Warenkorb
 

Bestellen Sie bis zum 20.12.2018 und erhalten Sie Ihre Sendung pünktlich zu Heiligabend.**

Talking to the Dead

Fiona Griffiths Crime Thriller Series Book 1

(1)
@2@@20@A crime you'll always remember. A detective you'll never forget.@21@@3@@2@A young girl is found dead. A prostitute is murdered. And the strangest, youngest detective in the South Wales Major Crimes Unit is about to face the fiercest test of her short career.@3@@2@A woman and her six-year-old daughter are killed with chilling brutality in a dingy flat. The only clue: the platinum bank card of a long-dead tycoon, found amidst the squalor.@3@@2@DC Griffiths has already proved herself dedicated to the job, but there's another side to her she is less keen to reveal. Something to do with a mysterious two-year gap in her CV, her strange inability to cry - and a disconcerting familiarity with corpses.@3@@2@Fiona is desperate to put the past behind her but as more gruesome killings follow, the case leads her back into those dark places in her own mind where another dead girl is waiting to be found...@3@@2@@20@Praise for the Fiona Griffiths mystery series:@21@@3@@2@'I have to say that in a lifetime of reading crime fiction I have never come across anyone quite like Fiona Griffiths . . . Read this book. Enjoy every syllable. Hold your breath, and tick off the weeks until the next one' @18@Crime Fiction Lover@19@@3@@2@'Compelling...@20@a new crime talent to treasure@21@' @18@Daily Mail@19@ @3@@2@'@20@Gritty, compelling@21@...a procedural unlike any other you are likely to read this year' @18@USA Today@19@ @3@@2@'With Detective Constable Fiona 'Fi' Griffiths, Harry Bingham...finds a sweet spot in crime fiction...@20@think Stieg Larsson's Lisbeth Salander@21@...[or] @20@Lee Child's Jack Reacher@21@... The writing is terrific' @18@The Boston Globe @19@@3@@2@'This cleverly plotted police procedural introduces a @20@likeable, maverick detective@21@ destined for a bestseller following' @18@Choice@19@@3@@2@@20@Fans of Angela Marsons, Peter James and Ann Cleeves will be gripped by the other titles in the Fiona Griffiths mystery series: @21@@16@@18@1. @19@@18@Talking to the Dead@19@@16@@18@2. @19@@18@Love Story, With Murders@19@@16@@18@3. @19@@18@The Strange Death of Fiona Griffiths@19@@16@@18@4. @19@@18@This Thing of Darkness@19@@16@@18@5. @19@@18@The Dead House @19@@16@@18@6. @19@@18@The Deepest Grave (coming soon!)@19@@3@@2@@20@If you're looking for a crime thriller series to keep you hooked, then go no further: you've just found it.@21@@3@@2@** Each Fiona Griffiths thriller can be read as a standalone or in series order **@3@
Portrait
Harry Bingham, geboren 1967, arbeitete nach seinem Universitätsstudium zehn Jahre als Investmentberater einer Londoner Bank, bevor er seinen ersten Roman schrieb. Er lebt mit Frau und zahlreichen Hunden in Oxford.
Zitat
Bingham has gotten inside the mind of his clever, neurotic heroine so well as to make her seem entirely credible... An interesting, unusual and in some ways even moving crime novel. LITERARY REVIEW This cleverly plotted police procedural introduces a likeable, maverick detective destined for a bestseller following. CHOICE This is on one level an orthodox, if expertly written, police procedural. But the charactar of Fiona lifts it to an altogether different, extraordinary level. She is childlike, brilliant, courageous and utterly loopy all at the same time - as well as devastatingly real and human and alone...She'll haunt you long after you finish this book, and send you scurrying to find what else Bingham has written. YORK PRESS The mystery-thriller genre is already so staffed with masterminds that it's hard to make room for yet another. But along comes a book like TALKING TO THE DEAD, by Harry Bingham, and suddenly an unadvertised opening is filled...has the feel of something fresh and compelling. The best thing coming out of this gem of a crime story is the promise of another. NY DAILY NEWS With Detective Constable Fiona "Fi" Grffiths, Harry Bingham finds a sweet spot in crime fiction - a female protagonist with stunted emotions, a passion for protecting women (think Stieg Larsson's Lisbeth Salander), outsider status (think Denise Mina's "Paddy" Meehan), sheer guts, and an unstoppable drive to follow her own instincts even when it means breaking every rule in the book (think Lee Childs's Jack Reacher) [...] The writing is terrific, just literary enough to make you catch your breath but not so eye-catching that it detracts from the storytelling BOSTON GLOBE This is realism and social commentary immersed in a procedural unlike any other you are likely to read this year USA TODAY The detective with a troubled past is a massively over-familiar motif in crime fiction, but it's to Harry Bingham's credit that he is able to re-energise the scenario here so that it seems as fresh as paint. The book has already gleaned a slew of admirers, no doubt because of the writing that lifts Talking to the Dead effortlessly out of the police procedural realms GOOD BOOK GUIDE 20130601
… weiterlesen
In den Warenkorb

Beschreibung

Produktdetails


Einband Taschenbuch
Seitenzahl 384
Erscheinungsdatum 28.03.2013
Sprache Englisch
ISBN 978-1-4091-3722-1
Reihe Fiona Griffiths Crime Thriller Series
Verlag Orion Publishing Group
Maße (L/B/H) 19,8/13/2,7 cm
Gewicht 287 g
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
9,99
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Sofort lieferbar
Versandkostenfrei
In den Warenkorb
PAYBACK Punkte
Ihr Feedback zur Seite
Haben Sie alle relevanten Informationen erhalten?
Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback!
Entschuldigung, beim Absenden Ihres Feedbacks ist ein Fehler passiert. Bitte versuchen Sie es erneut.

Buchhändler-Empfehlungen

„May I introduce:“

Ulrike Müller, Thalia-Buchhandlung Fulda

Meet Fiona Griffith, DC in Cardiff! Where? Yes, in Wales! Very fresh and entertaining first part of a unique series with a slightly odd character*. Fiona is a bit mental, she spent some of her teenage years in psychiatric hospital, she has a university degree in philosophy and a father...well, I shouldn't tell too much! In her first case she has to solve the murder of a prostitute and her little daughter - Harry Bingham has just given this rather unspectacular case such clever twists, it's written in such an excellent pace, both quirky and gripping!
I most highly reccomend this book!

*You should get them all! Well, I did and spent my holiday reading all six! Third part is due to be published in german in September 2017 and I hope they'll translate the whole lot!

Meet Fiona Griffith, DC in Cardiff! Where? Yes, in Wales! Very fresh and entertaining first part of a unique series with a slightly odd character*. Fiona is a bit mental, she spent some of her teenage years in psychiatric hospital, she has a university degree in philosophy and a father...well, I shouldn't tell too much! In her first case she has to solve the murder of a prostitute and her little daughter - Harry Bingham has just given this rather unspectacular case such clever twists, it's written in such an excellent pace, both quirky and gripping!
I most highly reccomend this book!

*You should get them all! Well, I did and spent my holiday reading all six! Third part is due to be published in german in September 2017 and I hope they'll translate the whole lot!

Kundenbewertungen

Durchschnitt
1 Bewertung
Übersicht
1
0
0
0
0