Cloud Atlas (Movie Tie-In Edition)

A Novel

(1)
By the New York Times bestselling author of The Bone Clocks • Now a major motion picture • Shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize

Includes a new Afterword by David Mitchell

A postmodern visionary and one of the leading voices in twenty-first-century fiction, David Mitchell combines flat-out adventure, a Nabokovian love of puzzles, a keen eye for character, and a taste for mind-bending, philosophical and scientific speculation in the tradition of Umberto Eco, Haruki Murakami, and Philip K. Dick. The result is brilliantly original fiction as profound as it is playful. In this groundbreaking novel, an influential favorite among a new generation of writers, Mitchell explores with daring artistry fundamental questions of reality and identity.

Cloud Atlas begins in 1850 with Adam Ewing, an American notary voyaging from the Chatham Isles to his home in California. Along the way, Ewing is befriended by a physician, Dr. Goose, who begins to treat him for a rare species of brain parasite. . . . Abruptly, the action jumps to Belgium in 1931, where Robert Frobisher, a disinherited bisexual composer, contrives his way into the household of an infirm maestro who has a beguiling wife and a nubile daughter. . . . From there we jump to the West Coast in the 1970s and a troubled reporter named Luisa Rey, who stumbles upon a web of corporate greed and murder that threatens to claim her life. . . . And onward, with dazzling virtuosity, to an inglorious present-day England; to a Korean superstate of the near future where neocapitalism has run amok; and, finally, to a postapocalyptic Iron Age Hawaii in the last days of history.

But the story doesn't end even there. The narrative then boomerangs back through centuries and space, returning by the same route, in reverse, to its starting point. Along the way, Mitchell reveals how his disparate characters connect, how their fates intertwine, and how their souls drift across time like clouds across the sky.

As wild as a videogame, as mysterious as a Zen koan, Cloud Atlas is an unforgettable tour de force that, like its incomparable author, has transcended its cult classic status to become a worldwide phenomenon.

Praise for Cloud Atlas

"[David] Mitchell is, clearly, a genius. He writes as though at the helm of some perpetual dream machine, can evidently do anything, and his ambition is written in magma across this novel's every page."-The New York Times Book Review

"One of those how-the-holy-hell-did-he-do-it? modern classics that no doubt is-and should be-read by any student of contemporary literature."-Dave Eggers

"Wildly entertaining . . . a head rush, both action-packed and chillingly ruminative."-People

"The novel as series of nested dolls or Chinese boxes, a puzzle-book, and yet-not just dazzling, amusing, or clever but heartbreaking and passionate, too. I've never read anything quite like it, and I'm grateful to have lived, for a while, in all its many worlds."-Michael Chabon

"Cloud Atlas ought to make [Mitchell] famous on both sides of the Atlantic as a writer whose fearlessness is matched by his talent."-The Washington Post Book World
Portrait
David Mitchell is the award-winning and bestselling author of The Bone Clocks, The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet, Black Swan Green, Cloud Atlas, Number9Dream, and Ghostwritten. Twice shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize, Mitchell was named one of the 100 most influential people in the world by Time in 2007. With KA Yoshida, Mitchell translated from the Japanese the internationally bestselling memoir The Reason I Jump. He lives in Ireland with his wife and two children.

From the Hardcover edition.
… weiterlesen
In den Warenkorb
Filialabholung

Versandkostenfrei

Beschreibung

Produktdetails


Einband Taschenbuch
Seitenzahl 528
Erscheinungsdatum 01.09.2012
Sprache Englisch
ISBN 978-0-8129-8441-5
Verlag Random House LCC US
Maße (L/B/H) 21,6/14,1/3,5 cm
Gewicht 446 g
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
7,99
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Sofort lieferbar
Versandkostenfrei
In den Warenkorb
Filialabholung

Versandkostenfrei

Ihr Feedback zur Seite
Haben Sie alle relevanten Informationen erhalten?
Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback!
Entschuldigung, beim Absenden Ihres Feedbacks ist ein Fehler passiert. Bitte versuchen Sie es erneut.

