Warenkorb

Kindred

The ground-breaking masterpiece

**'The marker you should judge all other time-travelling narratives by' Guardian**

Octavia E. Butler's masterpiece and ground-breaking exploration of power and responsibility, for fans of The Handmaid's Tale, The Power and Yaa Gyasi's Homegoing. With an original foreword by AyO²bàmi AdebàyO².

'[Her] evocative, often troubling, novels explore far-reaching issues of race, sex, power and, ultimately, what it means to be human' New York Times

'No novel I've read this year has felt as relevant, as gut-wrenching or as essential' The Pool

In 1976, Dana dreams of being a writer. In 1815, she is assumed a slave.

When Dana first meets Rufus on a Maryland plantation, he's drowning. She saves his life - and it will happen again and again.

Neither of them understands his power to summon her whenever his life is threatened, nor the significance of the ties that bind them.

And each time Dana saves him, the more aware she is that her own life might be over before it's even begun.

Octavia E. Butler's ground-breaking masterpiece is the extraordinary story of two people bound by blood, separated by so much more than time.

What readers are saying about KINDRED:

'It was written in 1979 but could have been written last year. Incredible. I couldn't put it down'

'The narrator is us - we see the abomination and humiliation of slavery not through a slave's eyes, but our modern-day eyes, and it makes it all the more powerful'

'A must-read for everyone'

'Emotionally and viscerally alive and challenging. I don't know how I missed it before now'

Portrait
Octavia E. Butler (1947-2006) was the author of numerous ground-breaking novels, including
Kindred,
Wild Seed, and
Parable of the Sower. Recipient of the Locus, Hugo and Nebula awards, she became the first science fiction writer to receive the MacArthur Fellowship 'Genius Grant'.
… weiterlesen
  • Artikelbild-0
In den Warenkorb

Beschreibung

Produktdetails

Einband Taschenbuch
Seitenzahl 320
Erscheinungsdatum 03.05.2018
Sprache Englisch
ISBN 978-1-4722-5822-9
Verlag Headline
Maße (L/B/H) 19,5/12,8/2,7 cm
Gewicht 223 g
Verkaufsrang 3587
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
9,99
9,99
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Lieferbar in 3 - 5 Tagen Versandkostenfrei
Lieferbar in 3 - 5 Tagen
Versandkostenfrei
In den Warenkorb
PAYBACK Punkte
Vielen Dank für Ihr Feedback!
Entschuldigung, beim Absenden Ihres Feedbacks ist ein Fehler passiert. Bitte versuchen Sie es erneut.
Ihr Feedback zur Seite
Haben Sie alle relevanten Informationen erhalten?
Ihr Feedback ist anonym. Wir nutzen es, um unsere Produktseiten zu verbessern. Bitte haben Sie Verständnis, dass wir Ihnen keine Rückmeldung geben können. Wenn Sie Kontakt mit uns aufnehmen möchten, können Sie sich aber gerne an unseren Kundenservice wenden.

Kundenbewertungen

Es wurden noch keine Bewertungen geschrieben.