Meine Filiale

Girl in Pieces

Kathleen Glasgow

Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
9,19
9,19
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Sofort lieferbar Versandkostenfrei
Sofort lieferbar
Versandkostenfrei

Weitere Formate

Taschenbuch

ab 8,99 €

Accordion öffnen

eBook (ePUB)

4,59 €

Accordion öffnen

Beschreibung

A New York Times Bestseller
An Amelia Bloomer Project Award Selection
A New York Public Library Best Book for Teens



Girl, Interrupted meets Speak.”—
Refinery29

 

“A
dark yet powerful read.”—
Paste Magazine

 

“One of the
most affecting novels we have read.”—Goop.com

 


Breathtaking and
beautifully written.”—Bustle

 


Intimate and gritty.”—
The Irish Times

"
A haunting, beautiful, and necessary book that will stay with you long after you've read the last page." —Nicola Yoon, #1
New York Times bestselling author of
Everything, Everything

"
Equal parts keen-eyed empathy, stark candor, and terrible beauty. This book is why we read stories: to experience what it's like to survive the unsurvivable; to find light in the darkest night."-Jeff Zentner, author of
The Serpent King

"
Raw, visceral, and starkly beautiful, with writing that is at times transcendent in its brilliance. . . . An unforgettable story of trauma and resilience."--Kerry Kletter, author of
The First Time She Drowned

"
A breathtakingly written book about pain and hard-won healing . . . I want every girl to read
Girl In Pieces."-Kara Thomas, author of
The Darkest Corners and
The Cheerleaders


A Girl, Interrupted for a new generation….The story of the mad girl is ultimately a story about being a girl in a mad world, how it breaks us into pieces and how we glue ourselves back together."—Melissa Febos, author of 
Whip Smart and
Abandon Me 


Dark, frank, and tender,
Girl in Pieces keeps the reader electrified for its entire journey. You’re so uncertain if Charlie will heal, so fully immerse
d in hoping she does.”—Michelle Wildgen, author of
Bread and Butter and
You’re Not You

"
Girl in Pieces has the breath of life; every character in it is fully alive.
Charlie Davis' complexities are drawn with great understanding and subtlety."-Charles Baxter, author of National Book Award finalist
The Feast of Love

"Charlie Davis has been damaged and abused after several years of living on the streets, but she is fiercely resilient.  Though it will appeal to readers of Ellen Foster,
Speak, and
Girl, Interrupted,
Girl in Pieces is
an entirely original work, compulsively readable and deeply human."-Julie Schumacher, author the
New York Times bestseller
Dear Committee Members


"
In Glasgow’s riveting debut novel, readers are pulled close to Charlie’s raw, authentic emotions as she strains to make a jagged path through her new life. Love and trust prove difficult, and Charlie’s judgment is not well honed,
but her will to survive is glorious."
—Booklist, Starred review

★ "[Readers] will find themselves driven to see Charlie’s story through. They will better understand a world that often makes no sense to outsiders.
Glasgow’s debut novel is a dark read, but the engaging writing will win an audience for [Glasgow]."-
VOYA, Starred review

"
Heartbreaking and thick with emotion,...[
Girl in Pieces is]
for avid fans of Jennifer Niven’s All the Bright Places or Susanna Kaysen’s Girl Interrupted."-
SLJ

A New York Times Bestseller
An Amelia Bloomer Project Award Selection
A New York Public Library Best Book for Teens, 2016

"Girl, Interrupted meets Speak."-Refinery29.com

"A dark yet powerful read."-PasteMagazine.com

"One of the most affecting novels we have read."-Goop.com

"Breathtaking and beautifully written."-Bustle

"Intimate and gritty."-The Irish Times

"A haunting, beautiful, and necessary book that will stay with you long after you've read the last page." -Nicola Yoon, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Everything, Everything

"Equal parts keen-eyed empathy, stark candor, and terrible beauty. This book is why we read stories: to experience what it's like to survive the unsurvivable; to find light in the darkest night."-Jeff Zentner, author of The Serpent King

"Raw, visceral, and starkly beautiful, with writing that is at times transcendent in its brilliance. . . . An unforgettable story of trauma and resilience."--Kerry Kletter, author of The First Time She Drowned

"A breathtakingly written book about pain and hard-won healing . . . I want every girl to read Girl In Pieces."-Kara Thomas, author of The Darkest Corners

"A Girl, Interrupted for a new generation....The story of the mad girl is ultimately a story about being a girl in a mad world, how it breaks us into pieces and how we glue ourselves back together."-Melissa Febos, author of Whip Smart and Abandon Me

"Girl In Pieces is like the friend you wish you had by your side for every hard choice and every time you've felt lost or alone. It's fearless and uncompromising, but overflowing with heart and wisdom."-Anthony Breznican, author of Brutal Youth.

"Dark, frank, and tender, Girl in Pieces keeps the reader electrified for its entire journey. You're so uncertain if Charlie will heal, so fully immersed in hoping she does."-Michelle Wildgen, author of Bread and Butter and You're Not You

"Girl in Pieces has the breath of life; every character in it is fully alive. Charlie Davis' complexities are drawn with great understanding and subtlety."-Charles Baxter, author of National Book Award finalist The Feast of Love

"Charlie Davis has been damaged and abused after several years of living on the streets, but she is fiercely resilient. Though it will appeal to readers of Ellen Foster, Speak, and Girl, Interrupted, Girl in Pieces is an entirely original work, compulsively readable and deeply human."-Julie Schumacher, author the New York Times bestseller Dear Committee Members

