Thalia.de

Longbourn

A novel

- Pride and Prejudice was only half the story -
If Elizabeth Bennet had the washing of her own petticoats, Sarah often thought, she'd most likely be a sight more careful with them.
In this irresistibly imagined belowstairs answer to Pride and Prejudice, the servants take center stage. Sarah, the orphaned housemaid, spends her days scrubbing the laundry, polishing the floors, and emptying the chamber pots for the Bennet household. But there is just as much romance, heartbreak, and intrigue downstairs at Longbourn as there is upstairs. When a mysterious new footman arrives, the orderly realm of the servants' hall threatens to be completely, perhaps irrevocably, upended.
Jo Baker dares to take us beyond the drawing rooms of Jane Austen's classic-into the often overlooked domain of the stern housekeeper and the starry-eyed kitchen maid, into the gritty daily particulars faced by the lower classes in Regency England during the Napoleonic Wars-and, in doing so, creates a vivid, fascinating, fully realized world that is wholly her own.
Rezension
A Best Book of the Year Selection: New York Times 100 Notable, Seattle Times, The Guardian, The Daily Mail, Kirkus Reviews
"Masterful . . . From the same stream that fed Austen's literary imagination, Baker has drawn forth something entirely new and fresh." - Miami Herald
"Happily, Longbourn is no mere riff but a fully imagined rejoinder to Price and Prejudice . . . Austen would have appreciated Baker's bracing rewrite from the underdog's point of view." - Newsday
"If you are a Jane Austen fan with a pronounced predilection for Pride and Prejudice, you will devour Jo Baker's ingenious Longbourn as the ambrosia from the Austen gods it is . . . It's an idea that could have felt derivative or sycophantic in its execution, and yet the novel is rich, engrossing, and filled with fascinating observation . . . Dive in and you might even forget to watch Downton Abbey. " - O magazine
"Intelligent and elegantly written . . . Longbourn reveals these messy backdrops [of Pride and Prejudice ] while still, in fitting tribute, inventing a touching love story of its own." - Wall Street Journal
"An absorbing and moving story about the servants at Longbourn . . . Both original and charming, even gripping . . . If Charlotte Brontë had taken up the challenge of a sequel to Pride and Prejudice, she might very well have hit upon the sort of broader, more sympathetic point of view Jo Baker has derived from the servants' quarters." -Diane Johnson, New York Times Book Review
" Longbourn is a bold novel, subversive in ways that prove surprising, and brilliant on every level. This is a masterful twist on a classic . . . Much more than a frothy, Downton Abbey -like twist on Austen. This novel is moving, filled with suspense, and impressive for the sympathy with which it explores the drudgery of the servants' lives, as well as their heartaches. That said, there's plenty of Austen-worthy wit too." - USA Today
"Delightful . . . The achievement of Baker's reworking is that Sarah is no mere foil for Elizabeth Bennet; her notions of individual agency and the pursuit of happiness push more forcefully against the class and social strictures of her time than any character in Austen's novel. The result is a heroine whom it's impossible not to root for." - The New Yorker
"A witty, richly detailed re-imagining of Pride and Prejudice . . . Fans of Austen and Downton Abbey will take particular pleasure in Longbourn, but any reader with a taste for well-researched historical fiction will delight in Baker's involving, informative tale." - People
"A triumph: a splendid tribute to Austen's original but, more importantly, a joy in its own right . . . Like Austen, Baker has written an intoxicating love story but, also like Austen, the pleasure of her novel lies in its wit and fierce intelligence . . . Baker not only creates a richly imagined story of her own but recasts Austen's novel in a startlingly fresh light . . . Inspired." - The Guardian
"Diehards who love Jane Austen and Downton Abbey will fan their corseted bosoms while tearing through this novel." - Entertainment Weekly
"The servants have complicated, messy, interesting lives that are every bit as compelling as the Bennet girls' quest for husbands." -NPR "Weekend Edition"
"Irresistible . . . Sequels and prequels rarely add to the original, but Baker's simple yet inspired reimagining does. It has best-seller stamped all over it." - Kirkus Reviews (starred)
" Longbourn is a really special book, and not only because its author writes like an angel. Its real achievement is to circumnavigate the world of Austen knock-offs and return, like Francis Drake, with a hold full of treasure . . . There are some wildly sad and romantic moments; I was sobbing by the end . . . A beautiful book." - Daily Mail (UK)
" Longbourn is told with glee and great wit, and will delight diehard Austen fans." - The Daily Beast
"Inspired . . . This is a genuinely fresh perspective on the tale of th
Portrait
Jo Baker wurde in Lancashire geboren und studierte an der Oxford University und der Queen's University in Belfast, wo sie ihre Leidenschaft fürs Schreiben entdeckte. Seither veröffentlichte sie mehrere Romane, die ihr in der Presse viel Lob einbrachten. Jo Baker lebt mit ihrer Familie in Lancaster.
… weiterlesen
In den Warenkorb
Filialabholung

