Nutzen Sie unsere Filialabholung und erhalten Sie diesen Artikel versandkostenfrei in Ihrer Filiale!

Salt to the Sea

A Novel

New York Times Bestseller! "Masterfully crafted" - The Wall Street Journal
For readers of Between Shades of Gray and All the Light We Cannot See , bestselling author Ruta Sepetys returns to WWII in this epic novel that shines a light on one of the war's most devastating-yet unknown-tragedies.
World War II is drawing to a close in East Prussia and thousands of refugees are on a desperate trek toward freedom, many with something to hide. Among them are Joana, Emilia, and Florian, whose paths converge en route to the ship that promises salvation, the Wilhelm Gustloff. Forced by circumstance to unite, the three find their strength, courage, and trust in each other tested with each step closer to safety.
Just when it seems freedom is within their grasp, tragedy strikes. Not country, nor culture, nor status matter as all ten thousand people-adults and children alike-aboard must fight for the same thing: survival.
Told in alternating points of view and perfect for fans of Anthony Doerr's Pulitzer Prize-winning All the Light We Cannot See , Erik Larson's Dead Wake , and Elizabeth Wein's Printz Honor Book Code Name Verity , this masterful work of historical fiction is inspired by the real-life tragedy that was the sinking of the Wilhelm Gustloff - the greatest maritime disaster in history. As she did in Between Shades of Gray , Ruta Sepetys unearths a shockingly little-known casualty of a gruesome war, and proves that humanity and love can prevail, even in the darkest of hours.
Praise for Salt to the Sea :
Featured on NPR's Morning Edition ♦ "Superlative...masterfully crafted...[a] powerful work of historical fiction."- The Wall Street Journal ♦ "[Sepetys is] a master of YA fiction...she once again anchors a panoramic view of epic tragedy in perspectives that feel deeply textured and immediate."- Entertainment Weekly ♦ "Riveting...powerful...haunting."- The Washington Post ♦ "Compelling for both adult and teenage readers."- New York Times Book Review ♦ "Intimate, extraordinary, artfully crafted...brilliant."- Shelf Awareness ♦ "Historical fiction at its very, very best."- The Globe and Mail ♦ "[H]aunting, heartbreaking, hopeful and altogether gorgeous...one of the best young-adult novels to appear in a very long time."- Salt Lake Tribune ♦ "This haunting gem of a novel begs to be remembered."- Booklist ♦ "Artfully told and sensitively crafted...will leave readers weeping."- School Library Journal ♦ A PW and SLJ 2016 Book of the Year
Praise for Between Shades of Gray :
A New York Times Notable Book ♦ A Wall Street Journal Best Children's Book ♦ A PW , SLJ , Booklist , and Kirkus Best Book ♦ iTunes 2011 Rewind Best Teen Novel ♦ A Carnegie Medal and William C. Morris Finalist ♦ A New York Times and International Bestseller ♦ "Few books are beautifully written, fewer still are important; this novel is both."- The Washington Post ♦ "[A]n important book that deserves the widest possible readership."- Booklist
From the Hardcover edition.
Rezension
Praise for Salt to the Sea :
"Ruta Sepetys is a master of historical fiction. In Salt to the Sea the hard truths of her herculean research are tempered with effortless, intimate storytelling, as her warm and human characters breathe new life into one of the world's most terrible and neglected tragedies." - Elizabeth Wein, New York Times bestselling author of Printz Award Honor Book Code Name Verity
"A rich, page-turning story that brings to vivid life a terrifying-and little-known-moment in World War II history." - Steve Sheinkin , author of Newbery Honor and National Book Award finalist Bomb
"Brutal. Beautiful. Honest." - Sabaa Tahir, New York Times bestselling author of An Ember in the Ashes
"Sepetys excels in shining light on lost chapters of history, and this visceral novel proves a memorable testament to strength and resilience in the face of war and cruelty." - Publishers Weekly, starred review
"This haunting gem of a novel begs to be remembered, and in turn, it tries to remember the thousands of real people its fictional characters represent. What it asks of us is that their memories, and their stories, not be abandoned to the sea." - Booklist, starred review
"Artfully told and sensitively crafted, Sepetys's exploration of this little-known piece of history will leave readers weeping." - School Library Journal, starred review
"The inevitability of the ending (including the loss of several characters) doesn't change its poignancy, and the short chapters and slowly revealed back stories for each character guarantee the pages keep turning. Heartbreaking, historical, and a little bit hopeful." - Kirkus
"This book includes all the reasons why teens read: for knowledge, for romance, for amazing and irritating characters. This novel will break readers' hearts and then put them back together a little more whole." - VOYA
"Sepetys's...scene-setting is impeccable; the penetrating cold of the journey is palpable, and she excels at conveying the scope of the losses while giving them a human face....[T]his elegiac tale succeeds with impressive research, affecting characters, and keen, often unsettling insights into humans' counterposed tendencies toward evil and nobility. Readers will be left to discuss which impulse triumphs here." - The Horn Book
… weiterlesen
In den Warenkorb
Filialabholung

