Nina is Not OK

Nominiert: Jhalak Prize 2017

(1)
Nina does not have a drinking problem. She likes a drink, sure. But what 17-year-old doesn't?

Nina's mum isn't so sure. But she's busy with her new husband and five year old Katie. And Nina's almost an adult after all.

And if Nina sometimes wakes up with little memory of what happened the night before, then her friends are all too happy to fill in the blanks. Nina's drunken exploits are the stuff of college legend.

But then one dark Sunday morning, even her friends can't help piece together Saturday night. All Nina feels is a deep sense of shame, that something very bad has happened to her...

A dark, funny - sometimes shocking - coming of age novel from one of the UK's leading comedians. NINA IS NOT O.K. will appeal to fans of Caitlin Moran and Lena Dunham.
Rezension
"Shappi Khorsandi is both funny and shocking, yet above all writes with warmth, giving Nina an intelligent voice. This girl could be you, or your daughter, or your friend, and I defy anyone not to love the endearing, messed-up Nina as she finds her way out of an alcohol-fuelled hell of her own making." Daily Mail
… weiterlesen
In den Warenkorb
Filialabholung

Versandkostenfrei

Beschreibung

Produktdetails


Einband Taschenbuch
Seitenzahl 352
Erscheinungsdatum 09.02.2017
Sprache Englisch
ISBN 978-1-78503-137-3
Verlag Random House UK
Maße (L/B/H) 19,8/12,6/3 cm
Gewicht 247 g
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
7,99
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Sofort lieferbar
Versandkostenfrei
In den Warenkorb
Filialabholung

Versandkostenfrei

Andere Kunden interessierten sich auch für

  • The Handmaid's Tale
    von Margaret Atwood
    Schulbuch (Kunststoff-Einband)
    9,99
  • Nina is Not OK
    von Shappi Khorsandi
    (1)
    Buch (gebundene Ausgabe)
    14,99
  • Milk and Honey
    von Rupi Kaur
    (6)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    12,99
    bisher 14,99
  • Atwoods the Handmaids Tale & O
    von Sharon R. (EDT)/ Friedman, Thomas B. (EDT) Wilson
    Buch (gebundene Ausgabe)
    39,99
  • Piecing Me Together
    von Renee Watson
    Buch (gebundene Ausgabe)
    14,99
  • Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe
    von Benjamin Alire Saenz
    (12)
    Buch (gebundene Ausgabe)
    18,99
  • 4 3 2 1 (4321)
    von Paul Auster
    (4)
    Buch (gebundene Ausgabe)
    12,99
  • A Quiet Kind of Thunder
    von Sara Barnard
    (1)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    7,99
  • Race
    von Toni Morrison
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    3,99
  • English G Access - Allgemeine Ausgabe / Band 1: 5. Schuljahr - Workbook mit Audios online und MyBook
    von Jennifer Seidl
    Schulbuch (Taschenbuch)
    9,50
  • Playway 3. Jahrgangsstufe 3. Activity Book mit Audio-CD
    (1)
    Schulbuch (Kunststoff-Einband)
    10,75
  • English G Lighthouse - Allgemeine Ausgabe / Band 1: 5. Schuljahr - Workbook mit Audios online
    von Gwen Berwick, Sydney Thorne
    Schulbuch (Taschenbuch)
    9,75
  • Playway 4. Ab Klasse 3
    Schulbuch (Kunststoff-Einband)
    10,75
  • English G Access - Allgemeine Ausgabe / Band 3: 7. Schuljahr - Workbook mit Audios online
    von Jennifer Seidl
    Schulbuch (Taschenbuch)
    9,50
  • English G Lighthouse - Allgemeine Ausgabe / Band 2: 6. Schuljahr - Workbook mit Audios online
    von Gwen Berwick
    (2)
    Schulbuch (Taschenbuch)
    9,75
  • English G 21 - Ausgabe D / Band 1: 5. Schuljahr - Workbook mit Audios online
    von Jennifer Seidl
    (1)
    Schulbuch (Taschenbuch)
    10,75
  • English G Access - Allgemeine Ausgabe / Band 2: 6. Schuljahr - Workbook mit Audios online
    von Jennifer Seidl
    Schulbuch (Taschenbuch)
    9,50
  • Playway 3. Jahrgangsstufe 3. Pupil's Book
    Schulbuch (Kunststoff-Einband)
    11,50
  • English G Lighthouse - Allgemeine Ausgabe / Band 3: 7. Schuljahr - Workbook mit Audios online
    von Gwen Berwick
    Schulbuch (Taschenbuch)
    9,75
  • English G Lighthouse - Allgemeine Ausgabe / Band 4: 8. Schuljahr - Workbook mit Audios online
    von Gwen Berwick, Sydney Thorne
    (2)
    Schulbuch (Taschenbuch)
    9,75

Wird oft zusammen gekauft

Nina is Not OK

Nina is Not OK

von Shappi Khorsandi
Buch (Taschenbuch)
7,99
+
=
Oranges Are Not The Only Fruit

Oranges Are Not The Only Fruit

von Jeanette Winterson
Buch (Taschenbuch)
8,99
+
=

für

16,98

inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.

Alle kaufen

Kundenbewertungen

Durchschnitt
1 Bewertung
Übersicht
0
1
0
0
0

Nina is not OK
von miss.mesmerized am 23.07.2016
Bewertet: gebundene Ausgabe

17-year old Nina is suffering from her boyfriend breaking up with her. He went to spend a gap year in Hong Kong and already on the plane met another girl. Nina tries to get over him by partying hard and drinking until losing consciousness. More and more often she... 17-year old Nina is suffering from her boyfriend breaking up with her. He went to spend a gap year in Hong Kong and already on the plane met another girl. Nina tries to get over him by partying hard and drinking until losing consciousness. More and more often she already needs alcohol at lunch or even for breakfast. Repeatedly, she cannot remember what happened while she passed out, if she slept with some guys or not. She completely loses contact with reality when her family moves away and leave her alone in London with her friend Beth's family. After she approached Beth' father when being drunk another time, her family sends her to rehab. But the way back into reality is a lot harder than all of them imagined, especially since life in the time of the Internet has much more to offer than a mistake made at the weekend. This novel quite often is no fun at all. You read about a girl losing control, you want to prevent her from doing what she does, but just like her friends, you cannot do anything about it, you stand there helplessly having to watch what's happening. This is how you must feel when this happens to somebody close to you in real life. Being addicted is shown in an unembellished way. This makes the plot quite realistic. What I appreciated most was the fact that there is no easy happy-end with everybody loving everybody else again quickly. The author really shows how hard the way back is and thus illustrates that booze is nothing to go easy about. The stress is on Nina's emotional state which shows an addicted not as a despicable person but somebody like you and me. Therefore, I think this can really be a novel for teenagers who might underestimate what too much drinking can do to your life.