Bestellen Sie bis Donnerstag, den 21. Dezember 14:00 Uhr sofort lieferbare Produkte und Sie erhalten Ihr Paket pünktlich bis Heiligabend

Dead Letters

A Novel

A missing woman leads her twin sister on a twisted scavenger hunt in this clever debut novel that will keep you guessing until the end-for readers of Gone Girl and The Girl Before.
"Ahoy, Ava! Welcome home, my sweet jet-setting twin! So glad you were able to wrest yourself away from your dazzling life in the City of Light; I hope my 'death' hasn't interrupted anything too crucial."
Ava Antipova has her reasons for running away: a failing family vineyard, a romantic betrayal, a mercurial sister, an absent father, a mother slipping into dementia. In Paris, Ava renounces her terribly practical undergraduate degree, acquires a French boyfriend and a taste for much better wine, and erases her past. Two years later, she must return to upstate New York. Her twin sister, Zelda, is dead.
Even in a family of alcoholics, Zelda Antipova was the wild one, notorious for her mind games and destructive behavior. Stuck tending the vineyard and the girls' increasingly unstable mother, Zelda was allegedly burned alive when she passed out in the barn with a lit cigarette. But Ava finds the official explanation a little too neat. A little too Zelda. Then she receives a cryptic message-from her sister.
Just as Ava suspected, Zelda's playing one of her games. In fact, she's outdone herself, leaving a series of clues about her disappearance. With the police stuck on a red herring, Ava follows the trail laid just for her, thinking like her sister, keeping her secrets, immersing herself in Zelda's drama and her outlandish circle of friends and lovers. Along the way, Zelda forces her twin to confront their twisted history and the boy who broke Ava's heart. But why? Is Zelda trying to punish Ava for leaving, or to teach her a lesson? Or is she simply trying to write her own ending?
Featuring a colorful, raucous cast of characters, Caite Dolan-Leach's debut thriller takes readers on a literary scavenger hunt for clues concealed throughout the seemingly idyllic wine country, hidden in plain sight on social media, and buried at the heart of one tremendously dysfunctional, utterly unforgettable family.
New and noteworthy in USA Today!
"Dolan-Leach's clever thriller explores the fraying ties that bind twin sisters. . . . Readers will enjoy this full-bodied novel about a family of vintners."-The New York Times Book Review
"The disappearance of Ava's wild-child twin is just the beginning of this roller-coaster read that's as enthralling as it is WTF?!"-Cosmopolitan
"Ava, the star of this atmospheric debut, isn't convinced her calculating twin sister, Zelda, is really dead-especially after she starts getting enigmatic emails from Zelda's account, propelling her on a complicated hunt for the truth."-Entertainment Weekly ("The Must List")
"We do love a good mystery, and Dolan-Leach's debut novel is a prime example of the form. . . . Dead Letters centers around the most dysfunctional of families, and reading it feels like embarking on a literary scavenger hunt that you never want to end."-Nylon
"Dolan-Leach's debut reads like an Agatha Christie novel set in a world with internet access. . . . The action unfolds with a kind of playful theatricality and cleverness that is totally and utterly engrossing."-i-D (Vice)
"Dolan-Leach nimbly entwines the clever mystery of Agatha Christie, the wit of Dorothy Parker, and the inebriated Gothic of Eugene O'Neill."-Kirkus Reviews
Rezension
"[Caite] Dolan-Leach's clever thriller explores the fraying ties that bind twin sisters. . . . Readers will enjoy this full-bodied novel about a family of vintners."-The New York Times Book Review
"The disappearance of Ava's wild-child twin is just the beginning of this roller-coaster read that's as enthralling as it is WTF?!"-Cosmopolitan
"Ava, the star of this atmospheric debut, isn't convinced her calculating twin sister, Zelda, is really dead-especially after she starts getting enigmatic emails from Zelda's account, propelling her on a complicated hunt for the truth."-Entertainment Weekly ("The Must List")
"We do love a good mystery, and Dolan-Leach's debut novel is a prime example of the form. . . . Dead Letters centers around the most dysfunctional of families, and reading it feels like embarking on a literary scavenger hunt that you never want to end."-Nylon
"Caite Dolan-Leach's debut reads like an Agatha Christie novel set in a world with internet access. . . . The action unfolds with a kind of playful theatricality and cleverness that is totally and utterly engrossing."-i-D (Vice)
"Considering questions of identity, loyalty, and reliance, Dolan-Leach's tautly crafted crime debut will resonate with fans of Gillian Flynn's and Paula Hawkins's domestic psychological thrillers."-Booklist
"Dolan-Leach's debut is a smart, dazzling mystery with a twist that not only shines a new light on the novel's title but also leaves the reader hunting for the next clue. Dolan-Leach revels in toying with both Ava and her audience, placing small hints and red herrings throughout her text, and the result is captivating."-Publishers Weekly (starred review)
"[Dead Letters] is a suspense novel about the closeness of twins and about the clever games they play upon each other, even after one of them dies-or does she? I enjoyed its cleverness and was absolutely swept up in the treasure hunt feel, which is also a cover for still gaping emotional wounds the narrator thinks she can escape but, in fact, has no chance of doing. So far, it's my favorite crime debut of 2017, and it will take a lot to change this."-Sarah Weinman, The Crime Lady blog
"A smart and twisty thriller that will keep you guessing right up to the ending."-PopSugar
"Every page of Dead Letters is flush with push-pull tension; it's an incredibly well-crafted high stakes scavenger hunt of emotional wounds, asking the big questions about intimacy and loyalty. I love this book on so many levels. We are so lucky that this debut novelist chose to shine her light on that most inescapable, infuriating dichotomy: Are you a good girl or a bad girl?"-Caroline Kepnes, author of Hidden Bodies and You
"In this, her startling debut novel, Dolan-Leach nimbly entwines the clever mystery of Agatha Christie, the wit of Dorothy Parker, and the inebriated Gothic of Eugene O'Neill. A sharp, wrenching tale of the true love only twins know."-Kirkus Reviews
"Dead Letters by Caite Dolan-Leach is a perfectly orchestrated cat-and-mouse thriller that will keep you guessing until the very last chapter. This beautifully written novel draws you in like you are part of the story itself, living and breathing alongside the compelling characters as they uncover the dark secrets of their complicated family. Dead Letters unfolds with meticulous precision. Not to be missed!"-Wendy Walker, author of All is Not Forgotten
"An exceptionally smart debut, Dead Letters by Caite Dolan-Leach is about estranged twin sisters playing a deadly cat-and-mouse game on their family's upstate New York vineyard, turning up long-buried family secrets, hidden terrors, and a tantalizing love triangle-a story that kept me guessing and compulsively turning pages to reach its surprising and very satisfying end."-Carla Buckley, author of The Good Goodbye
"Dead Letters is a masterful debut with the taut seductive magic of a classic mystery. Through a daring game of hide-and-seek, Dolan-Leach charts the intr
… weiterlesen
In den Warenkorb
Filialabholung

