Nutzen Sie unsere Filialabholung und erhalten Sie diesen Artikel versandkostenfrei in Ihrer Filiale!

Cloud Atlas

A Novel

By the New York Times bestselling author of The Bone Clocks Shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize
A postmodern visionary and one of the leading voices in twenty-first-century fiction, David Mitchell combines flat-out adventure, a Nabokovian love of puzzles, a keen eye for character, and a taste for mind-bending, philosophical and scientific speculation in the tradition of Umberto Eco, Haruki Murakami, and Philip K. Dick. The result is brilliantly original fiction as profound as it is playful. In this groundbreaking novel, an influential favorite among a new generation of writers, Mitchell explores with daring artistry fundamental questions of reality and identity.
Cloud Atlas begins in 1850 with Adam Ewing, an American notary voyaging from the Chatham Isles to his home in California. Along the way, Ewing is befriended by a physician, Dr. Goose, who begins to treat him for a rare species of brain parasite. . . . Abruptly, the action jumps to Belgium in 1931, where Robert Frobisher, a disinherited bisexual composer, contrives his way into the household of an infirm maestro who has a beguiling wife and a nubile daughter. . . . From there we jump to the West Coast in the 1970s and a troubled reporter named Luisa Rey, who stumbles upon a web of corporate greed and murder that threatens to claim her life. . . . And onward, with dazzling virtuosity, to an inglorious present-day England; to a Korean superstate of the near future where neocapitalism has run amok; and, finally, to a postapocalyptic Iron Age Hawaii in the last days of history.
But the story doesn't end even there. The narrative then boomerangs back through centuries and space, returning by the same route, in reverse, to its starting point. Along the way, Mitchell reveals how his disparate characters connect, how their fates intertwine, and how their souls drift across time like clouds across the sky.
As wild as a videogame, as mysterious as a Zen koan, Cloud Atlas is an unforgettable tour de force that, like its incomparable author, has transcended its cult classic status to become a worldwide phenomenon.
Praise for Cloud Atlas
"[David] Mitchell is, clearly, a genius. He writes as though at the helm of some perpetual dream machine, can evidently do anything, and his ambition is written in magma across this novel's every page."-The New York Times Book Review
"One of those how-the-holy-hell-did-he-do-it? modern classics that no doubt is-and should be-read by any student of contemporary literature."-Dave Eggers
"Wildly entertaining . . . a head rush, both action-packed and chillingly ruminative."-People
"The novel as series of nested dolls or Chinese boxes, a puzzle-book, and yet-not just dazzling, amusing, or clever but heartbreaking and passionate, too. I've never read anything quite like it, and I'm grateful to have lived, for a while, in all its many worlds."-Michael Chabon
"Cloud Atlas ought to make [Mitchell] famous on both sides of the Atlantic as a writer whose fearlessness is matched by his talent."-The Washington Post Book World
"Thrilling . . . One of the biggest joys in Cloud Atlas is watching Mitchell sashay from genre to genre without a hitch in his dance step."-Boston Sunday Globe
"Grand and elaborate . . . [Mitchell] creates a world and language at once foreign and strange, yet strikingly familiar and intimate."-Los Angeles Times
Rezension
"[David] Mitchell is, clearly, a genius. He writes as though at the helm of some perpetual dream machine, can evidently do anything, and his ambition is written in magma across this novel's every page."-The New York Times Book Review
"One of those how-the-holy-hell-did-he-do-it? modern classics that no doubt is-and should be-read by any student of contemporary literature."-Dave Eggers
"Wildly entertaining . . . a head rush, both action-packed and chillingly ruminative."-People
"The novel as series of nested dolls or Chinese boxes, a puzzle-book, and yet-not just dazzling, amusing, or clever but heartbreaking and passionate, too. I've never read anything quite like it, and I'm grateful to have lived, for a while, in all its many worlds."-Michael Chabon
"Cloud Atlas ought to make [Mitchell] famous on both sides of the Atlantic as a writer whose fearlessness is matched by his talent."-The Washington Post Book World
"Thrilling . . . One of the biggest joys in Cloud Atlas is watching Mitchell sashay from genre to genre without a hitch in his dance step."-Boston Sunday Globe
"Grand and elaborate . . . [Mitchell] creates a world and language at once foreign and strange, yet strikingly familiar and intimate."-Los Angeles Times
Portrait
David Mitchell, geboren 1969 in Southport, Lancaster, studierte Literatur an der University of Kent, promovierte in Komparatistik, lebte in Sizilien, Japan und Irland. Er gehört zu jenen polyglotten jungen britischen Autoren, deren Thema nichts weniger als die Welt ist. Für sein Werk wurde er u.a. mit dem Llewelyn Rhys Prize ausgezeichnet, zweimal stand er auf der Booker Shortlist. Sein Weltbestseller 'Wolkenatlas' wurde von Tom Tykwer und den Wachowski-Geschistern verfilmt.
… weiterlesen
In den Warenkorb
Filialabholung

