Holding Up the Universe

(12)
A New York Times Bestseller

From the author of the New York Times bestseller All the Bright Places comes a heart-wrenching story about what it means to see someone-and love someone-for who they truly are.

Everyone thinks they know Libby Strout, the girl once dubbed "America's Fattest Teen." But no one's taken the time to look past her weight to get to know who she really is. Following her mom's death, she's been picking up the pieces in the privacy of her home, dealing with her heartbroken father and her own grief. Now, Libby's ready: for high school, for new friends, for love, and for EVERY POSSIBILITY LIFE HAS TO OFFER. In that moment, I know the part I want to play here at MVB High. I want to be the girl who can do anything.

Everyone thinks they know Jack Masselin, too. Yes, he's got swagger, but he's also mastered the impossible art of giving people what they want, of fitting in. What no one knows is that Jack has a newly acquired secret: he can't recognize faces. Even his own brothers are strangers to him. He's the guy who can re-engineer and rebuild anything in new and bad-ass ways, but he can't understand what's going on with the inner workings of his brain. So he tells himself to play it cool: Be charming. Be hilarious. Don't get too close to anyone.

Until he meets Libby. When the two get tangled up in a cruel high school game-which lands them in group counseling and community service-Libby and Jack are both pissed, and then surprised. Because the more time they spend together, the less alone they feel. . . . Because sometimes when you meet someone, it changes the world, theirs and yours.

Jennifer Niven delivers another poignant, exhilarating love story about finding that person who sees you for who you are-and seeing them right back.

"Niven is adept at creating characters. . . . [Libby's] courage and body-positivity make for a joyful reading experience." --The New York Times

"Holding Up the Universe . . . taps into the universal need to be understood. To be wanted. And that's what makes it such a remarkable read." -TeenVogue.com, "Why New Book Holding Up the Universe Is the Next The Fault in Our Stars"

"Want a love story that will give you all the feels? . . . You'll seriously melt!" -Seventeen Magazine
Rezension
★ "[Niven] creates two indelible characters and a heart-stopping romance." -Publishers Weekly starred review

★ "Written in short chapters of alternating perspectives, this is a thoughtful exploration of identity and self-acceptance, with commentary on overcoming adversities that will hit close to home." -School Library Journal starred review

★ "This is a worthy addition to any young adult collection; the story is engaging and difficult to put down." -VOYA starred review

"Niven's honest writing shares a story of friendship, confidence, strength, and identity-and it's not one to be missed." -Buzzfeed.com

"Libby and Jack are two characters who will reach out of the page and climb into your heart! . . . [A] beautiful love story." -Justine Magazine

"A novel about love and how important it is to be seen." -Popsugar.com

"Moving. . . . The true heart of the tale lies in personal growth and learning to love yourself." -Bookish.com

"I've never fallen in love with characters as fast as I fell for Libby and Jack. . . . Holding Up the Universe is a beautiful reminder of the power of understanding." -Jay Asher, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Thirteen Reasons Why

"Gorgeously written and oh-so-deeply felt, Holding Up the Universe contains one of my favorite characters of all time! You will absolutely fall in love with Libby Strout!" -Nicola Yoon, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Everything, Everything

"At once hilarious and achingly poignant, Jennifer Niven's Holding up the Universe brims with love and heart and hope. A gorgeous, life-affirming book that-like its lovable and resilient main character, Libby-will make you want to open your arms wide, lift your face to the sky, and twirl." -Kerry Kletter, author of The First Time She Drowned

Praise for All the Bright Places:

"[A] heartbreaking love story about two funny, fragile, and wildly damaged high school kids." -Entertainment Weekly

"A do-not-miss for fans of Eleanor & Park and The Fault in Our Stars, and basically anyone who can breathe." -Justine Magazine

"At the heart-a big one-of All the Bright Places lies a charming love story about this unlikely and endearing pair of broken teenagers." -The New York Times Book Review
Portrait
Jennifer Niven wuchs in Indiana auf. Heute lebt die Autorin mit ihrem Verlobten in Los Angeles, wo sie 2000 das Schreiben zu ihrem Hauptberuf machte.
… weiterlesen
In den Warenkorb
Filialabholung

Versandkostenfrei

Beschreibung

Produktdetails


Einband Taschenbuch
Seitenzahl 400
Altersempfehlung 14 - 17
Erscheinungsdatum 04.10.2016
Sprache Englisch
ISBN 978-1-5247-0108-6
Reihe Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers
Verlag Random House LCC US
Maße (L/B/H) 20,9/13,9/3,2 cm
Gewicht 400 g
Verkaufsrang 3.252
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
8,99
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Sofort lieferbar
Versandkostenfrei
In den Warenkorb
Filialabholung

