Sie haben noch keinen tolino eReader? Jetzt informieren.

Symptoms of Being Human

Balzer + Bray

(1)

A sharply honest and moving debut perfect for fans of The Perks of Being a Wallflower and Ask the Passengers.

Riley Cavanaugh is many things: Punk rock. Snarky. Rebellious. And gender fluid. Some days Riley identifies as a boy, and others as a girl. But Riley isn't exactly out yet. And between starting a new school and having a congressman father running for reelection in über-conservative Orange County, the pressure—media and otherwise—is building up in Riley's life.

On the advice of a therapist, Riley starts an anonymous blog to vent those pent-up feelings and tell the truth of what it's really like to be a gender fluid teenager. But just as Riley's starting to settle in at school—even developing feelings for a mysterious outcast—the blog goes viral, and an unnamed commenter discovers Riley's real identity, threatening exposure. And Riley must make a choice: walk away from what the blog has created—a lifeline, new friends, a cause to believe in—or stand up, come out, and risk everything.

From debut author Jeff Garvin comes a powerful and uplifting portrait of a modern teen struggling with high school, relationships, and what it means to be a person.

… weiterlesen

Beschreibung

Produktdetails


Format ePUB i
Kopierschutz Ja
Seitenzahl 352 (Printausgabe)
Erscheinungsdatum 02.02.2016
Sprache Englisch
EAN 9780062382887
Verlag HarperCollins
Verkaufsrang 24.158
eBook
6,39
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Sofort per Download lieferbar
In der Cloud verfügbar
Per E-Mail verschenken i

Andere Kunden interessierten sich auch für

  • 42659336
    Ask the Passengers
    von A. S. King
    eBook
    5,99
  • 44362192
    Spring According to Humphrey
    von Betty G. Birney
    eBook
    5,49
  • 41128696
    Love Letters to the Dead
    von Ava Dellaira
    (111)
    eBook
    8,99
  • 45310396
    Im Wald / Oliver von Bodenstein Bd.8
    von Nele Neuhaus
    (241)
    eBook
    9,99
  • 71389752
    Mirror, Mirror
    von Cara Delevingne
    (23)
    eBook
    12,99
  • 45670165
    A World Without You
    von Beth Revis
    eBook
    9,49
  • 56516168
    Still Me
    von Jojo Moyes
    eBook
    11,99
  • 106869821
    The Punishment She Deserves
    von Elizabeth George
    eBook
    10,99
  • 45779122
    My Not So Perfect Life
    von Sophie Kinsella
    (6)
    eBook
    6,99
  • 90029708
    The Woman in the Window: The hottest new release thriller of 2018 and a No. 1 New York Times bestseller
    von A. J. Finn
    eBook
    7,87
  • 46680677
    Origin: Robert Langdon Book 5
    von Dan Brown
    (2)
    eBook
    14,99
  • 81859027
    The Pearl Sister
    von Lucinda Riley
    (1)
    eBook
    8,99
  • 70771849
    Surprise Me
    von Sophie Kinsella
    (1)
    eBook
    11,99
  • 81863459
    The Rooster Bar
    von John Grisham
    eBook
    10,99
  • 93277894
    Someone's Been Sleeping in My Bed (Fairy Tale Romance, #3)
    von Linda Winstead Jones
    eBook
    3,99
  • 88103562
    A Higher Loyalty
    von James Comey
    eBook
    14,99 bisher 19,99
  • 54333598
    All the Missing Girls
    von Megan Miranda
    eBook
    3,99 bisher 6,49
  • 101359093
    Der Cowboy (Die Walker Brüder, #2)
    von Amanda Adams
    eBook
    4,99
  • 44609104
    Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone
    von J.K. Rowling
    eBook
    8,99
  • 26688984
    A Brief History Of Time
    von Stephen W. Hawking
    eBook
    3,99

Kundenbewertungen

Durchschnitt
1 Bewertung
Übersicht
1
0
0
0
0

Boy or Girl? YES.
von einer Kundin/einem Kunden am 01.04.2017
Bewertet: gebundene Ausgabe

Symptoms of Being Human shows how people might have problems and struggle when figuring themselves, their sexuality and/or their gender out. This book gives great insight into what it can mean to be gender fluid. The reader receives a lot of informations about how the main character feels about... Symptoms of Being Human shows how people might have problems and struggle when figuring themselves, their sexuality and/or their gender out. This book gives great insight into what it can mean to be gender fluid. The reader receives a lot of informations about how the main character feels about gender fluidity and also mentions other aspects of the lgbt+ community. In this story we follow Riley who sometimes is a girl and other times a boy. It's not easy to come out though, whether to friends or family, because Riley's father is a congressman running for reelection, is constantly on the media and has to attend many events. To help Riley with anxiety and depression a therapist advices to start a blog. But Riley's anonymous blog soon goes viral and Riley has to decide if everything is too much and if the account shoud be deleted or not. We read about the protagonist's struggles within the new school, how Riley handles the bullies and how friends come along the way. This is a beautiful book with great writing. We definitely need more stories with characters like Riley.


Wird oft zusammen gekauft

Symptoms of Being Human - Jeff Garvin

Symptoms of Being Human

von Jeff Garvin

(1)
eBook
6,39
+
=
Das unendliche Meer - Rick Yancey

Das unendliche Meer

von Rick Yancey

(26)
eBook
8,99
+
=

für

15,38

inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.

Alle kaufen