Beloved Poison

A Jem Flockhart Mystery, Nominiert: Scottish Crime Book of the Year 2016, Nominiert: Saltire First Book Award 2016

'It's rare that a book is Gothic enough for me, but Beloved Poison is killing it. The blood, the bones, the crumbling hospital . . .' Laura Purcell, author of The Silent Companions

Set in a crumbling hospital in the 1850s, Beloved Poison is a richly atmospheric debut, perfect for fans of Sarah Perry's The Essex Serpent and Sarah Waters.

x x x

Ramshackle and crumbling, St Saviour's Infirmary awaits demolition. Within its stinking wards and cramped corridors the doctors bicker and fight. Ambition, jealousy and hatred seethe beneath the veneer of professional courtesy. Always an outsider, and with a secret of her own to hide, apothecary Jem Flockhart observes everything, but says nothing.

And then six tiny coffins are uncovered, inside each a handful of dried flowers and a bundle of mouldering rags. When Jem comes across these strange relics hidden inside the infirmary's old chapel, her quest to understand their meaning prises open a long-forgotten past - with fatal consequences . . .

x x x

Praise for E.S. Thomson

'Meticulously researched and masterfully plotted, E.S. Thomson has written a complex, harrowing and highly enjoyable tale' Daily Express

'Here's a tale of Victorian London to freeze your blood on a cold winter's night' Evening Telegraph

'Jem Flockhart's London is vivid, pungent and perilous. The Blood takes you to places you will love to picture but be grateful you can't smell' Chris Brookmyre

'E. S. Thompson's Jem Flockhart books are the best I've read in years. Jem is just my kind of heroine: scarred, smart, complex, and unapologetically queer' Kirsty Logan, author of The Gracekeepers

'Jem Flockhart is a marvel . . . This vivid journey into the dark side of the human soul is a thoroughly engrossing tale' Mary Paulson Ellis, author of The Other Mrs Walker

'Deliciously dark and vividly atmospheric, menace oozes from every page. Terrific for lovers of historical noir' Saga

'A first class piece of historical crime writing' Big Issue

A marvellous, vivid book ... immaculately researched and breathtakingly dark' Janet Ellis, author of The Butcher's Hook
Rezension
Beloved Poison is a marvellous, vivid book with a thoughtful, engaging protagonist at its centre - and a fascinating story to tell. It's immaculately researched and breathtakingly dark. Elaine Thomson's descriptive powers are so great that that I was surprised to see twenty-first century London rather than grimy, smelly St Saviour's around me when I - eventually - looked up from its pages Janet Ellis, author of The Butcher's Hook
Portrait
E. S. Thomson's work has been longlisted for the CWA Endeavour Historical Dagger, and shortlisted for the Saltire Prize, the Scottish Arts Council First Book Award and the William MacIlvanney Crime Book of the Year Award. She has a PhD in the social history of medicine, and tries to fit as much medical history into her books as possible. She works as a university lecturer by day, and writes by night. Elaine lives in Edinburgh with her two sons.
… weiterlesen
In den Warenkorb
Filialabholung

Versandkostenfrei

Beschreibung

Produktdetails


Einband Taschenbuch
Seitenzahl 400
Erscheinungsdatum 01.09.2016
Sprache Englisch
ISBN 978-1-4721-2229-2
Verlag Little Brown & Co Inc
Maße (L/B/H) 19,5/12,6/3 cm
Gewicht 269 g
Verkaufsrang 9.268
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
8,99
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Sofort lieferbar
Versandkostenfrei
In den Warenkorb
Filialabholung

Versandkostenfrei

Andere Kunden interessierten sich auch für

  • Revenge in a Cold River
    von Anne Perry
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    7,99
  • Beloved Poison
    von E. S. Thomson
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    13,99
  • The Trespasser
    von Tana French
    Buch (gebundene Ausgabe)
    19,99
  • A Fever of the Blood
    von Oscar De Muriel
    Buch (gebundene Ausgabe)
    21,99
  • Last Days of Night
    von Graham Moore
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    11,99
  • The Other Child
    von Joanne Fluke
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    7,99
  • The Second Death
    von Peter Tremayne
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    8,99
  • Dead Man's Blues
    von Ray Celestin
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    7,99
  • House of the Rising Sun
    von James Lee Burke
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    6,99
  • The President is Missing
    von Bill Clinton, James Patterson
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    12,99
  • One of Us Is Lying
    von Karen M. McManus
    (6)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    7,99
  • The Outsider
    von Stephen King
    Buch (gebundene Ausgabe)
    16,99
  • A Taste for Vengeance
    von Martin Walker
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    12,99
  • One of Us is Lying
    von Karen M. McManus
    (1)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    7,99
  • Into the Water
    von Paula Hawkins
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    6,99
  • The Furthest Station
    von Ben Aaronovitch
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    6,99
  • The Outsider
    von Stephen King
    Buch (gebundene Ausgabe)
    19,99
    bisher 29,99
  • Before We Were Yours
    von Lisa Wingate
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    7,99
  • The President Is Missing
    von James Patterson, Bill Clinton
    Buch (gebundene Ausgabe)
    25,99
  • The Girl on the Train
    von Paula Hawkins
    (16)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    6,99

Wird oft zusammen gekauft

Beloved Poison

Beloved Poison

von E. S. Thomson
Buch (Taschenbuch)
8,99
+
=
The Damage Done

The Damage Done

von James Oswald
Buch (Taschenbuch)
7,99
+
=

für

16,98

inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.

Alle kaufen

Kundenbewertungen

Es wurden noch keine Bewertungen geschrieben.