Warenkorb
 

Proxy

(1)
The adventure novel of the year! Inspired by The Whipping Boy and Feed, this adrenaline-fueled thriller will appeal to fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent.

Knox was born into one of the City's wealthiest families. A Patron, he has everything a boy could possibly want—the latest tech, the coolest clothes, and a Proxy to take all his punishments. When Knox breaks a vase, Syd is beaten. When Knox plays a practical joke, Syd is forced to haul rocks. And when Knox crashes a car, killing one of his friends, Syd is branded and sentenced to death.

Syd is a Proxy. His life is not his own.

Then again, neither is Knox's. Knox and Syd have more in common than either would guess. So when Knox and Syd realize that the only way to beat the system is to save each other, they flee. Yet Knox's father is no ordinary Patron, and Syd is no ordinary Proxy. The ensuing cross-country chase will uncover a secret society of rebels, test both boys' resolve, and shine a blinding light onto a world of those who owe and those who pay. Some debts, it turns out, cannot be repaid.

A fast-paced, thrill-ride of novel full of non-stop action, heart-hammering suspense and true friendship—just as moving as it is exhilarating. Fans of Anthony Horowitz's Alex Rider series, James Dashner's Maze Runner, Patrick Ness's Chaos Walking series, and Marie Lu's Legend trilogy will be swept away by this story.

Praise for PROXY

"Looking for an awesome YA summer read? Look no further than Alex London's Proxy.” —EntertainmentWeekly.com

"Put down what you're doing and read this book. Right now. The complex characters, intricate world, and blistering pace are off-the-charts amazing. I fell in love with this story from the first sentence to the final, epic page. London is a force to be reckoned with." —Marie Lu, author of the Legend trilogy

"[A] smart, stylish science-fiction thriller that deftly weaves big issues like guilt, accidents of birth, redemption and commerce into a page-turning read.” —Kirkus Reviews

"A fast-paced dystopian novel which should appeal to readers of the Hunger Games.” —VOYA

"Alex London is one of the most multi-dimensional writers out there. Proxy blew me away. It's deep, thrilling, thought-provoking, and at times simultaneously maddening and uplifting. I need to have more of Syd and Knox. Proxy is one stunning read!" —Andrew Smith, author of Winger and Grasshopper Jungle

"Gripping.” —Examiner.com

"Proxy moves blindingly fast through a world of danger gone viral. It's science-fiction on a joy ride full of deceit and imagination.” —Deseret News

"A big twist and heroic ending will leave readers eager for more” —Shelf Awareness

"Offering intriguing moral dilemmas amid breakneck action...The matter-of-fact presence of a gay lead [Syd] in an action driven story is welcome and overdue.” —Publishers Weekly

"An action-packed thrill ride.” —School Library Journal
… weiterlesen
In den Warenkorb

Beschreibung

Produktdetails


Einband gebundene Ausgabe
Seitenzahl 379
Altersempfehlung ab 12
Erscheinungsdatum 18.06.2013
Sprache Englisch
ISBN 978-0-399-25776-6
Verlag Random House N.Y.
Maße (L/B/H) 21,8/14,4/3,8 cm
Gewicht 504 g
Buch (gebundene Ausgabe, Englisch)
15,99
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Versandfertig in 1 - 2 Wochen
Versandkostenfrei
In den Warenkorb
PAYBACK Punkte
Ihr Feedback zur Seite
Haben Sie alle relevanten Informationen erhalten?
Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback!
Entschuldigung, beim Absenden Ihres Feedbacks ist ein Fehler passiert. Bitte versuchen Sie es erneut.

Kundenbewertungen

Durchschnitt
1 Bewertung
Übersicht
1
0
0
0
0

Wie Ich ihnen, so sie dir...
von einer Kundin/einem Kunden am 14.03.2018

Knox hat alles wovon ein junger Mann in der nahen Zukunft Träumen könnte: Geld, Spaß und ein Proxy der alle seine Strafen für ihn abbüßt. Macht Knox einen dummen Scherz, darf Syd Steine herum schleppen. Zerdeppert Knox eine Vase bekommt Syd Schläge. Doch als eine von Knox zahlreichen Freundinnen bei einem... Knox hat alles wovon ein junger Mann in der nahen Zukunft Träumen könnte: Geld, Spaß und ein Proxy der alle seine Strafen für ihn abbüßt. Macht Knox einen dummen Scherz, darf Syd Steine herum schleppen. Zerdeppert Knox eine Vase bekommt Syd Schläge. Doch als eine von Knox zahlreichen Freundinnen bei einem von ihm verursachten Unfall umkommt, soll Syd gefoltert und hingerichtet werden, und das lässt er sich sicher nicht einfach so gefallen. Auch Knox erkennt, dass er nur ein Sklave des Systems ist, doch er hatte schon immer etwas für Rebellion über. Ein rasantes Abenteuer vor der Kulisse einer Gesellschaft gebaut auf Schulden und Vermarktung der eigenen Lebenszeit!