Warenkorb
 

Bestellen Sie bis zum 20.12.2018 und erhalten Sie Ihre Sendung pünktlich zu Heiligabend.**

The Mitford Murders

Nominiert: CWA Historical Dagger 2018

(1)

'A lively, well-written, entertaining whodunit' THE TIMES

***You can now preorder Bright Young Dead, the thrilling second book in The Mitford Murders series***

Lose yourself in the sumptuous first novel in a new series of Golden Age mysteries set amid the lives of the glamorous Mitford sisters.

It's 1919, and Louisa Cannon dreams of escaping her life of poverty in London, and most of all her oppressive and dangerous uncle.

Louisa's salvation is a position within the Mitford household at Asthall Manor, in the Oxfordshire countryside. There she will become nurserymaid, chaperone and confidante to the Mitford sisters, especially sixteen-year-old Nancy - an acerbic, bright young woman in love with stories.

But when a nurse - Florence Nightingale Shore, goddaughter of her famous namesake - is killed on a train in broad daylight, Nancy and amateur sleuth Louisa find that in postwar England, everyone has something to hide . . .

Written by Jessica Fellowes, author of the number one-bestselling Downton Abbey books, The Mitford Murders is the perfect new obsession for fans of Daisy Goodwin, Anthony Horowitz and Agatha Christie - and is based on a real unsolved crime.

'An extraordinary meld of fact and fiction' GRAHAM NORTON

'True and glorious indulgence. A dazzling example of a Golden Age mystery'
DAISY GOODWIN

'Exactly the sort of book you might enjoy with the fire blazing, the snow falling. The solution is neat and the writing always enjoyable'
ANTHONY HOROWITZ

'Oh how delicious! This terrific start to what promises to be a must-read series is exactly what we all need in these gloomy times. Inventive, glittering, clever, ingenious. I devoured The Mitford Murders... so will you. Give it to absolutely everyone for Christmas, then pre-order the next one'
SUSAN HILL

'All the blissful escapism of a Sunday-night period drama in a book'
THE POOL

'Keeps the reader guessing to the very end. An accomplished crime debut and huge fun to read'
EVENING STANDARD

'This story is drenched in detail and feels both authentic and fun. Curl up in your favourite reading spot and enjoy'
HEAT

'The plan is that each book will focus on a different Mitford sister. On the strength of this initial entry, success is assured'
FINANCIAL TIMES

'Elegant, whipsmart and brilliantly twisty-turny, this Downton-style mystery had me hooked from the first page'
VIV GROSKOP

'Full of period pleasure'
WOMAN & HOME

'An audacious and glorious foray into the Golden Age of mystery fiction. Breathtaking'
ALEX GRAY

'A real murder, a real family and a brand new crime fiction heroine are woven together to make a fascinating, and highly enjoyable, read. I loved it'
JULIAN FELLOWES

'Jessica Fellowes' deliciously immersive, effortlessly easy novel has a strong feel for period and a rollicking plot'
METRO

'What a captivating crime novel and heroine Jessica has created in The Mitford Murders. The instant reassurance of being in the hands of a true storyteller with a feel for period detail makes this a real treat'
AMANDA CRAIG

'This is a chocolate souffle of a novel: as the enthralling mystery heats up, so the addictive deliciousness of the story rises. The sort of book you never want to end'
JULIET NICOLSON

Portrait
Jessica Fellowes is an author, journalist and public speaker, best known for her work as author of five official companion books to Downton Abbey, various of which have hit the New York Times and Sunday Times bestseller lists. Former deputy editor of Country Life and columnist on the Mail on Sunday, she has written for publications including the Daily Telegraph, the Guardian, The Sunday Times and The Lady. Jessica has spoken at events across the UK and US, and has made numerous appearances on radio and television. She lives happily in London and Oxfordshire with her family, an energetic Labradoodle and two chickens.
… weiterlesen
In den Warenkorb

Beschreibung

Produktdetails


Einband Taschenbuch
Seitenzahl 432
Erscheinungsdatum 05.04.2018
Sprache Englisch
ISBN 978-0-7515-6718-2
Reihe The Mitford Murders
Verlag Little, Brown Young Readers
Maße (L/B/H) 19,5/12,6/3,2 cm
Gewicht 295 g
Verkaufsrang 1.610
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
7,99
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Sofort lieferbar
Versandkostenfrei
In den Warenkorb
PAYBACK Punkte
Ihr Feedback zur Seite
Haben Sie alle relevanten Informationen erhalten?
Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback!
Entschuldigung, beim Absenden Ihres Feedbacks ist ein Fehler passiert. Bitte versuchen Sie es erneut.

Buchhändler-Empfehlungen

Kristiane Müller, Thalia-Buchhandlung Hamburg

Cole Cases für Liebhaber historischer Krimis
Die notorisch berühmten Mitford Schwestern im Zentrum einer Reihe ungelöster Fälle
Eine hinreißenden Idee warmherzig umgesetzt
Cole Cases für Liebhaber historischer Krimis
Die notorisch berühmten Mitford Schwestern im Zentrum einer Reihe ungelöster Fälle
Eine hinreißenden Idee warmherzig umgesetzt

Kundenbewertungen

Durchschnitt
1 Bewertung
Übersicht
0
1
0
0
0