Warenkorb
 

The Immortalists

If you knew the date of your death, how would you live?

Chloe Benjamin's THE IMMORTALISTS, is dazzling family drama for fans of WE ARE ALL COMPLETELY BESIDE OURSELVES and FATES AND FURIES. 'It's amazing how good this book is' Karen Joy FowlerIt's 1969, and holed up in a grimy tenement building in New York's Lower East Side is a travelling psychic who claims to be able to tell anyone the date they will die. The four Gold children, too young for what they're about to hear, sneak out to learn their fortunes.Over the years that follow, the siblings must choose how to live with the phrophecies the fortune-teller gave them that day. Will they accept, ignore, cheat, or defy them? Golden-boy Simon escapes to San Francisco, searching for love; dreamy Klara becomes a Las Vegas magician; eldest son Daniel tries to control fate as an army doctor after 9/11; and bookish Varya looks to science for the answers she craves.A sweeping novel of remarkable ambition and depth, The Immortalists is a story about how we live, how we die, and what we do with the time we have.
Rezension
A boundlessly moving inquisition into mortality, grief and passion...The Immortalists is not just a novel about grief; it conjures characters with such dimension that you mourn them too, a magic rare enough to leave one astonished Observer
Portrait
Benjamin, Chloe
Chloe Benjamin is the author of The Anatomy of Dreams, which won the Edna Ferber Fiction Book Award and was longlisted for the 2014 Flaherty-Dunnan First Novel Prize. She lives with her husband in Wisconsin.
… weiterlesen
In den Warenkorb

Beschreibung

Produktdetails


Einband Taschenbuch
Seitenzahl 448
Erscheinungsdatum 12.07.2018
Sprache Englisch
ISBN 978-1-4722-4500-7
Verlag Headline
Maße (L/B/H) 19,5/12,8/3,5 cm
Gewicht 317 g
Verkaufsrang 19.362
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
8,99
8,99
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Sofort lieferbar, Versandkostenfrei
Sofort lieferbar
Versandkostenfrei
In den Warenkorb
PAYBACK Punkte
Ihr Feedback zur Seite
Haben Sie alle relevanten Informationen erhalten?
Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback!
Entschuldigung, beim Absenden Ihres Feedbacks ist ein Fehler passiert. Bitte versuchen Sie es erneut.

Buchhändler-Empfehlungen

„Knowing the date fo your death...“

Marion Raab, Thalia-Buchhandlung Nürnberg

Four siblings come to know the date of their death - and have to deal with this knolege. It's heartwarming and heartbreaking watching them living their liefes ... the only one they get... Four siblings come to know the date of their death - and have to deal with this knolege. It's heartwarming and heartbreaking watching them living their liefes ... the only one they get...

M. Döll, Thalia-Buchhandlung Wetzlar

Tolle Geschichte über vier Geschwister, die schon als Kinder erfahren, wann sie sterben werden. Aber wie soll man mit diesem Wissen umgehen? Sehr einfühlsam und bewegend erzählt. Tolle Geschichte über vier Geschwister, die schon als Kinder erfahren, wann sie sterben werden. Aber wie soll man mit diesem Wissen umgehen? Sehr einfühlsam und bewegend erzählt.

„Zu wissen, wie lange man zu leben hat, macht das Leben nicht leichter!“

Sabrina Hüper, Thalia-Buchhandlung Osnabrück

Vier Geschwister erhalten als Kinder die Prophezeiung über ihr jeweiliges Todesdatum. Schaffen sie es, sich dadurch nicht beeinflussen zu lassen und ihr Leben nicht danach auszurichten? Oder leben sie gerade deshalb umso intensiver?
Chloe Benjamin lässt uns jedes der vier Geschwister durch sein Leben hindurch begleiten und an deren ganz unterschiedlichem Umgang mit der Prophezeiung teilhaben.
Dabei versetzt sie sich so einfühlsam in ihre Charaktere, dass es dem Leser jedes Mal schwerfällt, den Bruder oder die Schwester gehen zu lassen... und sich am Ende ganz von ihrer Welt trennen zu müssen.
Ein ganz tolles, warmherziges, lesenswertes Buch!
Vier Geschwister erhalten als Kinder die Prophezeiung über ihr jeweiliges Todesdatum. Schaffen sie es, sich dadurch nicht beeinflussen zu lassen und ihr Leben nicht danach auszurichten? Oder leben sie gerade deshalb umso intensiver?
Chloe Benjamin lässt uns jedes der vier Geschwister durch sein Leben hindurch begleiten und an deren ganz unterschiedlichem Umgang mit der Prophezeiung teilhaben.
Dabei versetzt sie sich so einfühlsam in ihre Charaktere, dass es dem Leser jedes Mal schwerfällt, den Bruder oder die Schwester gehen zu lassen... und sich am Ende ganz von ihrer Welt trennen zu müssen.
Ein ganz tolles, warmherziges, lesenswertes Buch!

Kundenbewertungen

Durchschnitt
5 Bewertungen
Übersicht
4
1
0
0
0

The Immortalists
von einer Kundin/einem Kunden am 26.02.2018
Bewertet: Einband: Taschenbuch

If you were told the date of your death, how would it shape your present? Chloe Benjamin plays with a very interesting scenario, one that I have sometimes pictured myself. Combined with the amazing press covarage, it had the honor to be my first book of 2018. The first two parts... If you were told the date of your death, how would it shape your present? Chloe Benjamin plays with a very interesting scenario, one that I have sometimes pictured myself. Combined with the amazing press covarage, it had the honor to be my first book of 2018. The first two parts were really powerful and moving, but the middle part got a little tiresome and predictable. I pushed through and I'm so immensly glad that I did, because the ending was beautiful and not predictable at all! 4 stars