Bestellen Sie bis Donnerstag, den 21. Dezember 14:00 Uhr sofort lieferbare Produkte und Sie erhalten Ihr Paket pünktlich bis Heiligabend

Arabian Sands

"Following worthily in the tradition of Burton, Lawrence, Philby and Thomas, [ Arabian Sands ] is, very likely, the book about Arabia to end all books about Arabia." - The Daily Telegraph
Arabian Sands is Wilfred Thesiger's record of his extraordinary journey through the parched "Empty Quarter" of Arabia. Educated at Eton and Oxford, Thesiger was repulsed by the softness and rigidity of Western life-"the machines, the calling cards, the meticulously aligned streets." In the spirit of T. E. Lawrence, he set out to explore the deserts of Arabia, traveling among peoples who had never seen a European and considered it their duty to kill Christian infidels. His now-classic account is invaluable to understanding the modern Middle East.
Rezension
"The narrative is vividly written, with a thousand little anecdotes and touches which bring back to any who have seen these countries every scene with the colour of real life." - The Sunday Times (London)
Portrait
Sir Wilfred Patrick Thesiger (1910-2003) was a British travel writer born in Addis Ababa in Abyssinia (now Ethiopia). Thesiger is best known for two travel books: Arabian Sands (1959), which recounts his travels in the Empty Quarter of Arabia between 1945 and 1950 and describes the vanishing way of life of the Bedouins, and The Marsh Arabs (1964), an account of the traditional peoples who lived in the marshlands of southern Iraq. Rory Stewart served briefly in the British Army and then as a diplomat in Jakarta and Montenegro. In August 2000 he resigned from the Foreign Office and began walking from Turkey towards Vietnam. His book about the walk, The Places In Between (2004), was a critically applauded account of his experiences in Afghanistan. His second book, The Prince of the Marshes: And Other Occupational Hazards of a Year in Iraq (2006), outlines his experiences as deputy governor of the Iraqi province of Maysan and Senior Advisor in the city of Nasiriyah shortly after coalition forces entered Iraq and describes his struggles to establish a functional government in these regions. Stewart has been awarded the OBE. Stewart currently lives in Kabul, Afghanistan.
… weiterlesen
In den Warenkorb
Filialabholung

Versandkostenfrei

Beschreibung

Produktdetails


Einband Taschenbuch
Seitenzahl 368
Erscheinungsdatum 01.09.2007
Sprache Englisch
ISBN 978-0-14-144207-5
Verlag Penguin Books Ltd
Maße (L/B/H) 198/129/24 mm
Gewicht 301
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
9,99
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Sofort lieferbar
Versandkostenfrei
In den Warenkorb
Filialabholung

Versandkostenfrei

Andere Kunden interessierten sich auch für

  • 14235283
    Die Reise mit Charley
    von John Steinbeck
    (1)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    9,90
  • 35359610
    Die Brunnen der Wüste
    von Wilfred Thesiger
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    16,00
  • 44991150
    Where to Go When
    Buch (gebundene Ausgabe)
    21,99
  • 18620966
    Die versunkene Stadt Z
    von David Grann
    (8)
    Buch (gebundene Ausgabe)
    19,95
  • 47373865
    Japan
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    18,99
  • 15270991
    Wild
    von Jay Griffiths
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    11,99
  • 3234149
    Another Day of Life
    von Ryszard Kapuscinski
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    9,99
  • 37824215
    Beirut
    von Jessica Lee
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    9,99
  • 44414429
    The Lost Continent
    von Bill Bryson
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    7,99
  • 4268282
    Travels with Charley
    von John Steinbeck
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    8,99
  • 2869048
    The Snow Leopard
    von Peter Matthiessen
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    9,99
  • 30554895
    Swiss Watching
    von Diccon Bewes
    (4)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    11,99
  • 44578099
    Epic Bike Rides of the World
    von Lonely Planet
    Buch (gebundene Ausgabe)
    26,99
  • 885253
    Into the Wild
    von Jon Krakauer
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    8,99
  • 14688794
    Into the Wild
    von Jon Krakauer
    (4)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    8,99
  • 44253653
    Down Under
    von Bill Bryson
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    7,99
  • 33619199
    Wild
    von Cheryl Strayed
    (2)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    6,99
  • 42567807
    Notes from a Small Island
    von Bill Bryson
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    8,99
  • 62324685
    The Place To Be
    von Lonely Planet Publications (COR)
    Buch (gebundene Ausgabe)
    21,99

Kundenbewertungen


Es wurden noch keine Bewertungen geschrieben.

Wird oft zusammen gekauft

Arabian Sands - Wilfred Thesiger

Arabian Sands

von Wilfred Thesiger

Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
9,99
+
=
Ibn Fadlan and the Land of Darkness - Ibn Fadlan

Ibn Fadlan and the Land of Darkness

von Ibn Fadlan

Buch (Taschenbuch)
14,99
+
=

für

24,98

inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.

Alle kaufen