Warenkorb
 

The Strings of Murder

A Case for Frey & McGray 01

(2)

'A hugely entertaining Victorian mystery' New York Times

'I enjoyed this - properly creepy and Gothic' Ian Rankin

A spellbinding concoction of crime, history and horror - perfect for fans of Sherlock Holmes and Jonathan Creek. The First Case for Frey & McGray.

Edinburgh, 1888. A violinist is murdered in his home. The dead virtuoso's maid swears she heard three musicians playing in the night. But with only one body in the locked practice room - and no way in or out - the case makes no sense.

Fearing a national panic over another Ripper, Scotland Yard sends Inspector Ian Frey to investigate under the cover of a fake department specializing in the occult. However, Frey's new boss, Detective 'Nine-Nails' McGray, actually believes in such supernatural nonsense.

McGray's tragic past has driven him to superstition, but even Frey must admit that this case seems beyond reason. And once someone loses all reason, who knows what they will lose next...

* * *

'It's official: I am addicted to Frey and McGray' Christopher Fowler, author of the Bryant and May series

'This is wonderful. A brilliant, moving, clever, lyrical book - I loved it. Oscar de Muriel is going to be a name to watch.'
Manda Scott

'A great cop double-act ... It's the pairing of the upright Frey and the unorthodox McGray that notches up the stars for this book. Like de Muriel, they're going places.'
Sunday Sport

One of the best debuts so far this year - a brilliant mix of horror, history, and humour. Genuinely riveting ... with plenty of twists, this will keep you turning the pages. It's clever, occasionally frightening and superbly written - The Strings Of Murder is everything you need in a mystery thriller.'
Crime Review

Portrait
Oscar de Muriel was born in Mexico City and moved to the UK to complete his PhD. He is a chemist, translator and violinist who now lives and works in Manchester. The Loch of the Dead is his fourth novel, following A Mask of Shadows, A Fever of the Blood and The Strings of Murder.
… weiterlesen
In den Warenkorb

Beschreibung

Produktdetails


Einband Taschenbuch
Seitenzahl 416
Erscheinungsdatum 12.02.2015
Sprache Englisch
ISBN 978-0-7181-7982-3
Verlag Penguin Books Ltd
Maße (L/B/H) 19,8/12,8/3,2 cm
Gewicht 298 g
Verkaufsrang 3.816
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
9,69
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Sofort lieferbar
Versandkostenfrei
In den Warenkorb
PAYBACK Punkte
Ihr Feedback zur Seite
Haben Sie alle relevanten Informationen erhalten?
Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback!
Entschuldigung, beim Absenden Ihres Feedbacks ist ein Fehler passiert. Bitte versuchen Sie es erneut.

Buchhändler-Empfehlungen

Kristiane Müller, Thalia-Buchhandlung Hamburg

Zwei, die so schlecht zusammen passen wie Scully und Mulder.
Schöne Schauergeschichte im nebligen victorianischen Edinburgh.
Zwei, die so schlecht zusammen passen wie Scully und Mulder.
Schöne Schauergeschichte im nebligen victorianischen Edinburgh.

Kundenbewertungen

Durchschnitt
2 Bewertungen
Übersicht
1
1
0
0
0

von einer Kundin/einem Kunden am 15.07.2018
Bewertet: anderes Format

Der fantastische Auftakt einer meiner Lieblingsbuchreihen - MUST READ