Avenue of Mysteries

(2)
Juan Diego's little sister is a mind reader. As a teenager, he struggles to keep anything secret - Lupe knows all the worst things that go through his mind. And sometimes she knows more. What a terrible burden it is to know - or to think you know - your future, or worse, the future of someone you love. What might a young girl be driven to do if she thought she had the power to change what lies ahead?

Later in life, Juan Diego embarks on a journey to fulfil a promise he made in his youth. It is a long story and it has long awaited an ending, but Juan Diego is unable to write the final chapters.

This is the story of what happens when the future collides with the past.
Rezension
"From the first page to the last, there is a goodness to this novel, a tenacious belief in love and the redemptive power of human connection, unfettered by institutions and conventions. This belief, combined with good old-fashioned storytelling, is surely why Irving is so often described as Dickensian. But John Irving is his own thing, and so is his new novel. Avenue of Mysteries is thoroughly modern, accessibly brainy, hilariously eccentric and beautifully human." Tayari Jones New York Times Book Review
… weiterlesen
In den Warenkorb
Filialabholung

Versandkostenfrei

Beschreibung

Produktdetails


Einband Taschenbuch
Seitenzahl 768
Erscheinungsdatum 07.06.2016
Sprache Englisch
ISBN 978-0-552-77865-7
Verlag Transworld Publ. Ltd UK
Maße (L/B/H) 17,7/11,2/5,5 cm
Gewicht 404 g
Verkaufsrang 7.339
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
6,99
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Sofort lieferbar
Versandkostenfrei
In den Warenkorb
Filialabholung

Versandkostenfrei

Andere Kunden interessierten sich auch für

  • Avenue of Mysteries
    von John Irving
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    12,99
  • The Little Paris Bookshop
    von Nina George
    (1)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    6,99
  • The Girl You Left Behind
    von Jojo Moyes
    (1)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    7,99
  • The Shepherd's Crown
    von Terry Pratchett
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    6,99
  • Desert Heat
    von J. A. Jance
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    8,99
  • Alchemist - The 25th Anniversary
    von Paulo Coelho
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    13,99
  • Fitzgerald, F: Beautiful and Damned
    von F. Scott Fitzgerald
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    2,99
  • Natural Causes
    von James Oswald
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    8,99
  • Handmaid's Tale
    von Margaret Atwood
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    9,99
  • Avenue of Mysteries
    von John Irving
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    9,99
  • The Whistler
    von John Grisham
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    6,99
  • Will Grayson, Will Grayson
    von John Green
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    7,99
  • A Prayer for Owen Meany
    von John Irving
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    8,99
  • The Girl on the Train
    von Paula Hawkins
    (16)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    6,99
  • Mrs. Hemingway
    von Naomi Wood
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    7,99
  • Purity
    von Jonathan Franzen
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    6,99
  • Fragile Things
    von Neil Gaiman
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    5,99
  • Fragile Things
    von Neil Gaiman
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    6,99
  • The Tea Planter's Wife
    von Dinah Jefferies
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    7,99
  • Introduction to the World of Kabbalah
    von Z'ev ben Shimon Halevi
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    28,99

Wird oft zusammen gekauft

Avenue of Mysteries

Avenue of Mysteries

von John Irving
Buch (Taschenbuch)
6,99
+
=
A Banquet of Consequences

A Banquet of Consequences

von Elizabeth George
Buch (Taschenbuch)
5,99
bisher 7,99
+
=

für

12,98

inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.

Alle kaufen

Kundenbewertungen

Durchschnitt
2 Bewertungen
Übersicht
0
2
0
0
0

Avenue of Mysteries
von miss.mesmerized am 19.03.2016
Bewertet: gebundene Ausgabe

Juan Diego is on his way to the biggest trip of his life: form New York to the Philippines. Yet, already the start of his journey is difficult, masses of snow lead to a delay, but while waiting at JFK, he meets Dorothy and Miriam who will change of... Juan Diego is on his way to the biggest trip of his life: form New York to the Philippines. Yet, already the start of his journey is difficult, masses of snow lead to a delay, but while waiting at JFK, he meets Dorothy and Miriam who will change of a lot of his plans for the following days. However, the elderly author does not only travel to Asia, but also into his own past, remembering how he grew up on a Mexican dump together with his mind-reading sister Lupe, how Jesuits took care of them and how Lupe lost her life. For readers of John Irving’s novels, the latest has to offer what you would expect from it: a great story of a whole life which is neither easy nor does it offer masses of luck and joy. Nevertheless, again, we get a multifaceted protagonist who is able to narrate his story and analyse it at the same time, who is singular and at the same time representative for a whole group of persons. He offers insight in his very special life and makes the novel vivid and complex. Having both stories – the past and the present – at the same time also provide a lot of suspense, since at the beginning, you cannot really like the old and the young Juan Diego and you get curious to find out what happened to his life to make such a turn. All in all, a wonderful story to indulge in.

Zuviel Religion - to much religion?
von einer Kundin/einem Kunden aus Hürth am 07.11.2015
Bewertet: gebundene Ausgabe

Ich bin ein großer John Irving-Fan. I'm a great John-Irving-Fan. Ein Schriftsteller, der von sich und seiner Schwester erzählt in einem Waisenhaus erzählt. A novelist, who tells about his and his sister in orphanshouse. Er erzählt von seinen Herzproblemen und wie Viagra dabei hilft. He tells from his heartproblems... Ich bin ein großer John Irving-Fan. I'm a great John-Irving-Fan. Ein Schriftsteller, der von sich und seiner Schwester erzählt in einem Waisenhaus erzählt. A novelist, who tells about his and his sister in orphanshouse. Er erzählt von seinen Herzproblemen und wie Viagra dabei hilft. He tells from his heartproblems and how viagra helps. Durch dieses Viagra kann er Mutter und Tochter befriedigen, welcher er auf einem Flug nach Hongkong kennengelernt hat. Through this viagra he can satisfied mother and daughter, which he met on a flight to hongkong. Er lebt in Philippinen und erlebt in Alpträumen seine Kindheit. He lives in philippines and expierenced his childhood in nightmares. Wie immer in Romanen von John Irving entdecke ich Toleranz. However in novels from john irving i discover tolerance. Er beschreibt Menschen ohne Sie zu beurteilen. He discribes human being without too judge. Manchmal ist mir diesser Roman zu religiös. This novel is for me too religious, sometimes. Kann ich Gedanken lesen, kann ich in die Zukunft schauen? Can i read minds, can i look to the future? Diese Fragen sind in diesem Roman die Hauptsache und beschäftigen den Helden dieses Romans. This questions are the main thing in this novel and deal the hero with this novel.