A Christmas Garland (Christmas Novella 10)

A festive mystery set in nineteenth-century India

Headline



Anne Perry sweeps her readers away to India in her tenth seasonal novella, A Christmas Garland. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Sherlock Holmes.

'Perry avoids all of the mawkish pitfalls that are usually the hallmark of holiday books by choosing an unconventional setting and decidedly different approach. Rather than leaning on sentiment, she writes an honest, though somewhat grim, story that captures the essence of 19th-century India and the character of a compassionate man. A novel approach to an oft-explored subject, this tale will delight Perry's fans and bring her new ones' - Kirkus Reviews

1857. After the fire of mutiny has swept through British India, young Lieutenant Victor Narraway arrives at a battered military base at Cawnpore. It is just two weeks before Christmas, but no one is able to celebrate: they have been betrayed. A soldier under arrest for dereliction of duty has killed a guard and escaped to join the rebels, taking crucial information that led to the massacre of nine men on patrol. Someone must have helped him, and medical orderly John Tallis is the only man unaccounted for at the time. He is now on trial for his life, and Narraway is commanded to defend him.

Narraway knows that his is an impossible task. The British Army needs justice to be carried out in full, and there seems no doubt of Tallis's guilt. But Narraway cannot see any motive for his actions. Will an innocent man hang before Christmas?

'Make yourself a pot of tea, turn on your reading lamp and settle in for another deliciously atmospheric tale from Perry'

Christmas would not be Christmas without a Perry novella

Five stars

Portrait
Anne Perry, 1938 in London geboren, musste als Zehnjährige wegen ihrer angegriffenen Gesundheit England verlassen und verbrachte einen Teil ihrer Jugend in Neuseeland und auf den Bahamas. Schon früh begann sie zu schreiben. Mittlerweile begeistert sie mit ihrem Helden, dem Privatdetektiv William Monk, sowie dem Detektivgespann Thomas und Charlotte Pitt ein Millionenpublikum. Die Autorin lebt in Suffolk.
… weiterlesen

Beschreibung

Produktdetails


Format ePUB i
Kopierschutz kopiergeschützt
Seitenzahl 88, (Printausgabe)
Erscheinungsdatum 25.10.2012
Serie Headline
Sprache Englisch
EAN 9780755397259
Verlag Headline
eBook
2,99
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Sofort per Download lieferbar
In der Cloud verfügbar
Per E-Mail verschenken i

Andere Kunden interessierten sich auch für

  • 38224372
    A Christmas Garland
    von Anne Perry
    eBook
    11,49
  • 42731648
    A Christmas Hope (Christmas Novella 11)
    von Anne Perry
    eBook
    1,99
  • 35758175
    A Christmas Journey
    von Anne Perry
    eBook
    13,99
  • 46680677
    Origin: Robert Langdon Book 5
    von Dan Brown
    eBook
    14,99
  • 81863459
    The Rooster Bar
    von John Grisham
    eBook
    10,99
  • 46472199
    The Thirst
    von Jo Nesbo
    (7)
    eBook
    12,99
  • 28112946
    The Snowman
    von Jo Nesbo
    eBook
    6,99
  • 41211703
    The Girl on the Train
    von Paula Hawkins
    (16)
    eBook
    6,99
  • 46347466
    Out of Bounds
    von Val McDermid
    (1)
    eBook
    3,99
  • 47770860
    I Know a Secret
    von Tess Gerritsen
    eBook
    12,99
  • 58107599
    The Child Finder
    von Rene Denfeld
    eBook
    7,89
  • 77568200
    The Furthest Station
    von Ben Aaronovitch
    eBook
    7,49
  • 31578367
    World Without End
    von Ken Follett
    eBook
    2,99 bisher 8,99
  • 79632968
    Camino Island
    von John Grisham
    eBook
    9,99
  • 51863758
    Munich
    von Robert Harris
    eBook
    14,99
  • 47530067
    The Whistler
    von John Grisham
    eBook
    5,49
  • 45779490
    The Couple Next Door
    von Shari Lapena
    eBook
    6,99
  • 45779116
    Night School
    von Lee Child
    eBook
    3,99
  • 62032617
    Sunday Morning Coming Down
    von Nicci French
    eBook
    10,99
  • 45779488
    Blackout
    von Marc Elsberg
    (1)
    eBook
    6,99

Kundenbewertungen


Es wurden noch keine Bewertungen geschrieben.

Wird oft zusammen gekauft

A Christmas Garland (Christmas Novella 10) - Anne Perry

A Christmas Garland (Christmas Novella 10)

von Anne Perry

eBook
2,99
+
=
A Christmas Odyssey (Christmas Novella 8) - Anne Perry

A Christmas Odyssey (Christmas Novella 8)

von Anne Perry

eBook
1,99
+
=

für

4,98

inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.

Alle kaufen