Meine Filiale

The Summer Country

A Novel

Lauren Willig

Buch (gebundene Ausgabe, Englisch)
Buch (gebundene Ausgabe, Englisch)
24,99
24,99
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Lieferbar in 1 - 2 Wochen Versandkostenfrei
Lieferbar in 1 - 2 Wochen
Versandkostenfrei

Weitere Formate

Taschenbuch

ab 11,99 €

Accordion öffnen

gebundene Ausgabe

24,99 €

Accordion öffnen

eBook (ePUB)

10,79 €

Accordion öffnen

Hörbuch (Digital)

49,99 €

Accordion öffnen
  • The Summer Country

    Digital (2019)

    Lieferbar innerhalb von 3 Wochen

    49,99 €

    Digital (2019)

Beschreibung

"Tense, atmospheric, and gorgeously written, The Summer Country is a novel to savor!" - Kate Quinn, New York Times bestselling author of The Huntress and The Alice Network

A brilliant, multigenerational saga in the tradition of The Thorn Birds and North and South, New York Times bestselling historical novelist Lauren Willig delivers her biggest, boldest, and most ambitious novel yet—a sweeping Victorian epic of lost love, lies, jealousy, and rebellion set in colonial Barbados.

Barbados, 1854: Emily Dawson has always been the poor cousin in a prosperous English merchant clan-- merely a vicar's daughter, and a reform-minded vicar's daughter, at that. Everyone knows that the family's lucrative shipping business will go to her cousin, Adam, one day. But when her grandfather dies, Emily receives an unexpected inheritance: Peverills, a sugar plantation in Barbados—a plantation her grandfather never told anyone he owned.

When Emily accompanies her cousin and his new wife to Barbados, she finds Peverills a burnt-out shell, reduced to ruins in 1816, when a rising of enslaved people sent the island up in flames. Rumors swirl around the derelict plantation; people whisper of ghosts.

Why would her practical-minded grandfather leave her a property in ruins? Why are the neighboring plantation owners, the Davenants, so eager to acquire Peverills? The answer lies in the past— a tangled history of lies, greed, clandestine love, heartbreaking betrayal, and a bold bid for freedom.

THE SUMMER COUNTRY will beguile readers with its rendering of families, heartbreak, and the endurance of hope against all odds.

Lauren Willig is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of twenty novels, including The Summer Country, The Ashford Affair, and The English Wife, as well as the RITA Award-winning Pink Carnation series. An alumna of Yale University, she has a graduate degree in history from Harvard and a JD from Harvard Law School. She lives in New York City with her husband, kindergartner, toddler, and vast quantities of coffee.



Produktdetails

Einband gebundene Ausgabe
Seitenzahl 480
Erscheinungsdatum 04.06.2019
Sprache Englisch
ISBN 978-0-06-283902-2
Verlag Harper Collins (US)
Maße (L/B/H) 24,4/15,7/4,6 cm
Gewicht 635 g

Kundenbewertungen

Es wurden noch keine Bewertungen geschrieben.
  • Artikelbild-0