Warenkorb
 

Sie haben noch keinen tolino eReader? Jetzt informieren.

Symptoms of Being Human

Balzer + Bray

(1)

A sharply honest and moving debut perfect for fans of The Perks of Being a Wallflower and Ask the Passengers.

Riley Cavanaugh is many things: Punk rock. Snarky. Rebellious. And gender fluid. Some days Riley identifies as a boy, and others as a girl. But Riley isn't exactly out yet. And between starting a new school and having a congressman father running for reelection in über-conservative Orange County, the pressure—media and otherwise—is building up in Riley's life.

On the advice of a therapist, Riley starts an anonymous blog to vent those pent-up feelings and tell the truth of what it's really like to be a gender fluid teenager. But just as Riley's starting to settle in at school—even developing feelings for a mysterious outcast—the blog goes viral, and an unnamed commenter discovers Riley's real identity, threatening exposure. And Riley must make a choice: walk away from what the blog has created—a lifeline, new friends, a cause to believe in—or stand up, come out, and risk everything.

From debut author Jeff Garvin comes a powerful and uplifting portrait of a modern teen struggling with high school, relationships, and what it means to be a person.

… weiterlesen
eBook kaufen
eBook verschenken

Beschreibung

Produktdetails


Format ePUB i
Kopierschutz Ja i
Seitenzahl 352 (Printausgabe)
Erscheinungsdatum 02.02.2016
Sprache Englisch
EAN 9780062382887
Verlag HarperCollins
Verkaufsrang 50.125
eBook
6,39
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Sofort per Download lieferbar
In der Cloud verfügbar
Per E-Mail verschenken i
eBook kaufen
eBook verschenken
PAYBACK Punkte
Ihr Feedback zur Seite
Haben Sie alle relevanten Informationen erhalten?
Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback!
Entschuldigung, beim Absenden Ihres Feedbacks ist ein Fehler passiert. Bitte versuchen Sie es erneut.

Kundenbewertungen

Durchschnitt
1 Bewertung
Übersicht
1
0
0
0
0

Boy or Girl? YES.
von einer Kundin/einem Kunden am 01.04.2017
Bewertet: Einband: gebundene Ausgabe

Symptoms of Being Human shows how people might have problems and struggle when figuring themselves, their sexuality and/or their gender out. This book gives great insight into what it can mean to be gender fluid. The reader receives a lot of informations about how the main character feels about... Symptoms of Being Human shows how people might have problems and struggle when figuring themselves, their sexuality and/or their gender out. This book gives great insight into what it can mean to be gender fluid. The reader receives a lot of informations about how the main character feels about gender fluidity and also mentions other aspects of the lgbt+ community. In this story we follow Riley who sometimes is a girl and other times a boy. It's not easy to come out though, whether to friends or family, because Riley's father is a congressman running for reelection, is constantly on the media and has to attend many events. To help Riley with anxiety and depression a therapist advices to start a blog. But Riley's anonymous blog soon goes viral and Riley has to decide if everything is too much and if the account shoud be deleted or not. We read about the protagonist's struggles within the new school, how Riley handles the bullies and how friends come along the way. This is a beautiful book with great writing. We definitely need more stories with characters like Riley.