Versandkostenfrei

Bezahlung bei Abholung

Beschreibung

Produktdetails


Einband Taschenbuch
Seitenzahl 464
Erscheinungsdatum 01.12.2013
Sprache Englisch
ISBN 978-0-8041-7161-8
Verlag Random House LCC US
Maße (L/B/H) 174/108/40 mm
Gewicht 218
Verkaufsrang 390
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
6,59
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Sofort lieferbar
Versandkostenfrei
In den Warenkorb
Filialabholung

Versandkostenfrei

Bezahlung bei Abholung

Andere Kunden interessierten sich auch für

  • 36855897
    Longbourn
    von Jo Baker
    (2)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    6,99
  • 43715864
    The Last Kingdom 10. The Flame Bearer
    von Bernard Cornwell
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    6,99
  • 30629055
    The Song of Achilles
    von Madeline Miller
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    8,69 bisher 9,99
  • 45290434
    The Underground Railroad
    von Colson Whitehead
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    13,69
  • 46298464
    Lincoln in the Bardo
    von George Saunders
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    12,99
  • 3553288
    The Siege of Krishnapur
    von J. G. Farrell
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    8,89
  • 46384862
    Homegoing
    von Yaa Gyasi
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    8,99
  • 41651205
    Blood Meridian
    von Cormac McCarthy
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    8,29
  • 14096336
    The Pillars of the Earth.
    von Ken Follett
    (3)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    8,04
  • 3554130
    The Singapore Grip
    von J.G. Farrell
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    11,99
  • 46525314
    Days Without End
    von Sebastian Barry
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    6,99
  • 15352075
    World Without End
    von Ken Follett
    (2)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    6,99
  • 40059648
    The Architect's Apprentice
    von Elif Shafak
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    9,99
  • 46119876
    The Underground Railroad
    von Colson Whitehead
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    6,99
  • 54525720
    The Underground Railroad
    von Colson Whitehead
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    6,99
  • 43715863
    The Flame Bearer
    von Bernard Cornwell
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    8,89
  • 46370720
    War and Peace (Vintage Classic Russians Series)
    von Leo Tolstoy
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    9,99
  • 33182308
    The Kingmaker's Daughter
    von Philippa Gregory
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    6,49
  • 41127020
    Drums of Autumn
    von Diana Gabaldon
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    6,99
  • 15575880
    Le Morte D'Arthur
    von Thomas Malory
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    8,99

Buchhändler-Empfehlungen

Kristiane Müller, Thalia-Buchhandlung Hamburg

Der Blick durch die Dienstbotentür gewährt eine neue Sicht auf vertraute Figuren.
So hat man die Bennets noch nicht gesehen.
Der Blick durch die Dienstbotentür gewährt eine neue Sicht auf vertraute Figuren.
So hat man die Bennets noch nicht gesehen.

„Perspectives from the other side“

Vanessa Pludra, Thalia-Buchhandlung Berlin

You all know Jane Austens most favourite novel „Pride and Prejudice“. Well now it’s time to see Austens world fro another perspective because Jo Bakers decided to write her story from the point of view of the servants. I’m a big fan of the original story by Jane Austen and I thought that Bakers found a very special and new way to adapt You all know Jane Austens most favourite novel „Pride and Prejudice“. Well now it’s time to see Austens world fro another perspective because Jo Bakers decided to write her story from the point of view of the servants. I’m a big fan of the original story by Jane Austen and I thought that Bakers found a very special and new way to adapt this all-time classic. The main focus lies really on the servants, but you could still find amazing new sides of the original characters. I thought that especially Mr. and Mrs. Bennett were filled with new life and a background you would never imagine from the original. But even if you’re not a “Pride and Prejudice” lover you can still enjoy reading this story because you don’t need any information to understand what’s going on in “Longbourn” and I also really liked the plot that wasn’t connected to the original novel. “Longbourn” is a really nice historical novel that of course captures the interest of Austen lovers like me, but also shows a side which you don’t get to see often in other historical stories. I can only highly recommend it!

Kundenbewertungen


Es wurden noch keine Bewertungen geschrieben.

Wird oft zusammen gekauft

Longbourn

Longbourn

von Jo Baker

Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
6,59
+
=
The Crucible

The Crucible

von Arthur Miller

Schulbuch (Taschenbuch)
5,80
+
=

für

12,39

inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.

Alle kaufen