Warenkorb
 

Sie haben noch keinen tolino eReader? Jetzt informieren.

The House

The BBC Radio 2 Book Club pick

(1)

***THE OBSERVER THRILLER OF THE MONTH***
***BBC RADIO 2 BOOK CLUB PICK***

----------------------------------------
The perfect couple. The perfect house.
THE PERFECT CRIME.

Londoners Jack and Syd moved into the house a year ago. It seemed like their dream home: tons of space, the perfect location, and a friendly owner who wanted a young couple to have it.

So when they made a grisly discovery in the attic, Jack and Syd chose to ignore it. That was a mistake.

Because someone has just been murdered outside their back door.

AND NOW THE POLICE ARE WATCHING THEM.

This thriller will hook you and not let you go. Perfect for fans of He Said / She Said, and The Couple Next Door

----------------------------------------

What authors and readers are saying:

'DELICIOUSLY DARK AND CLEVER WITH A SATISFYING TWIST. VERY HIGHLY RECOMMENDED' Mark Edwards

'AN INTRICATE AND POWERFUL THRILLER' Tana French

'HUGELY GRIPPING AND SPOOKY AS HELL' Mark Billingham

'TAUGHT, TENSE AND TERRIFYING, I LOVED IT' Sharon Bolton

'O.M.G . I just devoured this gem...Perfect execution of a psychological thriller right here.' Reader review

'A brilliantly tense and shocking thriller. I literally couldn't put it down!' Nuala Ellwood, author of My Sister's Bones

'This terrifying thriller sent shivers through me' Jane Corry, author of My Husband's Wife

'A bundle of creepy chills, perfectly timed for Halloween . . . Read it' Thriller of the Month, The Observer

'[A] gripping thriller . . . brilliant characters . . . and a clever, twisty plot' The People

'Deeply creepy . . . This clever, twisting plot, told in convincing voices, will haunt you in the very best way' The Sunday Mirror'

An intriguing and suspenseful read' Cath Staincliffe

'Brilliantly dark and gripping...Plays on the fundamental fear that the building blocks of our existence - home, relationships, family - may not be as secure as we like to think' Thomas Mogford

'Clearly influenced by the great Alfred Hitchcock, this is not so much a ghost story as an homage to the master's expert touch with dread' Daily Mail

'Creepy and totally gripping. A real page-turner. I loved it' Claire McGowan

'Absorbing, convincing and truly frightening ' The Times

'Powerful... A gripping, disturbing read' Marie Claire

'One of the genre's rising stars' Metro

'A writer to whom attention must be paid' Independent

Rezension
'Really creepy and clever. I loved it.'
Portrait
Simon Lelic is the author of three previous novels: Rupture (winner of a Betty Trask Award and shortlisted for the John Creasy Debut Dagger), The Facility and The Child Who (longlisted for the CWA Gold Dagger and CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger 2012). The House is his first psychological thriller, inspired by a love of Alfred Hitchcock and Stephen King.
… weiterlesen
eBook kaufen
eBook verschenken

Beschreibung

Produktdetails


Format ePUB i
Kopierschutz Ja i
Seitenzahl 400 (Printausgabe)
Erscheinungsdatum 17.08.2017
Sprache Englisch
EAN 9780241296554
Verlag Penguin Books Ltd
Dateigröße 1197 KB
eBook
6,99
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Sofort per Download lieferbar
In der Cloud verfügbar
Per E-Mail verschenken i
eBook kaufen
eBook verschenken
PAYBACK Punkte
Ihr Feedback zur Seite
Haben Sie alle relevanten Informationen erhalten?
Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback!
Entschuldigung, beim Absenden Ihres Feedbacks ist ein Fehler passiert. Bitte versuchen Sie es erneut.

Kundenbewertungen

Durchschnitt
1 Bewertung
Übersicht
0
1
0
0
0

The House
von miss.mesmerized am 16.08.2017
Bewertet: Taschenbuch

Finding a house in London is more or less impossible; therefore, Sydney and Jack are happy when they finally get one. It is not what they have dreamt of, but, with the time, they became realistic about what is possible and accepted the offer. Soon after they move in,... Finding a house in London is more or less impossible; therefore, Sydney and Jack are happy when they finally get one. It is not what they have dreamt of, but, with the time, they became realistic about what is possible and accepted the offer. Soon after they move in, strange things start to happen and they become more and more alert: is the house haunted or is somebody playing tricks on them? Is it because they interfered with the neighbour? His daughter confided herself in Sydney and awoke bad memories in her: just like Betsi, Sydney was suffering under her father’s temper and violence throughout her childhood. Unable to find help, she ran away at the age of 14 and left her younger sister with the situation at home alone. A bad conscience makes Sydney support the young neighbour, but obviously, her father is going to stop this. Or is the threat coming from somewhere completely different? No matter what is behind, soon Sydney and Jack find themselves in danger and even start losing faith in each other. Simon Lelic’s novel starts a bit as a surprise, it’s not the typical third person narrator we have, but a kind of diary entries or letters that the two protagonists write to each other. So we have Jack’s and Sydney’s perspective in alternation which makes it quite lively and authentic, especially since you get the impression of the highly stressful situation they are in and which has gone out of control. The way they write reflects their emotional state, it is repetitive, not well organised and thought through but rather like a stream of consciousness just coming out of their mouth. The plot itself has many surprises to offer, at first you are with the protagonists, not knowing what is happening and always trying to make sense of what they write. Then, slowly, you realise that Sydney and Jack have hidden some useful and important information from you, too, and you start getting sceptical about actually trusting them. As the novel moves on, you have to adjust your idea of the characters and the action again and again which I liked a lot since you could never feel absolutely secure about it. “The House” really deserves the label “thriller”. Quite often, you feel a cold shiver running down your spine when again something strange happens in the house. The characters’ actions are all credibly motivated and the plot itself is convincingly constructed. The strongest aspect for me was the psychological construction behind the story; knowing what Sydney went through, you can understand her reaction when she finds out about Betsi’s life at home. But also Sydney’s mother – even though she is a rather tragic figure – can be understood in her way of behaving. So, the novel is not just playing on your nerves with a thrilling plot, but also offer some insight in emotionally induced actions and decisions.