Warenkorb
 

Six of Crows

A Grisha Novel

(19)
The Grisha Trilogy introduced readers to the irresistible fantasy world of the Grisha - and now the adventure begins again. Before he can take his place at the head of Kerch's underworld, thief and conman Bastian Brekker must assemble a team of assassins, thugs, and outcasts to pull off a seemingly impossible heist. To do that, Baz needs to assemble a team of specialists. They are the Dregs: low on cash, flexible on ethics, and the one thing that might stand between the world and destruction - if they don't kill each other first. Leigh Bardugo's writing has captivated readers since SHADOW AND BONE was published in 2012. SIX OF CROWS will take Leigh's fans back into the world they know and love as she spins a new story set in the dangerous and fascinating underworld of Ketterdam city. As gripping, sweeping and memorable as The Grisha Trilogy, this is perfect for fans of Laini Taylor, Kristin Cashore and Game of Thrones.
… weiterlesen
In den Warenkorb

Beschreibung

Produktdetails


Einband Taschenbuch
Seitenzahl 512
Altersempfehlung 12 - 17
Erscheinungsdatum 02.06.2016
Sprache Englisch
ISBN 978-1-78062-228-6
Verlag Hachette Books Ireland
Maße (L/B/H) 19,8/13,2/3,5 cm
Gewicht 415 g
Verkaufsrang 6.105
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
9,19
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Sofort lieferbar
Versandkostenfrei
In den Warenkorb
PAYBACK Punkte
Ihr Feedback zur Seite
Haben Sie alle relevanten Informationen erhalten?
Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback!
Entschuldigung, beim Absenden Ihres Feedbacks ist ein Fehler passiert. Bitte versuchen Sie es erneut.

Buchhändler-Empfehlungen

„Ocean's Eleven meets fantasy“

Eine Buchhändlerin/ein Buchhändler, Thalia-Buchhandlung Dresden

By day, the crowded city of Ketterdam is ruled by wealthy merchants. But at night, the gangs of the underworld fight a dirty war against each other for power and territories. In between all of this rivalry, Kaz Brekker (an ambitious and ruthless vice gang boss) gets an offer that he can not refuse. He reaches out to five other criminals with whom he plans the biggest coup of his life.

Leigh Bardugo is marvelous. She tells the plot mostly through the background stories from each of the six "crows". These are surely quite different from each other but connect to the main story in their own way. I was extremely interested in the character of Kaz Brekker. He is a boy, who had to grow up with brutal speed in order to survive the streets of Ketterdam. His past shapes and controls him in his actions. His high intelligence and ambition make him the perfect anti-hero. The other protagonists Inej, Nina, Jesper, Matthias and Wylan complete his character.

The plot is very exciting. Even though the reader doesn't learn some important aspects of the world on the first pages, this puzzle is completed throughout the book. Bardugo knows how to grab the readers emotions and spins them around. Her writing style lets me laugh out loud in one moment and cry in the next. A cliffhanger at the end encourages the reader to pick up the second and last book of this duology ("Crooked Kingdom"). An extraordinary start!
By day, the crowded city of Ketterdam is ruled by wealthy merchants. But at night, the gangs of the underworld fight a dirty war against each other for power and territories. In between all of this rivalry, Kaz Brekker (an ambitious and ruthless vice gang boss) gets an offer that he can not refuse. He reaches out to five other criminals with whom he plans the biggest coup of his life.

Leigh Bardugo is marvelous. She tells the plot mostly through the background stories from each of the six "crows". These are surely quite different from each other but connect to the main story in their own way. I was extremely interested in the character of Kaz Brekker. He is a boy, who had to grow up with brutal speed in order to survive the streets of Ketterdam. His past shapes and controls him in his actions. His high intelligence and ambition make him the perfect anti-hero. The other protagonists Inej, Nina, Jesper, Matthias and Wylan complete his character.

The plot is very exciting. Even though the reader doesn't learn some important aspects of the world on the first pages, this puzzle is completed throughout the book. Bardugo knows how to grab the readers emotions and spins them around. Her writing style lets me laugh out loud in one moment and cry in the next. A cliffhanger at the end encourages the reader to pick up the second and last book of this duology ("Crooked Kingdom"). An extraordinary start!