"In this sharp and beautiful portrait of eighteen-year-old Charlie Davis, Kathleen Glasgow illuminates not only the anxiety of youth but the vulnerability and terror of life in general. What a shock it is to engage with such a sensitive, sad, rage-filled soul: Glasgow's rendering of experience and emotion is so succinct and honest that I kept catching my breath in recognition, and admiration for her sensibility and empathy which glows on every page. Girl in Pieces hurts my heart in the best way possible."-Amanda Coplin, author of the New York Times bestseller The Orchadist

"Charlie Davis' voice is diamond-beautiful and diamond-sharp which, when strung together by a delicious story and memorable characters, creates a rare and powerful read. Kathleen Glasgow's Girl in Pieces is a treasure of a novel."-Swati Avasthi, author of Split and Chasing Shadows

"Written with wit and authenticity, Girl in Pieces is an extraordinary coming-of-age story, an unsentimental and affecting tale of a girl who almost doesn't make it to adulthood. Glasgow has a terrific ear for dialogue and an enviable gift for creating vivid characters, and her narrator--eighteen-year-old Charlie Davis--brings a backstreet eloquence to bear on a wrenching subject. Wise, unflinching, and balm for the kind of heartbreak that can't ever be fully mended, Girl in Pieces is a very, very good novel."-Summer Wood, author of Arroyo and Raising Wrecker

★ "In Glasgow's riveting debut novel,

Kathleen Glasgow is the
New York Times bestselling author of
Girl in Pieces and
How to Make Friends with the Dark. She lives and writes in Tucson, Arizona. To learn more about Kathleen and her writing, visit her website, kathleenglasgowbooks.com, or follow @kathglasgow on Twitter and @misskathleenglasgow on Instagram.

Produktdetails

Einband Taschenbuch
Seitenzahl 448
Altersempfehlung 14 - 17 Jahr(e)
Erscheinungsdatum 10.04.2018
Sprache Englisch
ISBN 978-1-101-93474-6
Verlag Random House LCC US
Maße (L/B/H) 20,5/13,9/2,7 cm
Gewicht 360 g
Verkaufsrang 3579

Kundenbewertungen

Es wurden noch keine Bewertungen geschrieben.

  • Artikelbild-0
  • ONE

    I can never win with this body I live in.
    -Belly, "Star"

    LIKE A BABY HARP SEAL, I'M ALL WHITE. MY FOREARMS are thickly bandaged, heavy as clubs. My thighs are wrapped tightly, too; white gauze peeks out from the shorts Nurse Ava pulled from the lost and found box behind the nurses' station.
    Like an orphan, I came here with no clothes. Like an orphan, I was wrapped in a bedsheet and left on the lawn of Regions Hospital in the freezing sleet and snow, blood seeping through the flowered sheet.
    The security guard who found me was bathed in menthol cigarettes and the flat stink of machine coffee. There was a curly forest of white hair inside his nostrils.
    He said, "Holy Mother of God, girl, what's been done to you?"
    My mother didn't come to claim me.
    But: I remember the stars that night. They were like salt against the sky, like someone spilled the shaker against very dark cloth.
    That mattered to me, their accidental beauty. The last thing I thought I might see before I died on the cold, wet grass.

    THE GIRLS HERE, THEY TRY TO GET ME TO TALK. They want to know What's your story, morning glory? Tell me your tale, snail. I hear their stories every day in Group, at lunch, in Crafts, at breakfast, at dinner, on and on. These words that spill from them, black memories, they can't stop. Their stories are eating them alive, turning them inside out. They cannot stop talking.
    I cut all my words out. My heart was too full of them.

    I ROOM WITH LOUISA. LOUISA IS OLDER AND HER HAIR IS like a red-and-gold noisy ocean down her back. There's so much of it, she can't even keep it in with braids or buns or scrunchies. Her hair smells like strawberries; she smells better than any girl I've ever known. I could breathe her in forever.
    My first night here, when she lifted her blouse to change for bed, in the moment before that crazy hair fell over her body like a protective cape, I saw them, all of them, and I sucked my breath in hard.
    She said, "Don't be scared, little one."
    I wasn't scared. I'd just never seen a girl with skin like mine.

    EVERY MOMENT IS SPOKEN FOR. WE ARE UP AT SIX o'clock. We are drinking lukewarm coffee or watered-down juice by six forty-five. We have thirty minutes to scrape cream cheese on cardboardy bagels, or shove pale eggs in our mouths, or swallow lumpy oatmeal. At seven fifteen we can shower in our rooms. There are no doors on our showers and I don't know what the bathroom mirrors are, but they're not glass, and your face looks cloudy and lost when you brush your teeth or comb your hair. If you want to shave your legs, a nurse or an orderly has to be present, but no one wants that, and so our legs are like hairy-boy legs. By eight-thirty we're in Group and that's when the stories spill, and the tears spill, and some girls yell and some girls groan, but I just sit, sit, and that awful older girl, Blue, with the bad teeth, every day, she says, Will you talk today, Silent Sue? I'd like to hear from Silent Sue today, wouldn't you, Casper?
    Casper tells her to knock it off. Casper tells us to breathe, to make accordions by spreading our arms way, way out, and then pushing in, in, in, and then pulling out, out, out, and don't we feel better when we just breathe? Meds come after Group, then Quiet, then lunch, then Crafts, then Individual, which is when you sit with your doctor and cry some more, and then at five o'clock there's dinner, which is more not-hot food, and more Blue: Do you like macaroni and cheese, Silent Sue? When you getting those bandages off, Sue? And then Entertainment.
    After Entertainment, there is Phone Call, and more crying.
    And then it's nine p.m. and more meds and then it's bed. The girls piss and hiss about the schedule, the food, Group, the meds, everything, but I don'