A Christmas Garland (Christmas Novella 10)

A festive mystery set in nineteenth-century India

As Christmas approaches, justice must be served...

Anne Perry sweeps her readers away to India in her tenth seasonal novella, A Christmas Garland. Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Sherlock Holmes.

'Perry avoids all of the mawkish pitfalls that are usually the hallmark of holiday books by choosing an unconventional setting and decidedly different approach. Rather than leaning on sentiment, she writes an honest, though somewhat grim, story that captures the essence of 19th-century India and the character of a compassionate man. A novel approach to an oft-explored subject, this tale will delight Perry's fans and bring her new ones' - Kirkus Reviews

1857. After the fire of mutiny has swept through British India, young Lieutenant Victor Narraway arrives at a battered military base at Cawnpore. It is just two weeks before Christmas, but no one is able to celebrate: they have been betrayed. A soldier under arrest for dereliction of duty has killed a guard and escaped to join the rebels, taking crucial information that led to the massacre of nine men on patrol. Someone must have helped him, and medical orderly John Tallis is the only man unaccounted for at the time. He is now on trial for his life, and Narraway is commanded to defend him.

Narraway knows that his is an impossible task. The British Army needs justice to be carried out in full, and there seems no doubt of Tallis's guilt. But Narraway cannot see any motive for his actions. Will an innocent man hang before Christmas?

What readers are saying about A Christmas Garland:

'Make yourself a pot of tea, turn on your reading lamp and settle in for another deliciously atmospheric tale from Perry'

Christmas would not be Christmas without a Perry novella

Five stars

Portrait
Anne Perry, 1938 in London geboren, musste als Zehnjährige wegen ihrer angegriffenen Gesundheit England verlassen und verbrachte einen Teil ihrer Jugend in Neuseeland und auf den Bahamas. Schon früh begann sie zu schreiben. Mittlerweile begeistert sie mit ihrem Helden, dem Privatdetektiv William Monk, sowie dem Detektivgespann Thomas und Charlotte Pitt ein Millionenpublikum. Die Autorin lebt in Suffolk.
… weiterlesen
Beschreibung

Produktdetails


Format ePUB i
Kopierschutz kopiergeschützt i
Seitenzahl 88, (Printausgabe)
Erscheinungsdatum 25.10.2012
Sprache Englisch
EAN 9780755397259
Verlag Headline
Verkaufsrang 65.745
eBook
1,99
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Sofort per Download lieferbar
In der Cloud verfügbar
Per E-Mail verschenken i

Andere Kunden interessierten sich auch für

  • 43936875
    Fundamentals of Nursing - E-Book
    von Patricia A. Potter
    eBook
    105,90
  • 47543486
    Into the Water
    von Paula Hawkins
    (1)
    eBook
    10,99
  • 46472199
    The Thirst
    von Jo Nesbo
    (5)
    eBook
    12,99
  • 41211703
    The Girl on the Train
    von Paula Hawkins
    (16)
    eBook
    6,99
  • 43842910
    The Widow
    von Fiona Barton
    eBook
    3,99 bisher 6,99
  • 54333598
    All the Missing Girls
    von Megan Miranda
    eBook
    6,49
  • 67922211
    Camino Island
    von John Grisham
    eBook
    10,99
  • 45779490
    The Couple Next Door
    von Shari Lapena
    eBook
    6,99
  • 62032617
    Sunday Morning Coming Down
    von Nicci French
    eBook
    10,99
  • 45779116
    Night School
    von Lee Child
    eBook
    6,99
  • 52326385
    The Girl Before
    von Jp Delaney
    eBook
    1,99
  • 40312613
    Big Little Lies
    von Liane Moriarty
    eBook
    3,99 bisher 6,99
  • 33840223
    The Restless Dead
    von Simon Beckett
    eBook
    10,99
  • 42606725
    Rivers of London
    von Ben Aaronovitch
    eBook
    2,49
  • 40214496
    Thursday's Child
    von Nicci French
    eBook
    3,99 bisher 6,99
  • 47511974
    The Whistler
    von John Grisham
    eBook
    9,99
  • 47530067
    The Whistler
    von John Grisham
    eBook
    10,99
  • 42045861
    Make Me
    von Lee Child
    eBook
    6,99
  • 45443890
    Saturday Requiem
    von Nicci French
    (1)
    eBook
    6,99
  • 44928288
    The Waters of Eternal Youth
    von Donna Leon
    eBook
    8,49

Kundenbewertungen


Es wurden noch keine Bewertungen geschrieben.

Wird oft zusammen gekauft

A Christmas Garland (Christmas Novella 10)

A Christmas Garland (Christmas Novella 10)

von Anne Perry

eBook
1,99
+
=
A Christmas Secret (Christmas Novella 4)

A Christmas Secret (Christmas Novella 4)

von Anne Perry

eBook
1,99
+
=

für

3,98

inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.

Alle kaufen