Warenkorb
 

The Scold's Bridle

I wonder if I should keep these diaries under lock and key. Jenny Spede has disturbed them again . . . What does she make, I wonder, of an old woman, deformed by arthritis, stripping naked for a young man? The pills worry me more. Ten is such a round number to be missing . . . Mathilda Gillespie's body was found nearly two days after she had taken an overdose and slashed her wrists with a Stanley knife. But what shocked Dr Sarah Blakeney the most was the scold's bridle obscuring the dead woman's face, a metal contraption grotesquely adorned with a garland of nettles and Michaelmas daisies. What happened at Cedar House in the tortured hours before Mathilda's death? The police assume that the coroner will return a verdict of suicide. Only Dr Blakeney, it seems, doubts the verdict. Until it is discovered that Mathilda's diaries have disappeared . . . 'An atmosphere of tantalizing, overpowering menace . . . The tradition of the English whodunnit has passed into the safe hands and dangerous imagination of Minette Walters' The Times
Portrait

Minette Walters is a bestselling crime writer. She has won the CWA John Creasey Award for best first crime novel, the Edgar Allan Poe Award for best crime novel published in America and two CWA Gold Daggers for Fiction. Minette lives in Dorset with her husband.

Zitat
"Minette Walters knows the cruel kinkiness that can lurk behind the most sedate of facades."--"Los Angeles Times"
"Thoroughly chilling . . . gripping . . . disturbing."--"Orlando Sentinel"
"Walters fearlessly flirts with gothic menace and intricacy as she draws all the loose threads together in this full-bodied plot."--"The Washington Post""" "A wonderful, thought-provoking mystery by a brilliant new British writer."--"The San Diego Union-Tribune" "Fans of P.D. James and Ruth Rendell will respond to Minette Walters's deft touch and psychological suspense and appreciate her ability to depict complex and sympathetic women characters."--"Minneapolis Star-Tribune"
… weiterlesen
In den Warenkorb

Beschreibung

Produktdetails


Einband Taschenbuch
Seitenzahl 464
Erscheinungsdatum 01.03.2012
Sprache Englisch
ISBN 978-1-4472-0809-9
Verlag Pan macmillan Ltd.
Maße (L/B/H) 16,8/19,5/3 cm
Gewicht 342 g
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
9,99
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Versandfertig in 1 - 2 Wochen
Versandkostenfrei
In den Warenkorb
PAYBACK Punkte
Ihr Feedback zur Seite
Haben Sie alle relevanten Informationen erhalten?
Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback!
Entschuldigung, beim Absenden Ihres Feedbacks ist ein Fehler passiert. Bitte versuchen Sie es erneut.

Kundenbewertungen

Es wurden noch keine Bewertungen geschrieben.