Warenkorb
 

Red Queen 02. Glass Sword

Kneel or bleed

Red Queen 2

The #1 New York Times bestselling series!

The electrifying second installment in the Red Queen series has all the drama, intrigue, and steamy romance that made it a #1 New York Times bestseller.

Mare Barrow's blood is red-the color of common folk-but her Silver ability, the power to control lightning, has turned her into a weapon that the royal court tries to control. The crown calls her an impossibility, a fake, but as she makes her escape from Maven, the prince-the friend-who betrayed her, Mare uncovers something startling: she is not the only one of her kind.

Pursued by Maven, now a vindictive king, Mare sets out to find and recruit other Red-and-Silver fighters to join in the struggle against her oppressors. But Mare finds herself on a deadly path, at risk of becoming exactly the kind of monster she is trying to defeat. Will she shatter under the weight of the lives that are the cost of rebellion? Or have treachery and betrayal hardened her forever?

Perfect for fans of George R.R. Martin's Game of Thrones series, Glass Sword is the high-stakes follow up to the #1 New York Times bestselling Red Queen.

And don't miss War Storm, the thrilling final book in the bestselling Red Queen series!
Rezension
"Aveyard certainly has a flair for the dramatic... The action hits the ground running and doesn't stop until after the last page is turned." School Library Journal
… weiterlesen
In den Warenkorb

Beschreibung

Produktdetails


Einband Taschenbuch
Seitenzahl 464
Altersempfehlung 13 - 16
Erscheinungsdatum 04.03.2018
Sprache Englisch
ISBN 978-0-06-231067-5
Verlag Harper Collins Publ. USA
Maße (L/B/H) 20,3/13,4/3,2 cm
Gewicht 342 g
Verkaufsrang 685
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
7,39
7,39
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Sofort lieferbar, Versandkostenfrei
Sofort lieferbar
Versandkostenfrei
In den Warenkorb
PAYBACK Punkte
Ihr Feedback zur Seite
Haben Sie alle relevanten Informationen erhalten?
Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback!
Entschuldigung, beim Absenden Ihres Feedbacks ist ein Fehler passiert. Bitte versuchen Sie es erneut.

Weitere Bände von Red Queen

  • Band 1

    42453011
    Red Queen 1
    von Victoria Aveyard
    (16)
    Buch
    7,39
    bisher 9,99
  • Band 2

    71549730
    Red Queen 02. Glass Sword
    von Victoria Aveyard
    (3)
    Buch
    7,39
    Sie befinden sich hier
  • Band 3

    45704735
    King's Cage / Red Queen 3
    von Victoria Aveyard
    Buch
    8,89
  • Band 4

    137802640
    War Storm
    von Victoria Aveyard
    Buch
    8,39

Buchhändler-Empfehlungen

„A thrilling and dark continuation of the series!“

R. Hußmann, Thalia-Buchhandlung Bergisch Gladbach

Haven been betrayed and tricked by Maven, the boy she once thought to be the only one on her side, Mare has fled from him and his cruel mother into the arms of the Scarlet Guard. But even among these people she is an outsider - not red, not silver, but something in between. Though her old teacher Julian entrusted her with a secret - that she is not the only one of her kind - and she is not willing to let Maven get to them first. It's a recruiting mission and a race that won't only endanger all the people around her, but also force Mare to change in order to survive. She has to be harder and colder than all the lives that have been and will be lost, but what will it cost her?

