Warenkorb
 

Cloud Atlas

A Novel

(2)
By the New York Times bestselling author of The Bone Clocks | Shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize

A postmodern visionary and one of the leading voices in twenty-first-century fiction, David Mitchell combines flat-out adventure, a Nabokovian love of puzzles, a keen eye for character, and a taste for mind-bending, philosophical and scientific speculation in the tradition of Umberto Eco, Haruki Murakami, and Philip K. Dick. The result is brilliantly original fiction as profound as it is playful. In this groundbreaking novel, an influential favorite among a new generation of writers, Mitchell explores with daring artistry fundamental questions of reality and identity.

Cloud Atlas begins in 1850 with Adam Ewing, an American notary voyaging from the Chatham Isles to his home in California. Along the way, Ewing is befriended by a physician, Dr. Goose, who begins to treat him for a rare species of brain parasite. . . . Abruptly, the action jumps to Belgium in 1931, where Robert Frobisher, a disinherited bisexual composer, contrives his way into the household of an infirm maestro who has a beguiling wife and a nubile daughter. . . . From there we jump to the West Coast in the 1970s and a troubled reporter named Luisa Rey, who stumbles upon a web of corporate greed and murder that threatens to claim her life. . . . And onward, with dazzling virtuosity, to an inglorious present-day England; to a Korean superstate of the near future where neocapitalism has run amok; and, finally, to a postapocalyptic Iron Age Hawaii in the last days of history.

But the story doesn't end even there. The narrative then boomerangs back through centuries and space, returning by the same route, in reverse, to its starting point. Along the way, Mitchell reveals how his disparate characters connect, how their fates intertwine, and how their souls drift across time like clouds across the sky.

As wild as a videogame, as mysterious as a Zen koan, Cloud Atlas is an unforgettable tour de force that, like its incomparable author, has transcended its cult classic status to become a worldwide phenomenon.

Praise for Cloud Atlas

"[David] Mitchell is, clearly, a genius. He writes as though at the helm of some perpetual dream machine, can evidently do anything, and his ambition is written in magma across this novel's every page."-The New York Times Book Review

"One of those how-the-holy-hell-did-he-do-it? modern classics that no doubt is-and should be-read by any student of contemporary literature."-Dave Eggers

"Wildly entertaining . . . a head rush, both action-packed and chillingly ruminative."-People

"The novel as series of nested dolls or Chinese boxes, a puzzle-book, and yet-not just dazzling, amusing, or clever but heartbreaking and passionate, too. I've never read anything quite like it, and I'm grateful to have lived, for a while, in all its many worlds."-Michael Chabon

"Cloud Atlas ought to make [Mitchell] famous on both sides of the Atlantic as a writer whose fearlessness is matched by his talent."-The Washington Post Book World

"Thrilling . . . One of the biggest joys in Cloud Atlas is watching Mitchell sashay from genre to genre without a hitch in his dance step."-Boston Sunday Globe

"Grand and elaborate . . . [Mitchell] creates a world and language at once foreign and strange, yet strikingly familiar and intimate."-Los Angeles Times
Portrait
David Mitchell is the award-winning and bestselling author of The Bone Clocks, The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet, Black Swan Green, Cloud Atlas, Number9Dream, and Ghostwritten. Twice shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize, Mitchell was named one of the 100 most influential people in the world by Time in 2007. With KA Yoshida, Mitchell translated from the Japanese the internationally bestselling memoir The Reason I Jump. He lives in Ireland with his wife and two children.
… weiterlesen
In den Warenkorb

Beschreibung

Produktdetails


Einband gebundene Ausgabe
Seitenzahl 528
Erscheinungsdatum 01.11.2012
Sprache Englisch
ISBN 978-0-8129-9471-1
Verlag Random House LCC US
Maße (L/B/H) 21,3/14,3/3,8 cm
Gewicht 615 g
Buch (gebundene Ausgabe, Englisch)
16,99
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Sofort lieferbar
Versandkostenfrei
In den Warenkorb
PAYBACK Punkte
Ihr Feedback zur Seite
Haben Sie alle relevanten Informationen erhalten?
Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback!
Entschuldigung, beim Absenden Ihres Feedbacks ist ein Fehler passiert. Bitte versuchen Sie es erneut.

Kundenbewertungen

Durchschnitt
2 Bewertungen
Übersicht
2
0
0
0
0

Außergewöhnlich, inspirierend und mitreißend!
von Segelmaus aus Frankfurt am Main am 27.02.2013
Bewertet: Format: eBook (ePUB)

Vergangenheit, Zukunft, Vision und Vorbestimmung - die verschiedenen Leben im Cloud Atlas sind bestimmt von Liebe, Sehnsucht, Verzweiflung und Überlebenskampf. Und alle sind irgendwie miteinander verbunden, selbst über Jahrhunderte hinweg. Der Ideenreichtum dieses Romans ist einfach mitreißend und überwältigend!

verwobenes Geflecht
von einer Kundin/einem Kunden am 23.01.2012
Bewertet: Buch (Taschenbuch)

Die Erzähltechnik ist in diesem Werk einzigartig. Es besteht aus einzelnen Episoden, die miteinander zusammenhängen, aber aus den unterschiedlichsten Perioden stammen. Die erste Episode beginnt noch in der Zeit, als man die Segel gehisst hat, um die vielen Gewässer und Kontinente zu erkunden. Die letzte Episode befindet sich in... Die Erzähltechnik ist in diesem Werk einzigartig. Es besteht aus einzelnen Episoden, die miteinander zusammenhängen, aber aus den unterschiedlichsten Perioden stammen. Die erste Episode beginnt noch in der Zeit, als man die Segel gehisst hat, um die vielen Gewässer und Kontinente zu erkunden. Die letzte Episode befindet sich in der Mitte des Buches und schildert das Leben in einer Zukunft, die noch weit vor uns liegt. Jede Episode stoppt an einem viel versprechenden Punkt, um dann nach der Hälfte des Buches zu Ende geführt zu werden - und das Buch endet wieder mit dem Seereisenden, den man zu Beginn des Buches kennen gelernt hat. So hat man das Gefühl einer in sich zusammenhängenden Entwicklung, die aufzeigt, wie eine Entscheidung die folgende beeinflusst und schließlich in einer Welt endet, die zwar abschreckend ist, aber nur die logische Folgerung aus der Geschichte der Menschen sein kann. Die Hauptfiguren der Episoden wachsen einem während der Erzählungen sehr ans Herz. Sie haben alle ihr ganz eigenes Abenteuer zu bestehen und man fiebert mit, während sie sich durch ihre Aufgabe ringen. Auch sind die erzählten Welten sehr eindringlich und interessant geschildert. Dem talentierten Autor ist eine sehr unterhaltsame Erzählung auf hohem Niveau gelungen.