Andere Kunden interessierten sich auch für

Wird oft zusammen gekauft

Cloud Atlas (Movie Tie-In Edition)

Cloud Atlas (Movie Tie-In Edition)

von David Mitchell
(1)
Buch (Taschenbuch)
7,99
+
=
Sheltering Rain

Sheltering Rain

von Jojo Moyes
Buch (Taschenbuch)
8,99
+
=

für

16,98

inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.

Alle kaufen

Kundenbewertungen

Durchschnitt
1 Bewertung
Übersicht
1
0
0
0
0

Souls cross like clouds cross skies
von einer Kundin/einem Kunden am 17.11.2012

„Cloud Atlas“ beginnt mit dem Tagebuch des Anwalts Adam Ewing, der im 19. Jahrhundert eine Seereise durch den Pazifik unternimmt. Dieses Tagebuch fällt im zweiten Abschnitt des Buches Robert Frobisher im Jahr 1931 in die Hände, der sich nach Belgien aufmacht um dort seinem musikalischen Idol als Assistent zur... „Cloud Atlas“ beginnt mit dem Tagebuch des Anwalts Adam Ewing, der im 19. Jahrhundert eine Seereise durch den Pazifik unternimmt. Dieses Tagebuch fällt im zweiten Abschnitt des Buches Robert Frobisher im Jahr 1931 in die Hände, der sich nach Belgien aufmacht um dort seinem musikalischen Idol als Assistent zur Hand zu gehen. Die Briefe Robert Frobishers an seinen Freund findet in den 70ern die Journalistin Louisa Rey, die gerade einer Vertuschung um die genauen Daten eines Atommeilers auf der Spur ist. Immer weiter spinnen sich diese drei Geschichten und verknüpfen sich mit drei weiteren Erzählungen bis sie am Ende in einer postapokalyptischen Zukunft auslaufen, aus der für die Menschheit kein Ausweg mehr zu finden ist. Neben seiner einzigartigen Erzählweise sprengt David Mitchell in "Cloud Atlas" auch noch die Grenzen der Sprache, da er für jede der sechs Geschichten genau die für die jeweilige Zeit und Gegend typische Ausdrucksweise verwendet. Der Leser muss sich somit zu Anfang mit dem Schreibstil eines Amerikaners des 19. Jahrhunderts herumschlagen, darf sich zwischendurch über die Ausdrucksweise der Briten in der Gegenwart freuen und letztendlich mir den letzten zivilisierten Resten einer Sprache nach dem Fall der Menschheit herumquälen. Scheinbar zusammenhangslos scheinen auf den ersten Blick die einzelnen Teile jenes Epos, das mit alltäglichen Geschichten der Menschen so sehr die Fantasie unserer Zeit beflügeln kann. Jedoch haben alle Protagonisten etwas gemeinsam und jeder wird mit Problemen konfrontiert, deren Kern sich um das Gleiche dreht. David Mitchell lässt den Leser am Ende mit keiner rosigen Aussicht für die Zukunft zurück. Im Gegenteil – wenn man bedenkt, dass wir uns zeitlich gesehen in der Erzählung von Timothy Cavendish (dessen Geschichte in der Gegenwart spielt) befinden, und dass Mitchell nach dessen Erlebnissen nur noch eine ferne Zukunft in einer von Menschen absolutistisch kontrollierten Welt beschreibt, die in nicht absehbarer Zeit zu einem Fall kommen wird, welcher die Zivilisation auszulöschen droht, möchte man lieber nicht an die Zukunft denken. Ob sich im „Cloud Atlas“ aber Hoffnung findet, muss jeder selbst entscheiden. Auf jeden Fall ist es ein Buch dessen man sich wirklich annehmen muss, wenn man es lesen will. Und auch wenn es zu Anfang schwer erscheint: Es ist es wert!