Versandkostenfrei

Beschreibung

Produktdetails


Einband Taschenbuch
Seitenzahl 352
Erscheinungsdatum 14.03.2017
Sprache Englisch
ISBN 978-0-399-59123-5
Verlag Random House LCC US
Maße (L/B/H) 231/151/30 mm
Gewicht 403
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
12,99
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Sofort lieferbar
Versandkostenfrei
In den Warenkorb
Filialabholung

Versandkostenfrei

Andere Kunden interessierten sich auch für

  • 46700128
    Origin
    von Dan Brown
    (1)
    Buch (gebundene Ausgabe)
    15,99
  • 38930428
    We Were Liars
    von E. Lockhart
    (15)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    7,99 bisher 10,49
  • 46694378
    One of Us Is Lying
    von Karen M. McManus
    (4)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    7,99
  • 51785838
    A Column of Fire
    von Ken Follett
    Buch (gebundene Ausgabe)
    18,99
  • 42769827
    The Girl on the Train
    von Paula Hawkins
    (16)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    6,99
  • 46700127
    Origin
    von Dan Brown
    Buch (gebundene Ausgabe)
    15,99
  • 48837553
    Without Merit
    von Colleen Hoover
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    9,99
  • 69708562
    The Language of Thorns
    von Leigh Bardugo
    (1)
    Buch (gebundene Ausgabe)
    9,99
  • 56044971
    The Lost Plot
    von Genevieve Cogman
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    7,99
  • 53841670
    Munich
    von Robert A. Harris
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    12,99
  • 64003269
    Artemis
    von Andy Weir
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    11,99
  • 46766520
    Holding
    von Graham Norton
    (3)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    7,99
  • 1749804
    Murder on the Orient Express
    von Agatha Christie
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    5,99
  • 44901783
    The Sympathizer
    von Viet Thanh Nguyen
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    7,99
  • 36899539
    We Were Liars
    von E. Lockhart
    (15)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    7,99
  • 56065515
    Sleeping Beauties
    von Stephen King
    Buch (gebundene Ausgabe)
    17,99
  • 54425144
    A Legacy of Spies
    von John Le Carré
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    12,99
  • 69439252
    The Thirst
    von Jo Nesbo
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    6,99
  • 27356647
    It
    von Stephen King
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    7,99
  • 28115978
    Rivers of London
    von Ben Aaronovitch
    (8)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    6,99

Kundenbewertungen


Es wurden noch keine Bewertungen geschrieben.

Wird oft zusammen gekauft

Dead Letters - Caite Dolan-Leach

Dead Letters

von Caite Dolan-Leach

Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
12,99
+
=
Gone Girl - Gillian Flynn

Gone Girl

von Gillian Flynn

(11)
Buch (Taschenbuch)
6,99
+
=

für

19,98

inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.

Alle kaufen