Warenkorb
 

When Breath Becomes Air

(1)
#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • PULITZER PRIZE FINALIST • For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, this inspiring, exquisitely observed memoir finds hope and beauty in the face of insurmountable odds as an idealistic young neurosurgeon attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living?

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY
The New York Times Book Review • People • NPR • The Washington Post • Slate • Harper's Bazaar • Time Out New York • Publishers Weekly • BookPage

Finalist for the PEN Center USA Literary Award in Creative Nonfiction and the Books for a Better Life Award in Inspirational Memoir

At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade's worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. One day he was a doctor treating the dying, and the next he was a patient struggling to live. And just like that, the future he and his wife had imagined evaporated. When Breath Becomes Air chronicles Kalanithi's transformation from a naïve medical student "possessed," as he wrote, "by the question of what, given that all organisms die, makes a virtuous and meaningful life" into a neurosurgeon at Stanford working in the brain, the most critical place for human identity, and finally into a patient and new father confronting his own mortality.

What makes life worth living in the face of death? What do you do when the future, no longer a ladder toward your goals in life, flattens out into a perpetual present? What does it mean to have a child, to nurture a new life as another fades away? These are some of the questions Kalanithi wrestles with in this profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir.

Paul Kalanithi died in March 2015, while working on this book, yet his words live on as a guide and a gift to us all. "I began to realize that coming face to face with my own mortality, in a sense, had changed nothing and everything," he wrote. "Seven words from Samuel Beckett began to repeat in my head: 'I can't go on. I'll go on.'" When Breath Becomes Air is an unforgettable, life-affirming reflection on the challenge of facing death and on the relationship between doctor and patient, from a brilliant writer who became both.
… weiterlesen
In den Warenkorb

Beschreibung

Produktdetails


Einband Taschenbuch
Seitenzahl 256
Erscheinungsdatum 03.01.2017
Sprache Englisch
ISBN 978-0-399-59040-5
Verlag Random House LCC US
Maße (L/B/H) 20,3/13,1/2,2 cm
Gewicht 196 g
Abbildungen m-. 132 zum Teil farbige Abbildungen
Verkaufsrang 326
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
8,69
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Sofort lieferbar
Versandkostenfrei
In den Warenkorb
PAYBACK Punkte
Ihr Feedback zur Seite
Haben Sie alle relevanten Informationen erhalten?
Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback!
Entschuldigung, beim Absenden Ihres Feedbacks ist ein Fehler passiert. Bitte versuchen Sie es erneut.

Kundenbewertungen

Durchschnitt
1 Bewertung
Übersicht
1
0
0
0
0

A wonderful piece of work that touches the heart
von einer Kundin/einem Kunden am 06.02.2017
Bewertet: Einband: Taschenbuch

When Breath becomes Air is an incredible book that tugs at the heartstrings. It is written beautifully and shows the hardship of becomming a doctor, dealing with illness and being diagnosed with a terminal disease. The Epilogue from Pauls wife Lucy is especially emotional, as she portrays his last... When Breath becomes Air is an incredible book that tugs at the heartstrings. It is written beautifully and shows the hardship of becomming a doctor, dealing with illness and being diagnosed with a terminal disease. The Epilogue from Pauls wife Lucy is especially emotional, as she portrays his last few days on earth. I could not stop the tears from streaming down my face. Beautifully written. This book explains alot of everyday situations from the medical world. A must read for every mecidal student, doctor ect.