Thalia.de

In weniger als einer Minute mit dem Lesen beginnen. Sie haben noch keinen tolino?

When Breath Becomes Air

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, this inspiring, exquisitely observed memoir finds hope and beauty in the face of insurmountable odds as an idealistic young neurosurgeon attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living?
NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY
THE WASHINGTON POST • THE NEW YORK TIMES • NPR
BOOKS FOR A BETTER LIFE AWARD FINALIST
At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade's worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. One day he was a doctor treating the dying, and the next he was a patient struggling to live. And just like that, the future he and his wife had imagined evaporated. When Breath Becomes Air chronicles Kalanithi's transformation from a naïve medical student "possessed," as he wrote, "by the question of what, given that all organisms die, makes a virtuous and meaningful life" into a neurosurgeon at Stanford working in the brain, the most critical place for human identity, and finally into a patient and new father confronting his own mortality.
What makes life worth living in the face of death? What do you do when the future, no longer a ladder toward your goals in life, flattens out into a perpetual present? What does it mean to have a child, to nurture a new life as another fades away? These are some of the questions Kalanithi wrestles with in this profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir.
Paul Kalanithi died in March 2015, while working on this book, yet his words live on as a guide and a gift to us all. "I began to realize that coming face to face with my own mortality, in a sense, had changed nothing and everything," he wrote. "Seven words from Samuel Beckett began to repeat in my head: 'I can't go on. I'll go on.'" When Breath Becomes Air is an unforgettable, life-affirming reflection on the challenge of facing death and on the relationship between doctor and patient, from a brilliant writer who became both.
Praise for When Breath Becomes Air
"I guarantee that finishing this book and then forgetting about it is simply not an option. . . . Part of this book's tremendous impact comes from the obvious fact that its author was such a brilliant polymath. And part comes from the way he conveys what happened to him-passionately working and striving, deferring gratification, waiting to live, learning to die-so well."-Janet Maslin, The New York Times
"An emotional investment well worth making: a moving and thoughtful memoir of family, medicine and literature. It is, despite its grim undertone, accidentally inspiring."-The Washington Post
"Possesses the gravity and wisdom of an ancient Greek tragedy . . . [Kalanithi] delivers his chronicle in austere, beautiful prose. The book brims with insightful reflections on mortality that are especially poignant coming from a trained physician familiar with what lies ahead."-The Boston Globe
"Devastating and spectacular . . . [Kalanithi] is so likeable, so relatable, and so humble, that you become immersed in his world and forget where it's all heading."-USA Today
"It's [Kalanithi's] unsentimental approach that makes When Breath Becomes Air so original-and so devastating. . . . Its only fault is that the book, like his life, ends much too early."-Entertainment Weekly
"Split my head open with its beauty."-Cheryl Strayed
Portrait
Paul Kalanithi was a neurosurgeon and writer. He grew up in Kingman, Arizona, and graduated from Stanford University with a BA and MA in English literature and a BA in human biology. He earned an MPhil in history and philosophy of science and medicine from the University of Cambridge and graduated cum laude from the Yale School of Medicine, where he was inducted into the Alpha Omega Alpha national medical honor society. He returned to Stanford to complete his residency training in neurological surgery and a postdoctoral fellowship in neuroscience, during which he received the American Academy of Neurological Surgery's highest award for research. He died in March 2015. He is survived by his large, loving family, including his wife, Lucy, and their daughter, Elizabeth Acadia.
… weiterlesen
Beschreibung

Produktdetails


Format ePUB i
Kopierschutz kopiergeschützt i
Seitenzahl 256, (Printausgabe)
Erscheinungsdatum 12.01.2016
Sprache Englisch
EAN 9780812988413
Verlag Random House Publishing Group
Verkaufsrang 36.807
eBook
9,99
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Sofort per Download lieferbar
In der Cloud verfügbar
Per E-Mail verschenken i

Andere Kunden interessierten sich auch für

  • 38983003
    Exodus
    von Deborah Feldman
    eBook
    15,49
  • 41371947
    Führung für Führungshasser
    von Devora Zack
    eBook
    20,99
  • 35296869
    Kon-Tiki
    von Thor Heyerdahl
    eBook
    6,49
  • 43396341
    A Mother's Reckoning
    von Sue Klebold
    eBook
    27,49
  • 45122877
    Born to Run
    von Bruce Springsteen
    eBook
    15,90
  • 45215754
    The Princess Diarist
    von Carrie Fisher
    eBook
    12,99
  • 48059430
    Talking as Fast as I Can
    von Lauren Graham
    eBook
    20,99
  • 46329838
    Hillbilly Elegy: A Memoir of a Family and Culture in Crisis
    von J. D. Vance
    eBook
    11,89
  • 33111735
    Unorthodox
    von Deborah Feldman
    eBook
    11,99 bisher 17,49
  • 47704295
    Born a Crime
    von Trevor Noah
    eBook
    27,49
  • 45779405
    Not Dead Yet: The Autobiography
    von Phil Collins
    eBook
    14,99
  • 35459858
    Wild
    von Cheryl Strayed
    eBook
    6,99
  • 45122201
    The Girl with the Lower Back Tattoo
    von Amy Schumer
    eBook
    12,46
  • 34712526
    Wishful Drinking
    von Carrie Fisher
    eBook
    17,49
  • 28114308
    The Hare With Amber Eyes
    von Edmund De Waal
    eBook
    9,49
  • 42619403
    Do No Harm
    von Henry Marsh
    eBook
    6,99
  • 38514250
    Farther Away
    von Jonathan Franzen
    eBook
    12,65
  • 42406295
    Elon Musk
    von Ashlee Vance
    eBook
    9,49
  • 45168728
    Buffering
    von Hannah Hart
    eBook
    8,39
  • 44820560
    At The Existentialist Café
    von Sarah Bakewell
    eBook
    12,99

Kundenbewertungen


Es wurden noch keine Bewertungen geschrieben.

Wird oft zusammen gekauft

When Breath Becomes Air

When Breath Becomes Air

von Paul Kalanithi

eBook
9,99
+
=
Meinen Hass bekommt ihr nicht

Meinen Hass bekommt ihr nicht

von Antoine Leiris

(10)
eBook
11,99
+
=

für

21,98

inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.

Alle kaufen