Versandkostenfrei

Beschreibung

Produktdetails


Einband gebundene Ausgabe
Seitenzahl 528
Erscheinungsdatum 01.11.2012
Sprache Englisch
ISBN 978-0-8129-9471-1
Reihe Modern Library
Verlag Random House LCC US
Maße (L/B/H) 211/141/38 mm
Gewicht 650
Buch (gebundene Ausgabe, Englisch)
16,99
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Sofort lieferbar
Versandkostenfrei
In den Warenkorb
Filialabholung

Versandkostenfrei

Andere Kunden interessierten sich auch für

  • 6110691
    Cloud Atlas
    von David Mitchell
    (2)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    8,99
  • 44106362
    Go Set a Watchman
    von Harper Lee
    (2)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    5,99
  • 43823588
    Britannia
    von Simon Scarrow
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    7,99
  • 3775151
    To Kill a Mockingbird
    von Harper Lee
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    6,99
  • 39205021
    The Bone Clocks
    von David Mitchell
    Buch (gebundene Ausgabe)
    22,99
  • 54525720
    The Underground Railroad
    von Colson Whitehead
    (5)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    6,99
  • 44519386
    Slade House
    von David Mitchell
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    5,99
  • 43715864
    The Last Kingdom 10. The Flame Bearer
    von Bernard Cornwell
    (2)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    6,99
  • 19678819
    The Bell Jar
    von Sylvia Plath
    (3)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    6,99
  • 1822692
    Number 9 Dream. ( Number9dream)
    von David Mitchell
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    8,99
  • 37138664
    Century 3. Edge of Eternity
    von Ken Follett
    (2)
    Buch (gebundene Ausgabe)
    20,99 bisher 27,99
  • 31350055
    Carthage
    von Joyce Carol Oates
    Buch (gebundene Ausgabe)
    3,99
  • 46008893
    4 3 2 1 (4321)
    von Paul Auster
    (2)
    Buch (gebundene Ausgabe)
    12,99
  • 17599669
    Beautiful Losers
    von Leonard Cohen
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    9,99
  • 18787858
    The Horse Dancer
    von Jojo Moyes
    (1)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    7,99
  • 43153081
    November 9 (Nine)
    von Colleen Hoover
    (5)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    7,99
  • 34353844
    Arena
    von Simon Scarrow
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    9,99
  • 51785794
    The Gentleman
    von Forrest Leo
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    9,99
  • 43919206
    The Girl in the Glass Tower
    von Elizabeth Fremantle
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    14,99
  • 70728844
    Turtles All the Way Down
    von John Green
    (2)
    Buch (gebundene Ausgabe)
    13,99

Kundenbewertungen


Es wurden noch keine Bewertungen geschrieben.

Wird oft zusammen gekauft

Cloud Atlas - David Mitchell

Cloud Atlas

von David Mitchell

Buch (gebundene Ausgabe, Englisch)
16,99
+
=
The Blonde Geisha - Jina Bacarr

The Blonde Geisha

von Jina Bacarr

Buch (Taschenbuch)
15,99
+
=

für

32,98

inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.

Alle kaufen