Nutzen Sie unsere Filialabholung und erhalten Sie diesen Artikel versandkostenfrei in Ihrer Filiale!

Symptoms of Being Human

(1)

A sharply honest and moving debut perfect for fans of The Perks of Being a Wallflower and Ask the Passengers

Riley Cavanaugh is many things: Punk rock. Snarky. Rebellious. And gender fluid. Some days Riley identifies as a boy, and others as a girl. But Riley isn't exactly out yet. And between starting a new school and having a congressman father running for reelection in über-conservative Orange County, the pressure—media and otherwise—is building up in Riley's life.

On the advice of a therapist, Riley starts an anonymous blog to vent those pent-up feelings and tell the truth of what it's really like to be a gender fluid teenager. But just as Riley's starting to settle in at school—even developing feelings for a mysterious outcast—the blog goes viral, and an unnamed commenter discovers Riley's real identity, threatening exposure. And Riley must make a choice: walk away from what the blog has created—a lifeline, new friends, a cause to believe in—or stand up, come out, and risk everything.

From debut author Jeff Garvin comes a powerful and uplifting portrait of a modern teen struggling with high school, relationships, and what it means to be a person.

Portrait

Before becoming a writer, Jeff Garvin acted in films and TV and was the front man of a nationally touring rock band. He has a BFA in film from Chapman University and lives in Southern California, surrounded by adorable, shedding beasts. Symptoms of Being Human is his first novel.

… weiterlesen
In den Warenkorb
Filialabholung

Versandkostenfrei

Beschreibung

Produktdetails


Einband gebundene Ausgabe
Seitenzahl 352
Altersempfehlung 13 - 17
Erscheinungsdatum 02.02.2016
Sprache Englisch
ISBN 978-0-06-238286-3
Verlag Balzer & Bray
Maße (L/B/H) 216/149/35 mm
Gewicht 424
Buch (gebundene Ausgabe, Englisch)
14,99
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Versandfertig in 1 - 2 Wochen
Versandkostenfrei
In den Warenkorb
Filialabholung

Versandkostenfrei

Andere Kunden interessierten sich auch für

  • 38381810
    Eleanor & Park
    von Rainbow Rowell
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    7,99
  • 43521222
    A Tyranny of Petticoats: 15 Stories of Belles, Bank Robbers & Other Badass Girls
    von Jessica Spotswood
    Buch (gebundene Ausgabe)
    14,99
  • 43838998
    Art of Being Normal
    von Lisa Williamson
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    7,99
  • 44909934
    What's a Girl Gotta Do?
    von Holly Bourne
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    7,99
  • 42684810
    The Amazing Book Is Not on Fire: The World of Dan and Phil
    von Dan Howell
    (3)
    Buch (gebundene Ausgabe)
    15,99
  • 44905559
    Finding Audrey
    von Sophie Kinsella
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    7,99
  • 42413076
    Just Visiting
    von Dahlia Adler
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    8,99
  • 44277754
    Riverkeep
    von Martin Stewart
    Buch (gebundene Ausgabe)
    16,99
  • 40140557
    This Song Will Save Your Life
    von Leila Sales
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    8,99
  • 43041526
    The Girl Who Fell
    von S. M. Parker
    Buch (gebundene Ausgabe)
    15,99
  • 47512590
    Carry On
    von Rainbow Rowell
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    7,99
  • 44708633
    If I Was Your Girl
    von Meredith Russo
    (1)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    7,99
  • 32895326
    The Perks of Being a Wallflower
    von Stephen Chbosky
    (27)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    6,99
  • 43916453
    Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda
    von Becky Albertalli
    (7)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    7,99
  • 42886642
    Glass Sword / Red Queen 2
    von Victoria Aveyard
    Buch (gebundene Ausgabe)
    16,99
  • 34465337
    Ask the Passengers
    von A. S. King
    (1)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    8,99
  • 43223830
    Vanishing Girls
    von Lauren Oliver
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    8,99
  • 42041710
    Bloodlines 06: The Ruby Circle
    von Richelle Mead
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    7,99
  • 36899539
    We Were Liars
    von E. Lockhart
    (15)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    7,99
  • 34044707
    Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children
    von Ransom Riggs
    (6)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    7,99

Kundenbewertungen


Durchschnitt
1 Bewertung
Übersicht
1
0
0
0
0

Boy or Girl? YES.
von einer Kundin/einem Kunden am 01.04.2017

Symptoms of Being Human shows how people might have problems and struggle when figuring themselves, their sexuality and/or their gender out. This book gives great insight into what it can mean to be gender fluid. The reader receives a lot of informations about how the main character feels about... Symptoms of Being Human shows how people might have problems and struggle when figuring themselves, their sexuality and/or their gender out. This book gives great insight into what it can mean to be gender fluid. The reader receives a lot of informations about how the main character feels about gender fluidity and also mentions other aspects of the lgbt+ community. In this story we follow Riley who sometimes is a girl and other times a boy. It's not easy to come out though, whether to friends or family, because Riley's father is a congressman running for reelection, is constantly on the media and has to attend many events. To help Riley with anxiety and depression a therapist advices to start a blog. But Riley's anonymous blog soon goes viral and Riley has to decide if everything is too much and if the account shoud be deleted or not. We read about the protagonist's struggles within the new school, how Riley handles the bullies and how friends come along the way. This is a beautiful book with great writing. We definitely need more stories with characters like Riley.

Hat Ihnen diese Empfehlung geholfen?

Wird oft zusammen gekauft

Symptoms of Being Human - Jeff Garvin

Symptoms of Being Human

von Jeff Garvin

(1)
Buch (gebundene Ausgabe, Englisch)
14,99
+
=
The Girl in the Blue Coat - Monica Hesse

The Girl in the Blue Coat

von Monica Hesse

Buch (Taschenbuch)
7,99
+
=

für

22,98

inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.

Alle kaufen