Thalia.de

When Breath Becomes Air

Foreword: Verghese, Abraham

No. 1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER - For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, this inspiring, exquisitely observed memoir finds hope and beauty in the face of insurmountable odds as an idealistic young neurosurgeon attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living?
At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade's worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. One day he was a doctor treating the dying, and the next he was a patient struggling to live. And just like that, the future he and his wife had imagined evaporated. When Breath Becomes Air chronicles Kalanithi's transformation from a naïve medical student "possessed," as he wrote, "by the question of what, given that all organisms die, makes a virtuous and meaningful life" into a neurosurgeon at Stanford working in the brain, the most critical place for human identity, and finally into a patient and new father confronting his own mortality.
What makes life worth living in the face of death? What do you do when the future, no longer a ladder toward your goals in life, flattens out into a perpetual present? What does it mean to have a child, to nurture a new life as another fades away? These are some of the questions Kalanithi wrestles with in this profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir.
Paul Kalanithi died in March 2015, while working on this book, yet his words live on as a guide and a gift to us all. "I began to realize that coming face to face with my own mortality, in a sense, had changed nothing and everything," he wrote. "Seven words from Samuel Beckett began to repeat in my head: 'I can't go on. I'll go on.'" When Breath Becomes Air is an unforgettable, life-affirming reflection on the challenge of facing death and on the relationship between doctor and patient, from a brilliant writer who became both.
Praise for When Breath Becomes Air
"I guarantee that finishing this book and then forgetting about it is simply not an option. . . . Part of this book's tremendous impact comes from the obvious fact that its author was such a brilliant polymath. And part comes from the way he conveys what happened to him-passionately working and striving, deferring gratification, waiting to live, learning to die-so well. None of it is maudlin. Nothing is exaggerated. As he wrote to a friend: 'It's just tragic enough and just imaginable enough.' And just important enough to be unmissable." -Janet Maslin, The New York Times
"An emotional investment well worth making: a moving and thoughtful memoir of family, medicine and literature. It is, despite its grim undertone, accidentally inspiring." - The Washington Post
"Possesses the gravity and wisdom of an ancient Greek tragedy . . . [Kalanithi] delivers his chronicle in austere, beautiful prose. The book brims with insightful reflections on mortality that are especially poignant coming from a trained physician familiar with what lies ahead." - The Boston Globe
"Devastating and spectacular . . . [Kalanithi] is so likeable, so relatable, and so humble, that you become immersed in his world and forget where it's all heading." - USA Today
"It's [Kalanithi's] unsentimental approach that makes When Breath Becomes Air so original-and so devastating. . . . Its only fault is that the book, like his life, ends much too early." - Entertainment Weekly
"Split my head open with its beauty." -Cheryl Strayed
Rezension
'"I guarantee that finishing this book and then forgetting about it is simply not an option. . . . Part of this book's tremendous impact comes from the obvious fact that its author was such a brilliant polymath. And part comes from the way he conveys what happened to him-passionately working and striving, deferring gratification, waiting to live, learning to die-so well. None of it is maudlin. Nothing is exaggerated. As he wrote to a friend: 'It's just tragic enough and just imaginable enough.' And just important enough to be unmissable." -Janet Maslin, The New York Times
"Paul Kalanithi's memoir, When Breath Becomes Air, written as he faced a terminal cancer diagnosis, is inherently sad. But it's an emotional investment well worth making: a moving and thoughtful memoir of family, medicine and literature. It is, despite its grim undertone, accidentally inspiring." - The Washington Post
"Paul Kalanithi's posthumous memoir, When Breath Becomes Air, possesses the gravity and wisdom of an ancient Greek tragedy. . . . [Kalanithi] delivers his chronicle in austere, beautiful prose. The book brims with insightful reflections on mortality that are especially poignant coming from a trained physician familiar with what lies ahead. . . . The narrative voice is so assured and powerful that you almost expect him to survive his own death and carry on describing what happened to his friends and family after he is gone." - The Boston Globe
"Devastating and spectacular . . . [Kalanithi] is so likeable, so relatable, and so humble, that you become immersed in his world and forget where it's all heading." - USA Today
"It's [Kalanithi's] unsentimental approach that makes When Breath Becomes Air so original-and so devastating. . . . Its only fault is that the book, like his life, ends much too early." - Entertainment Weekly "[ When Breath Becomes Air ] split my head open with its beauty." -Cheryl Strayed"Rattling, heartbreaking, and ultimately beautiful, the too-young Dr. Kalanithi's memoir is proof that the dying are the ones who have the most to teach us about life." -Atul Gawande"Thanks to When Breath Becomes Air, those of us who never met Paul Kalanithi will both mourn his death and benefit from his life. This is one of a handful of books I consider to be a universal donor-I would recommend it to anyone, everyone." -Ann Patchett"Inspiring . . . Kalanithi strives to define his dual role as physician and patient, and he weighs in on such topics as what makes life meaningful and how one determines what is most important when little time is left. . . . This deeply moving memoir reveals how much can be achieved through service and gratitude when a life is courageously and resiliently lived." - Publishers Weekly
"A moving meditation on mortality by a gifted writer whose dual perspectives of physician and patient provide a singular clarity . . . Writing isn't brain surgery, but it's rare when someone adept at the latter is also so accomplished at the former." - Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
"[A] moving and penetrating memoir . . . This eloquent, heartfelt meditation on the choices that make life worth living, even as death looms, will prompt readers to contemplate their own values and mortality." - Booklist
"Dr. Kalanithi describes, clearly and simply, and entirely without self-pity, his journey from innocent medical student to professionally detached and all-powerful neurosurgeon to helpless patient, dying from cancer. Every doctor should read this book-written by a member of our own tribe, it helps us understand and overcome the barriers we all erect between ourselves and our patients as soon as we are out of medical school." -Henry Marsh, author of Do No Harm: Stories of Life, Death, and Brain Surgery"A tremendous book, crackling with life, animated by wonder and by the question of how we should live. Paul Kalanithi li
… weiterlesen
In den Warenkorb
Filialabholung