Versandkostenfrei

Andere Kunden interessierten sich auch für

  • Holding Up the Universe
    von Jennifer Niven
    (12)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    7,99
  • Holding Up the Universe
    von Jennifer Niven
    (12)
    Buch (gebundene Ausgabe)
    16,99
  • I'll Give You the Sun
    von Jandy Nelson
    (2)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    7,99
  • Anna and the French Kiss
    von Stephanie Perkins
    (6)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    6,99
  • Heartless
    von Marissa Meyer
    (4)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    8,99
  • I Hate Everyone But You
    von Gaby Dunn, Allison Raskin
    Buch (gebundene Ausgabe)
    13,99
  • The Sun is Also a Star
    von Nicola Yoon
    (7)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    7,99
  • We Were Liars
    von E. Lockhart
    (17)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    8,99
    bisher 10,49
  • Autoboyography
    von Christina Lauren
    (2)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    7,99
  • Fangirl
    von Rainbow Rowell
    (19)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    7,99
  • The Hate U Give
    von Angie Thomas
    (6)
    Buch (gebundene Ausgabe)
    9,99
  • The Smell of Other People's Houses
    von Bonnie-Sue Hitchcock
    (3)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    6,99
  • If I Was Your Girl
    von Meredith Russo
    (1)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    7,99
  • Will Grayson, Will Grayson
    von John Green, David Levithan
    (8)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    8,99
  • To Kill a Kingdom
    von Alexandra Christo
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    7,99
  • All the Bright Places
    von Jennifer Niven
    (6)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    7,99
  • Everything, Everything
    von Nicola Yoon
    (3)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    7,99
  • Highly Illogical Behaviour
    von John Corey Whaley
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    7,99
  • Holding Up the Universe
    von Jennifer Niven
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    8,99
  • Carry On
    von Rainbow Rowell
    (11)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    7,99

Wird oft zusammen gekauft

Holding Up the Universe

Holding Up the Universe

von Jennifer Niven
(12)
Buch (Taschenbuch)
8,99
+
=
Extraordinary Means

Extraordinary Means

von Robyn Schneider
(3)
Buch (Taschenbuch)
6,99
+
=

für

15,98

inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.

Alle kaufen

Buchhändler-Empfehlungen

Lisa Viniol, Thalia-Buchhandlung Marburg

Ein All-Age-Roman voller Tiefe und frei von Oberflächlichkeiten. Bewegend und schön. Ein All-Age-Roman voller Tiefe und frei von Oberflächlichkeiten. Bewegend und schön.

„Wow!“

Judith Fekete, Thalia-Buchhandlung Darmstadt

Selten habe ich eine Geschichte mit so unglaublich authentischen, liebevollen Charakteren gelesen. Man ist ab der ersten Seite im Geschehen gefangen und ich konnte das Buch gar nicht aus der Hand legen.
Libby ist ein so tolles Mädchen, man mag sie am liebsten sofort als Freundin haben.
Wenn du also ein besondere Geschichte mit riiiiiichtig viel Herz suchst, lies dieses Buch!
Selten habe ich eine Geschichte mit so unglaublich authentischen, liebevollen Charakteren gelesen. Man ist ab der ersten Seite im Geschehen gefangen und ich konnte das Buch gar nicht aus der Hand legen.
Libby ist ein so tolles Mädchen, man mag sie am liebsten sofort als Freundin haben.
Wenn du also ein besondere Geschichte mit riiiiiichtig viel Herz suchst, lies dieses Buch!

„Love always finds a way“

Lena Lang, Thalia-Buchhandlung Ludwigshafen

It is impossible to NOT fall in love with Jack and Libby.

Libby, a heavily overweight girl, who returns to highschool after 4 years of absent.
Jack, popular enought to not get bullied and to fit in, but what no one knows about him: he is face blind.

And those to meet and form a friendship that overcome any prejudices.
A story about friendship and love so sweet the heart is almost not able to handle it. Almost.

I learnt a lot reading this well researched and also beautiful written book.
It is impossible to NOT fall in love with Jack and Libby.

Libby, a heavily overweight girl, who returns to highschool after 4 years of absent.
Jack, popular enought to not get bullied and to fit in, but what no one knows about him: he is face blind.

And those to meet and form a friendship that overcome any prejudices.
A story about friendship and love so sweet the heart is almost not able to handle it. Almost.

I learnt a lot reading this well researched and also beautiful written book.

Kundenbewertungen

Durchschnitt
12 Bewertungen
Übersicht
10
2
0
0
0

Holding up the universe - you won't be able to stop.
von einer Kundin/einem Kunden aus Winterthur am 19.12.2017
Bewertet: gebundene Ausgabe

What a great book from Jennifer Niven, I've read it within one day! Libby's and Jack's story is one you won't forget so fast and gets you thinking about your own reactions to stuff like that.

Holding up the universe
von einer Kundin/einem Kunden aus Chemnitz am 18.12.2017
Bewertet: Taschenbuch

Ich habe das Buch an meine Nichte ( 17 Jahre) verschenkt, sie war begeistert von der Story. Einfache Bestellung und schnelle Lieferung!

Sehr schön und vor allem herzlich süß
von einer Kundin/einem Kunden am 16.11.2017
Bewertet: eBook (ePUB)

Holding up the Universe ist ein schönes Buch für zwischendurch. Libby mit ihrem starken Selbstbewusstsein und ihrem tollen Humor lässt einen als Leser des öfteren Schmunzeln.