The Memory of Lost Senses

An unforgettable novel of buried secrets from the past

Review

1911. A country house. A long, hot summer. A story of love...

From the author of The Snow Globe, comes an absorbing, evocative and rich period drama of buried secrets and lost love in an Edwardian summer. The Memory of Lost Senses is perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Rachel Hore.

'Witty, clever and compelling, with a beautiful love story at its heart' - Jane Harris

When a mysterious countess arrives late in life to live at a large, deserted house on the edge of a sleepy Hampshire village, the local tongues start wagging. No one is more intrigued than Cecily Chadwick, idling away the long, hot summer of 1911 with nothing much to do. Cecily is fascinated by the exotic elderly lady and, as she gets to know her, is riveted by her tales of expatriate life on the continent, and of whom she once knew. But the countess is troubled: by her memories, her name, and by anonymous threats to reveal a ruinous secret...

It is, she has decided, up to her close friend, a successful novelist who has come to stay for the summer, to put the record straight. For aspiring writer Cecily, the novelist's presence only adds to the intrigue and pull of the house. But it is the countess's grandson, Jack, his unanswered questions about his grandmother's past and his desire to know the truth, that draw Cecily further into the tangled web of the countess's life, and the place known as Temple Hill

What readers are saying about The Memory of Lost Senses

'Oh, how I loved these characters when the story was lifted from the pages to me, crafted in Judith's clear narrative voice'

'A story of love, passion and memories - often unreliable - beautifully told with an effortless languorous feel as the history and drama unfolds'

A well-structured novel that has been so beautifully written it is well worthy of five stars

… weiterlesen

Beschreibung

Produktdetails


Format ePUB i
Kopierschutz kopiergeschützt
Seitenzahl 294, (Printausgabe)
Erscheinungsdatum 28.02.2013
Serie Review
Sprache Englisch
EAN 9780755386048
Verlag Headline
eBook
4,49
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Sofort per Download lieferbar
In der Cloud verfügbar
Per E-Mail verschenken i

Andere Kunden interessierten sich auch für

  • 44201009
    Das Hotel in den Highlands
    von Caroline Dunford
    (4)
    eBook
    4,99
  • 42606457
    The Last Summer
    von Judith Kinghorn
    eBook
    6,49
  • 42741997
    Die Rose von Eden Hall
    von Judith Kinghorn
    eBook
    8,99
  • 30902293
    A Nurse's Duty
    von Maggie Hope
    eBook
    8,49
  • 34048357
    The Choice
    von Nicholas Sparks
    eBook
    4,49
  • 64535089
    Come Sundown
    von Nora Roberts
    eBook
    9,99
  • 42741847
    Frühlingsnächte
    von Debbie Macomber
    (9)
    eBook
    8,99
  • 32211347
    The Handmaid's Tale
    von Margaret Atwood
    eBook
    8,49
  • 46057399
    4 3 2 1
    von Paul Auster
    eBook
    7,49
  • 45670105
    Underground Railroad
    von Colson Whitehead
    eBook
    8,49
  • 46675775
    This Was a Man
    von Jeffrey Archer
    eBook
    5,55 bisher 7,49
  • 45121783
    The Bookshop on the Corner
    von Jenny Colgan
    eBook
    10,31
  • 50883523
    The Map That Leads to You
    von J. P. Monninger
    (1)
    eBook
    7,09 bisher 11,49
  • 44979655
    Swing Time
    von Zadie Smith
    (7)
    eBook
    10,99
  • 70425805
    Begin Again
    von Mona Kasten
    eBook
    9,99
  • 43886169
    Cometh the Hour
    von Jeffrey Archer
    eBook
    4,69
  • 80029745
    Mightier than the Sword
    von Jeffrey Archer
    eBook
    5,99
  • 43506920
    The Sympathizer
    von Viet Thanh Nguyen
    eBook
    6,49
  • 79321360
    The Golden House
    von Salman Rushdie
    eBook
    12,99

Kundenbewertungen


Es wurden noch keine Bewertungen geschrieben.

Wird oft zusammen gekauft

The Memory of Lost Senses - Judith Kinghorn

The Memory of Lost Senses

von Judith Kinghorn

eBook
4,49
+
=
My Not So Perfect Life - Sophie Kinsella

My Not So Perfect Life

von Sophie Kinsella

(5)
eBook
3,99
+
=

für

8,48

inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.

Alle kaufen