Versandkostenfrei

Bezahlung bei Abholung

Beschreibung

Produktdetails


Einband gebundene Ausgabe
Seitenzahl 240
Erscheinungsdatum 12.01.2016
Sprache Englisch
ISBN 978-0-8129-8840-6
Verlag Random House LCC US
Maße (L/B/H) 198/138/30 mm
Gewicht 344
Verkaufsrang 1.052
Buch (gebundene Ausgabe, Englisch)
12,99
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Sofort lieferbar
Versandkostenfrei
In den Warenkorb
Filialabholung

Versandkostenfrei

Bezahlung bei Abholung

Andere Kunden interessierten sich auch für

  • 44041723
    When Breath Becomes Air
    von Paul Kalanithi
    Buch
    12,99
  • 46020292
    When Breath Becomes Air
    von Paul Kalanithi
    Buch
    8,99
  • 42235324
    The Amazing Book is Not on Fire
    von Dan Howell
    (3)
    Buch
    11,99
  • 40122436
    I'll Drink to That
    von Betty Halbreich
    Buch
    13,99
  • 44041578
    Confessions of a Tinderella
    von Rosy Edwards
    Buch
    8,99
  • 12076612
    Man's Search for Meaning
    von Viktor E. Frankl
    Buch
    7,99
  • 46020291
    When Breath Becomes Air
    von Paul Kalanithi
    Buch
    8,99
  • 43967041
    Smoke Gets in Your Eyes
    von Caitlin Doughty
    Buch
    9,99
  • 41242496
    Yes Please
    von Amy Poehler
    Buch
    7,99
  • 26053600
    Unbearable Lightness
    von Portia De Rossi
    Buch
    7,99
  • 45571862
    ZAYN
    von Zayn
    (3)
    Buch
    17,95 bisher 23,11
  • 44896091
    Born to Run
    von Bruce Springsteen
    Buch
    18,95
  • 45996997
    Dan and Phil Go Outside
    von Dan Howell
    (1)
    Buch
    14,95 bisher 16,99
  • 37471322
    Mom and Me and Mom
    von Maya Angelou
    Buch
    8,99
  • 46005753
    Born a Crime
    von Trevor Noah
    Buch
    13,99
  • 44722450
    Scrappy Little Nobody
    von Anna Kendrick
    Buch
    12,99
  • 46395090
    Our Revolution
    von Bernie Sanders
    Buch
    14,99
  • 45528445
    Talking as Fast as I Can
    von Lauren Graham
    Buch
    16,99
  • 43912458
    Trump: The Art of the Deal
    von Donald J. Trump
    Buch
    9,99
  • 45846800
    Our Revolution
    von Bernie Sanders
    Buch
    19,99

Kundenbewertungen


Es wurden noch keine Bewertungen geschrieben.

Wird oft zusammen gekauft

When Breath Becomes Air

When Breath Becomes Air

von Paul Kalanithi , Abraham Verghese

Buch
12,99
+
=
The Opposite of Loneliness

The Opposite of Loneliness

von Marina Keegan

Buch
8,99
+
=

für

21,98

inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.

Alle kaufen