The General in His Labyrinth

@00000400@@00000373@The General in his Labyrinth@00000155@ is the compelling tale of Simon Bolivar, a hero who has been forgotten and whose power is fading, retracing his steps down the Magdalena River by the Nobel Laureate Gabriel Garcia Marquez, author of @00000373@One Hundred Years of Solitude@00000155@ and @00000373@Love in the Time of Cholera@00000155@. @00000163@@00000400@@00000327@'It was the fourth time he had travelled along the Magdalena, and he could not escape the impression that he was retracing the steps of his life'@00000133@@00000163@@00000400@At the age of forty-six General Simon Bolivar, who drove the Spanish from his lands and became the Liberator of South America, takes himself into exile. He makes a final journey down the Magdalene River, revisiting the cities along its shores, reliving the triumphs, passions and betrayals of his youth. Consumed by the memories of what he has done and what he failed to do, Bolivar hopes to see a way out of the labyrinth in which he has lived all his life. . .. @00000163@@00000400@'An exquisite writer, wise, compassionate and extremely funny' @00000373@Sunday Telegraph@00000155@@00000163@@00000400@'An imaginative writer of genius' @00000373@Guardian@00000155@@00000163@@00000400@'The most important writer of fiction in any language' Bill Clinton@00000163@
A fascinating tour de force and a moving tribute to an extraordinary man Margaret Atwood
Gabriel Garcia Marquez was born in Aracataca, Colombia, in 1927. He studied at the National University of Colombia in Bogotá, and later worked as a reporter for the Colombian newspaper
El Espectador and as a foreign correspondent in Rome, Paris, Barcelona, Caracas and New York. He is the author of several novels and collections of stories, including
Eyes of a Blue Dog (1947),
Leaf Storm (1955),
No One Writes
to the Colonel (1958),
In Evil Hour (1962),
Big Mama's Funeral (1962),
One Hundred Years of Solitude (1967),
Innocent Erendira and Other Stories (1972),
The Autumn of the Patriarch (1975),
Chronicle of a Death Foretold (1981),
Love in the Time of Cholera (1985),
The General in His Labyrinth (1989),
Strange Pilgrims (1992),
Of Love and Other Demons (1994) and
Memories of My Melancholy Whores (2005). Many of his books are
published by Penguin. He was awarded the
Nobel Prize for Literature in 1982. Gabriel Garcia Marquez died in 2014.
… weiterlesen
In den Warenkorb



Einband Taschenbuch
Seitenzahl 304
Erscheinungsdatum 06.03.2014
Sprache Englisch
ISBN 978-0-241-96872-7
Verlag Penguin Books Ltd
Maße (L/B/H) 19,8/12,8/2,2 cm
Gewicht 221 g
Originaltitel El general en su laberinto
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Sofort lieferbar, Versandkostenfrei
Sofort lieferbar
In den Warenkorb
Ihr Feedback zur Seite
Haben Sie alle relevanten Informationen erhalten?
Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback!
Entschuldigung, beim Absenden Ihres Feedbacks ist ein Fehler passiert. Bitte versuchen Sie es erneut.


Es wurden noch keine Bewertungen geschrieben.