Warenkorb
 

They Both Die at the End

Adam Silvera reminds us that there's no life without death and no love without loss in this devastating yet uplifting story about two people whose lives change over the course of one unforgettable day.

New York Times bestseller 4 starred reviews A School Library Journal Best Book of the Year A Kirkus Best Book of the Year A Booklist Editors' Choice of 2017 A Bustle Best YA Novel of 2017 A Paste Magazine Best YA Book of 2017 A Book Riot Best Queer Book of 2017 A Buzzfeed Best YA Book of the Year A BookPage Best YA Book of the Year

On September 5, a little after midnight, Death-Cast calls Mateo Torrez and Rufus Emeterio to give them some bad news: They're going to die today.

Mateo and Rufus are total strangers, but, for different reasons, they're both looking to make a new friend on their End Day. The good news: There's an app for that. It's called the Last Friend, and through it, Rufus and Mateo are about to meet up for one last great adventure-to live a lifetime in a single day.

In the tradition of Before I Fall and If I Stay, They Both Die at the End is a tour de force from acclaimed author Adam Silvera, whose debut, More Happy Than Not, the New York Times called "profound."
Rezension
"A bold, lovely, and haunting story of loss, hope, and the redeeming power of friendship." Lauren Oliver, New York Times bestselling author of Before I Fall
… weiterlesen
In den Warenkorb

Beschreibung

Produktdetails


Einband Taschenbuch
Seitenzahl 384
Altersempfehlung 14 - 17
Erscheinungsdatum 05.09.2017
Sprache Englisch
ISBN 978-0-06-268851-4
Verlag Harper Collins Publ. USA
Maße (L/B/H) 20,8/13,6/3 cm
Gewicht 347 g
Verkaufsrang 1.754
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
9,49
9,49
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Sofort lieferbar, Versandkostenfrei
Sofort lieferbar
Versandkostenfrei
In den Warenkorb
PAYBACK Punkte
Ihr Feedback zur Seite
Haben Sie alle relevanten Informationen erhalten?
Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback!
Entschuldigung, beim Absenden Ihres Feedbacks ist ein Fehler passiert. Bitte versuchen Sie es erneut.

Buchhändler-Empfehlungen

„Taschentücher sehr zu empfehlen ...“

Sara Pflanz, Thalia-Buchhandlung Berlin

Auch wenn der Titel schon verrät, wie das Buch endet, wurde mir das Herz am Ende des Buches herausgerissen. Ich habe die ganze Zeit gehofft, dass beide Charaktere, wie durch ein Wunder doch nicht sterben ... aber leider war alles hoffen nicht genug. Stellt also sicher, dass Ihr beim Lesen eine Packung Taschentücher neben Euch habt, Ihr werdet die brauchen. Auch wenn der Titel schon verrät, wie das Buch endet, wurde mir das Herz am Ende des Buches herausgerissen. Ich habe die ganze Zeit gehofft, dass beide Charaktere, wie durch ein Wunder doch nicht sterben ... aber leider war alles hoffen nicht genug. Stellt also sicher, dass Ihr beim Lesen eine Packung Taschentücher neben Euch habt, Ihr werdet die brauchen.

Vanessa Pludra, Thalia-Buchhandlung Berlin

Selten hat mich ein Buch so oft zu Tränen gerührt. Und obwohl es sich teils so anfühlt, als würde diese Geschichte einem das Herz brechen, kann man doch nicht aufhören zu lesen. Selten hat mich ein Buch so oft zu Tränen gerührt. Und obwohl es sich teils so anfühlt, als würde diese Geschichte einem das Herz brechen, kann man doch nicht aufhören zu lesen.

„Beautifully written!“

Katharina Teister, Thalia-Buchhandlung Iserlohn

It's a book about becoming the person you want to be without fear holding you back.
If you knew today was your last day on this planet of ours, would you be happy with the life you lived?

Such a beautiful book.
It's a book about becoming the person you want to be without fear holding you back.
If you knew today was your last day on this planet of ours, would you be happy with the life you lived?

Such a beautiful book.

Kundenbewertungen

Durchschnitt
12 Bewertungen
Übersicht
8
3
0
1
0

that. title.
von einer Kundin/einem Kunden am 20.10.2018

this book crushed me. it enjoyed stomping on my heart making me suffer but i kept on reading anyway. and even though the title and the first few pages already tell you how it'll end you still catch yourself hoping that they'll somehow survive. and at some point... this book crushed me. it enjoyed stomping on my heart making me suffer but i kept on reading anyway. and even though the title and the first few pages already tell you how it'll end you still catch yourself hoping that they'll somehow survive. and at some point you just put the book down and stop cause you don't want it to happen but after a few minutes you pick it up again and continue cause you just have to keep on reading. you know what you're getting yourself into when you decide to read this book so go ahead and brace yourself to have your heart crushed. you should probably get some tissues ready as well while you're at it.

When Death is Calling
von einer Kundin/einem Kunden am 16.07.2018

What would you do if you knew you only had one day to live? Rufus and Mateo live in the not too distant future, in which people get notified when their time is up. When the two teens get their Death Cast Calls they have to decide how and with... What would you do if you knew you only had one day to live? Rufus and Mateo live in the not too distant future, in which people get notified when their time is up. When the two teens get their Death Cast Calls they have to decide how and with whom they want to spend their last hours. Both are determined to make their remaining time count and connect via an app for Deckers - the Last Friend App. The idea behind this book intrigued me the instant I first heard about it. What WOULD I do if I was going to die within the next 24 hours? In this novel we follow Rufus and Mateo as they say their goodbyes, reminisce about their far too short lives and try to live their last day to the fullest. It's a heart-breaking story, yet also strangely hopeful and inspiring. You instantly connect with the character and want them to live forever, even though you know that they just won't. Silvera's writing and well-crafted characters make for a bittersweet reading experience. The only little thing I'd have to criticize is the romantic part of the book, which it could have done without, in my opinion. "They Both Die at the End" is a book that will definitely stay with me for a long time and I highly recommend it to teenagers and adults alike.

The opposite of a plot twist
von Charlie am 28.05.2018

Since the title already gives away the end there is no surprise in that at all. But that's not the point of the book. It's a journey of mourning oneself and finding comfort in a stranger which turns out to be more than a stranger in the end. It... Since the title already gives away the end there is no surprise in that at all. But that's not the point of the book. It's a journey of mourning oneself and finding comfort in a stranger which turns out to be more than a stranger in the end. It broke my heart and filled it with smiles at the same time. A lovely read for everyone.