Thalia.de

In weniger als einer Minute mit dem Lesen beginnen. Sie haben noch keinen tolino eReader?

Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End

The last book in the trilogy begun by Jennifer Worth's New York Times bestseller and the basis for the PBS series Call the Midwife

When twenty-two-year-old Jennifer Worth, from a comfortable middle-class upbringing, went to work as a midwife in the poorest section of postwar London, she not only delivered hundreds of babies and touched many lives, she also became the neighborhood's most vivid chronicler. Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End is the last book in Worth's memoir trilogy, which the Times Literary Supplement described as "powerful stories with sweet charm and controlled outrage" in the face of dire circumstances.

Here, at last, is the full story of Chummy's delightful courtship and wedding. We also meet Megan'mave, identical twins who share a browbeaten husband, and return to Sister Monica Joan, who is in top eccentric form. As in Worth's first two books, Call the Midwife: A Memoir of Birth, Joy, and Hard Times and Call the Midwife: Shadows of the Workhouse, the vividly portrayed denizens of a postwar East End contend with the trials of extreme poverty—unsanitary conditions, hunger, and disease—and find surprising ways to thrive in their tightly knit community.

A rich portrait of a bygone era of comradeship and midwifery populated by unforgettable characters, Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End will appeal to readers of Frank McCourt, Katherine Boo, and James Herriot, as well as to the fans of the acclaimed PBS show based on the trilogy.

… weiterlesen
Beschreibung

Produktdetails


Format ePUB i
Kopierschutz kopiergeschützt i
Seitenzahl 336, (Printausgabe)
Erscheinungsdatum 12.03.2013
Sprache Englisch
EAN 9780062270078
Verlag HarperCollins
eBook
6,39
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Sofort per Download lieferbar
In der Cloud verfügbar
Per E-Mail verschenken i

Andere Kunden interessierten sich auch für

  • 42532043
    Shadows Of The Workhouse
    von Jennifer Worth
    eBook
    4,49
  • 45488241
    Call the Midwife
    von Jennifer Worth
    eBook
    9,99
  • 42625725
    Complete Call the Midwife Stories
    von Jennifer Worth
    eBook
    15,99
  • 38027587
    Call the Midwife: Shadows of the Workhouse
    von Jennifer Worth
    eBook
    6,39
  • 45327948
    Call of Crows - Entfacht
    von G. A. Aiken
    eBook
    8,99
  • 46329838
    Hillbilly Elegy: A Memoir of a Family and Culture in Crisis
    von J. D. Vance
    eBook
    11,89
  • 45962526
    How to Be a Bawse
    von Lilly Singh
    eBook
    12,99
  • 33111735
    Unorthodox
    von Deborah Feldman
    eBook
    10,99 bisher 17,49
  • 42601755
    A Street Cat Named Bob
    von James Bowen
    eBook
    5,49
  • 47704295
    Born a Crime
    von Trevor Noah
    eBook
    17,49
  • 45779405
    Not Dead Yet: The Autobiography
    von Phil Collins
    eBook
    14,99
  • 42406366
    Not That Kind of Girl: A Young Woman Tells You What She's "Learned"
    von Lena Dunham
    eBook
    6,37
  • 42829741
    The Girl with Seven Names: A North Korean Defector's Story
    von Hyeonseo Lee
    eBook
    6,99
  • 43898963
    In Order To Live
    von Yeonmi Park
    eBook
    9,49
  • 33764672
    After They Killed Our Father
    von Loung Ung
    eBook
    6,99
  • 42605736
    The Glass Castle
    von Jeannette Walls
    eBook
    5,49
  • 47184721
    Gone
    von Min Kym
    eBook
    11,99
  • 31408216
    Play It Again
    von Alan Rusbridger
    eBook
    9,99
  • 39137665
    H is for Hawk
    von Helen Macdonald
    (2)
    eBook
    9,49
  • 45465419
    East West Street
    von Philippe Sands
    eBook
    6,99

Buchhändler-Empfehlungen

Kristin Schenk, Thalia-Buchhandlung Coesfeld

Jennifer Worth tells with much detail the life in the 1950s between midwifery and nursing in one of Londons poorest districts. A fantastic read! Jennifer Worth tells with much detail the life in the 1950s between midwifery and nursing in one of Londons poorest districts. A fantastic read!

Kundenbewertungen


Es wurden noch keine Bewertungen geschrieben.

Wird oft zusammen gekauft

Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End

Call the Midwife: Farewell to the East End

von Jennifer Worth

eBook
6,39
+
=
Lion: A Long Way Home

Lion: A Long Way Home

von Saroo Brierley

eBook
8,49
+
=

für

14,88

inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.

Alle kaufen