Sie haben noch keinen tolino eReader? Jetzt informieren.

Here I Am

(1)

The New York Times bestselling new novel about modern family lives from the author of Everything Is Illuminated and Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close

Discover Jonathan Safran Foer's greatest novel yet.

'Towering and glorious: a tale of social, familial and marital breakdown and the End of the World. The funniest literary novel I have ever read' The Times

Jacob and Julia Bloch are about to be tested . . .

By Jacob's grandfather, who won't go quietly into a retirement home.
By the family reunion, that everyone is dreading.
By their son's heroic attempts to get expelled.
And by the sexting affair that will rock their marriage.

A typical modern American family, the Blochs cling together even as they are torn apart. Which is when catastrophe decides to strike . . .

Confronting the enduring question of what it means to be human with inventiveness, playfulness and compassion, Here I Am is a great American family novel for our times, an unmissable read for fans of Jonathan Franzen and Michael Chabon, a masterpiece about how we live now.

'A rich, beautifully written, ambitious and grandly moving novel, which looks both at the world at large and at the deepest concerns of individual lives' Evening Standard

'Lays bare the interior of a marriage with such intelligence and deep feeling and pitiless clarity, it's impossible to read it and not re-examine your own family' Time

'Astonishing. So sad and so funny and so wry' Scotland on Sunday

Rezension
Foer writes like a dream. . . big-hearted, courageous and jaw-droppingly clever
Portrait
Jonathan Safran Foer is the author of Everything Is Illuminated, Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close, Eating Animals and Here I Am. He has also edited a new modern edition of the sacred Jewish Haggadah. Everything Is Illuminated won several literary prizes, including the National Jewish Book Award and the Guardian First Book Award. He edited the anthology A Convergence of Birds: Original Fiction and Poetry Inspired by the Work of Joseph Cornell, and his stories have been published in the Paris Review, Conjunctions and the New Yorker. Jonathan Safran Foer teaches Creative Writing at New York University.
… weiterlesen

Beschreibung

Produktdetails


Format ePUB i
Kopierschutz Ja
Seitenzahl 320 (Printausgabe)
Erscheinungsdatum 06.09.2016
Sprache Englisch
EAN 9780241966372
Verlag Penguin Books Ltd
eBook
8,49
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Sofort per Download lieferbar
In der Cloud verfügbar
Per E-Mail verschenken i

Andere Kunden interessierten sich auch für

  • 45377306
    Hier bin ich
    von Jonathan Safran Foer
    eBook
    22,99
  • 45779580
    Nutshell
    von Ian McEwan
    eBook
    8,49
  • 45121804
    Here I Am
    von Jonathan Safran Foer
    eBook
    6,99
  • 52328227
    All the Rivers
    von Dorit Rabinyan
    eBook
    5,99
  • 29358626
    Extrem laut und unglaublich nah
    von Jonathan Safran Foer
    (64)
    eBook
    9,49
  • 44467470
    Nachts ist es leise in Teheran
    von Shida Bazyar
    eBook
    9,99
  • 44109048
    Madame le Commissaire und der Tod des Polizeichefs
    von Pierre Martin
    (17)
    eBook
    9,99
  • 47516818
    The Terranauts
    von T. C. Boyle
    eBook
    9,49
  • 41198192
    Racheherbst
    von Andreas Gruber
    (28)
    eBook
    8,99
  • 40208963
    Thirteen Reasons Why
    von Jay Asher
    eBook
    6,49
  • 45144622
    The Bricks that Built the Houses
    von Kate Tempest
    eBook
    8,99
  • 45468442
    Fatal Pursuit
    von Martin Walker
    eBook
    4,49
  • 47355715
    Die Stalinorgel
    von Gert Ledig
    eBook
    6,99
  • 42622577
    Leaving Time
    von Jodi Picoult
    eBook
    5,49
  • 23980151
    Tiere essen
    von Jonathan Safran Foer
    (46)
    eBook
    9,99
  • 30320144
    Die Liebeshandlung
    von Jeffrey Eugenides
    (6)
    eBook
    9,99
  • 45121778
    The Subtle Art of Not Giving a F*ck
    von Mark Manson
    eBook
    9,99
  • 45779151
    Home
    von Harlan Coben
    eBook
    6,99
  • 45779156
    Conclave
    von Robert A. Harris
    eBook
    10,99
  • 43515783
    The Hanging Girl
    von Jussi Adler-Olsen
    eBook
    4,49

Kundenbewertungen

Durchschnitt
1 Bewertung
Übersicht
0
1
0
0
0

Here I am
von miss.mesmerized am 02.10.2016
Bewertet: Taschenbuch

How do you define yourself when living a modern life in Washington D.C. and being a Jew? Jacob and Julia do not really struggle with this question, too much does everyday life demand of them. Their three sons Sam, Max and Benji are raised like any other child, but... How do you define yourself when living a modern life in Washington D.C. and being a Jew? Jacob and Julia do not really struggle with this question, too much does everyday life demand of them. Their three sons Sam, Max and Benji are raised like any other child, but some of the Jewish traditions have to be maintained, e.g. Sam’s bar mitzvah and the schooling before the day of becoming a man. While caring for the kids, Jacob and Julia somehow have lost the love they once had and now have to face the end of their marriage. When an earthquake hit the Middle East and Israel as well as the surrounding Muslim countries are struggling to survive, Jacob has to ask himself if he actually leads the life he wants to leave, if he has become the person he wanted to be and most of all, what his religion means to him and how much, in times of greatest emergency, he is willing to give. “Here I am” refers to Abraham’s response to God’s call to sacrifice his son. Jonathan Safran Foer’s latest novel is deeply religious and spiritual – on the one hand. On the other, we have an average family who struggles to remain what they are and not to forget their individual needs because of every day’s demands. And thirdly, it is highly political since it portrays typical reactions of Middle East countries and raises the question of what is acceptable. Quite some topics all in one books. This sounds a bit too much and, actually, it is. At some points, I had the impression the author has lost the track and roams around not knowing where to go exactly. Then again, we have very acute observations and descriptions, also the very appealing typical Jewish humour makes you take a deep breath because you can hardly believe that anybody could really dare to pronounce what has been said. The strongest aspects of the novel are for me definitely the account of what happens in Israel and the area around after the earthquake. Frighteningly, I believe that the countries in question would react exactly in the Way Jonathan Safran Foer shows them. Ignorant, selfish, despicable, inhumane. The unwillingness to seek enduring peace in the region, no matter who is to blame, is something which must be criticised in all possible ways. Literature should be one of them. The second interesting question is the one of identity of Jews not living in Israel. How can they stick to the traditions, what happens to the old rites when being a minority in a non-Jewish country, how strong are the bonds between Jews and Israel – when though they have never lived there. And to what extent are they also defined by what the Israel government does? The last is a question every couple has to confront at a certain point in their relationship: how can you save the initial state of being in love over many years and how can you hinder it from vanishing slowly and unnoticed? A lot of food for thought in this novel. At points, it is hilarious, at others poignant. Jonathan Safran Foer can without the slightest hesitation be considered one of the best American writers of first decades of the 21st century. A bit less ambition in this novel and it would have been perfect.


Wird oft zusammen gekauft

Here I Am - Jonathan Safran Foer

Here I Am

von Jonathan Safran Foer

(1)
eBook
8,49
+
=
Schlechte Wörter - Ilse Aichinger

Schlechte Wörter

von Ilse Aichinger

eBook
5,99
+
=

für

14,48

inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.

Alle kaufen