffrey Archer
    eBook
    4,99
  • 45317515
    The Sellout
    von Paul Beatty
    eBook
    7,99 bisher 9,99
  • 39953972
    Those Who Leave and Those Who Stay
    von Elena Ferrante
    eBook
    11,99 bisher 19,99
  • 45121804
    Here I Am
    von Jonathan Safran Foer
    eBook
    13,47
  • 45118511
    It Ends with Us
    von Colleen Hoover
    eBook
    10,99 bisher 17,49

Buchhändler-Empfehlungen

„Bissig!“

Corinna Simon, Thalia-Buchhandlung Rostock

Ich gestehe, dass ich zunächst ein wenig skeptisch war, als mir jemand "The Radleys" empfahl. "Ja, ja, wieder so ein Vampirroman, der vom Verlag als der nächste große Bestseller angepriesen wird...",dachte ich. Doch das Buch hat mich wirklich überzeugt!
Eine schwarzhumorige Lektüre für alle Fans von "Desperate Housewives" und "Dämliche
Ich gestehe, dass ich zunächst ein wenig skeptisch war, als mir jemand "The Radleys" empfahl. "Ja, ja, wieder so ein Vampirroman, der vom Verlag als der nächste große Bestseller angepriesen wird...",dachte ich. Doch das Buch hat mich wirklich überzeugt!
Eine schwarzhumorige Lektüre für alle Fans von "Desperate Housewives" und "Dämliche Dämonen". Beißen...äh...greifen Sie zu!

„Mehr Schein als Sein ...“

D. Knichel, Thalia-Buchhandlung Oberhausen

Die Radleys wirken auf den ersten Blick wie eine ganz normale englische Kleinstadt-Familie: Vater Peter ist Arzt, Mutter Helen ist Hausfrau und die beiden Kinder Clara und Rowan sind so wie pubertierende Kinder nunmal so sind.
Aber fast alle um die Radleys herum merken, dass mit denen doch irgendwie etwas nicht stimmt. Rowan wird von
Die Radleys wirken auf den ersten Blick wie eine ganz normale englische Kleinstadt-Familie: Vater Peter ist Arzt, Mutter Helen ist Hausfrau und die beiden Kinder Clara und Rowan sind so wie pubertierende Kinder nunmal so sind.
Aber fast alle um die Radleys herum merken, dass mit denen doch irgendwie etwas nicht stimmt. Rowan wird von seinen Mitschülern als Freak bezeichnet, hat enorme Haut- und Schlafprobleme und liest lieber Gedichte von Byron als Stephen King. Peter hat eine "Knoblauchallergie" und Helen ist enorm angestrengt um Normalität bemüht. Tiere reagieren auf die Radleys mit panischer Flucht ... was Clara mit dazu veranlasst erstmal auf veganische Ernährung umzusteigen.

Komisch, aber nicht weiter besorgniserregend, oder?
Tja, bis Clara von einem betrunkenen Schulkollegen derbst "angemacht" wird und sie sich aus einem Instinkt heraus mit Bissen wehrt. Relativ normale Reaktion bis auf die Tatsache, dass Clara nicht weiß, dass sie ein Vampir ist, mit ihren Bissen mehr Schaden anrichtet als ein wütender Grizzly-Bär, in einen wahren Blutrausch verfällt und ihren Schulkollegen ermordet.

Damit droht das scheinbar normale Leben der Radleys aus den Fugen zu geraten - denn nicht nur Clara gehört zum Volk der Vampire ... die Eltern sind abstinente Vampire, sprich keine mordenden Bluttrinker, und Rowan wusste genau wie Clara nichts von seiner Vampir-Identität. Als Peter dann in seiner Verzweiflung auch noch seinen nicht-abstinenten Vampirbruder Will anruft, um ihn um Hilfe zu bitten, ist das Chaos endgültig perfekt.
Na dann: Willkommen bei den Radleys ;-)

Kundenbewertungen


Es wurden noch keine Bewertungen geschrieben.

Wird oft zusammen gekauft

The Radleys

The Radleys

von Matt Haig

eBook
9,49
+
=
To Kill A Mockingbird

To Kill A Mockingbird

von Harper Lee

eBook
6,99
+
=

für

16,48

inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.

Alle kaufen