Versandkostenfrei

Bezahlung bei Abholung

Beschreibung

Produktdetails


Einband Taschenbuch
Seitenzahl 400
Altersempfehlung 12 - 15
Erscheinungsdatum 02.02.2016
Sprache Englisch
ISBN 978-0-399-54605-1
Reihe Philomel Books
Verlag Penguin LCC US
Maße (L/B/H) 208/141/32 mm
Gewicht 392
Verkaufsrang 1.724
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
8,99
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Sofort lieferbar
Versandkostenfrei
In den Warenkorb
Filialabholung

Versandkostenfrei

Bezahlung bei Abholung

Andere Kunden interessierten sich auch für

  • 40486042
    Salt to the Sea
    von Ruta Sepetys
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    9,19
  • 42757279
    Salt to the Sea
    von Ruta Sepetys
    Buch (gebundene Ausgabe)
    14,59
  • 33166282
    Out of the Easy
    von Ruta Sepetys
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    7,99
  • 30473538
    Between Shades of Gray
    von Ruta Sepetys
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    7,99
  • 44718103
    The Illuminae Files 2. Gemina
    von Jay Kristoff
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    9,99
  • 44743699
    A Million Worlds with You
    von Claudia Gray
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    9,99
  • 43317764
    Red Queen - Glass Sword
    von Victoria Aveyard
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    9,99
  • 25440117
    Between Shades of Gray
    von Ruta Sepetys
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    8,04
  • 33662687
    Code Name Verity
    von Elizabeth E. Wein
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    8,49
  • 40321864
    Paperweight
    von Meg Haston
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    7,89
  • 45074688
    The Book Thief
    von Markus Zusak
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    9,09
  • 15365119
    Thirteen Reasons Why
    von Jay Asher
    (13)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    8,49
  • 44792209
    Glass Sword / Red Queen 2
    von Victoria Aveyard
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    7,49
  • 21483353
    Between Shades of Gray
    von Ruta Sepetys
    Buch (gebundene Ausgabe)
    15,19
  • 45454429
    Frostblood
    von Elly Blake
    Buch (gebundene Ausgabe)
    17,99
  • 41817426
    Everything, Everything
    von Nicola Yoon
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    8,59
  • 44708633
    If I Was Your Girl
    von Meredith Russo
    (1)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    9,99
  • 34694311
    Falling Kingdoms
    von Morgan Rhodes
    (1)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    9,49
  • 43916453
    Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda
    von Becky Albertalli
    (6)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    7,99
  • 47542480
    The Hate U Give
    von Angie Thomas
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    8,59

Kundenbewertungen


Es wurden noch keine Bewertungen geschrieben.

Wird oft zusammen gekauft

Salt to the Sea

Salt to the Sea

von Ruta Sepetys

Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
8,99
+
=
History Is All You Left Me

History Is All You Left Me

von Adam Silvera

Buch (gebundene Ausgabe)
15,89
+
=

für

24,88

inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.

Alle kaufen