Kundenbewertungen

Durchschnitt
19 Bewertungen
Übersicht
14
4
1
0
0

Ocean's Eleven Meets Fantasy
von einer Kundin/einem Kunden am 27.02.2018

"Six of Crows" is the first book of a new fantasy series by Leigh Bardugo. Kaz Brekker, criminal mastermind of Ketterdam, is asked to do the impossible. In order to prevent the destribution of a substance with the power to control and subsequently wipe out all grisha he needs to... "Six of Crows" is the first book of a new fantasy series by Leigh Bardugo. Kaz Brekker, criminal mastermind of Ketterdam, is asked to do the impossible. In order to prevent the destribution of a substance with the power to control and subsequently wipe out all grisha he needs to break the man responsible out of the most secure prison imaginable. This job will make him rich beyond his wildest dreams, but it's not something he can do alone. So Kaz convinces five other low-lives to help him attempt to do the impossible... Having also read, but by no means loved, the first installment of Leigh Bardugo's "Grisha"-series, I was kind of reluctant going into this one. The first couple of chapters seemed to confirm my wariness, but then the story got interesting. Also, the characters, which I did not really like throughout the first half of the book, won me over as the story continued - they really do grow on you. In the end I almost flew through the pages and didn't want it to end. Even though it has a weak first couple of chapters, " Six of Crows" is a really interesting and fast-paced read. I especially liked the ocean's-eleven-esque vibe of it and am now really looking forward to getting my hands on the sequel.

An all-time favorite
von einer Kundin/einem Kunden am 13.11.2017
Bewertet: Einband: Taschenbuch

A group of six outcasts is tasked with an almost impossible mission while the whole city of Ketterdam is out to kill them. If they don't kill each other first. Bardugo succeeded at keeping me guessing and trying to figure things out; regarding the plot, the world, the characters -their... A group of six outcasts is tasked with an almost impossible mission while the whole city of Ketterdam is out to kill them. If they don't kill each other first. Bardugo succeeded at keeping me guessing and trying to figure things out; regarding the plot, the world, the characters -their history and the relationships between them-, and the way it was formatted, with chapters following mostly the perspective of a given character, was a great success for me, too. The characters were all so different and crooked and amazing and beautifully written and crafted. Even though this is fantasy, take away the powers of those who have them and you have real people with credible baggage and purposes. While the main plot was utterly entertaining, the way Bardugo mixed it with glimpses of their history felt like honey. One of the things I loved the most of this very particular pack of people was how diverse it was. I loved reading about their descriptions, their different backgrounds, skin, and eye colors, features, accents, beliefs, and it was absolutely believable that they'd end up working together, even though they had to fight their inner voice telling each and every one of them to kill the other 5. Six of Crows is highly entertaining, offers wonderful characters, and a beautifully written story. Tagging along as the gang tries to accomplish their task is a treat.

Six outcasts - One impossible heist
von einer Kundin/einem Kunden am 14.10.2017
Bewertet: Einband: Taschenbuch

Eine abenteuerliche Heigh-Fantasy, die voll unerwarteter Wendungen steckt. Der Autorin gelingt es sehr gut die sechs unterschiedlichen Helden und deren eigene Kapitel gleichmäßig über das Buch zu verteilen, ohne dass man das Gefühl hätte einer würde dabei zu kurz kommen. Ihr "Worldbuilding" überzeugt, wobei sie sich stark auf ihre... Eine abenteuerliche Heigh-Fantasy, die voll unerwarteter Wendungen steckt. Der Autorin gelingt es sehr gut die sechs unterschiedlichen Helden und deren eigene Kapitel gleichmäßig über das Buch zu verteilen, ohne dass man das Gefühl hätte einer würde dabei zu kurz kommen. Ihr "Worldbuilding" überzeugt, wobei sie sich stark auf ihre Grisha Reihe stützt. Six of Crows kann aber völlig unabhänig davon gelesen werden und der Einstieg fällt sehr leicht. Gute Unterhaltung!