The second volume of the series is already darker than the first, as Mare and the others have to gear up and try to save people from the cruelty of the new king and his mother. There are lots of tough decisions to make and Mare has to face over and over again that no matter which path she chooses, she will never be able to save everyone. Throughout the story the reader can really feel how it takes it's toll on Mare, how the dead threaten to haunt her and how she struggles to not let it all tear her to pieces. The weight on her shoulders is nothing I would wish upon anyone.
To sum it all up:
Yes, there is a lot of fighting in this volume, but it's so much more than that. Similar to the Hunger Games series, the reader really experiences what war and death does to people. It's not a glorification of revolution, Mare is not a hero or the knight in shining armour saving the day, and that's what I give the author most credit for.
Haven been betrayed and tricked by Maven, the boy she once thought to be the only one on her side, Mare has fled from him and his cruel mother into the arms of the Scarlet Guard. But even among these people she is an outsider - not red, not silver, but something in between. Though her old teacher Julian entrusted her with a secret - that she is not the only one of her kind - and she is not willing to let Maven get to them first. It's a recruiting mission and a race that won't only endanger all the people around her, but also force Mare to change in order to survive. She has to be harder and colder than all the lives that have been and will be lost, but what will it cost her?

The second volume of the series is already darker than the first, as Mare and the others have to gear up and try to save people from the cruelty of the new king and his mother. There are lots of tough decisions to make and Mare has to face over and over again that no matter which path she chooses, she will never be able to save everyone. Throughout the story the reader can really feel how it takes it's toll on Mare, how the dead threaten to haunt her and how she struggles to not let it all tear her to pieces. The weight on her shoulders is nothing I would wish upon anyone.
To sum it all up:
Yes, there is a lot of fighting in this volume, but it's so much more than that. Similar to the Hunger Games series, the reader really experiences what war and death does to people. It's not a glorification of revolution, Mare is not a hero or the knight in shining armour saving the day, and that's what I give the author most credit for.

Kundenbewertungen

Durchschnitt
3 Bewertungen
Übersicht
0
2
1
0
0

Nicht ganz so gut wie der Vorgänger
von margaret k. am 19.10.2018
Bewertet: Einband: Taschenbuch

Mare und ihre Leute werden gesucht unf müssen sich vor dem neuen König verstecken. Ihre einzige Hoffnung sind die anderen Roten, die Gaben besitzen wie Silberne es tun. Und somit machen sie sich auf die Suche nach ihnen. Das Buch hat sehr vielversprechend angefangen. Voller rasanter Action, in die man... Mare und ihre Leute werden gesucht unf müssen sich vor dem neuen König verstecken. Ihre einzige Hoffnung sind die anderen Roten, die Gaben besitzen wie Silberne es tun. Und somit machen sie sich auf die Suche nach ihnen. Das Buch hat sehr vielversprechend angefangen. Voller rasanter Action, in die man schon auf der ersten Seite reingeworfen wird. Doch nach einer Weile scheint sich die Handlung im Kreis zu drehen und es passiert fast nichts Bedeutendes. Zwischendurch musste ich mich echt durch das Buch quälen, weil es einfach langweilig war. Hin und wieder kommen zwar immer mal wieder sehr gute Actionszenen vor und gegen Ende wird es auch wieder richtig gut, aber der größte Teil der Geschichte hat mich etwas enttäuscht. Vorallem haben mich die Charaktere verwundert, die einfach ganz anders als im ersten Teil waren. Die sich aufgebauten Beziehungen waren hier überhaupt nicht zu spüren und die Personen haben sich die meiste Zeit nur misstraut und gestritten bzw. gegenseitit runtergemacht. Das Misstrauen konnte ich wenigstens ein bisschen verstehen, auch wenn es an einem bestimmten Punkt einfach nur genervt hat. Dennoch konnte man so als Leser mitraten wem nun zu trauen war und wem nicht. Das hat die Sache etwas interessanter gemacht und für einige unerwartete Wendungen gesorgt. Was ich auch etwas vermisst habe, war die Romantik, die in diesem Teil anscheinend vergessen wurde und, bis auf ein paar kleine Stellen, kaum vorkam. Zusammengefasst bin ich etwas enttäuscht von dem zweiten Band, da ihm viel fehlt, was den ersten Teil so wahnsinnig gut gemacht hat. Ich hoffe der dritte Teil wird besser, denn das Ende verspricht trotz allem eine sehr spannende Fortsetzung.