Nutzen Sie unsere Filialabholung und erhalten Sie diesen Artikel versandkostenfrei in Ihrer Filiale!

The Age of American Unreason

Winner of Choice Outstanding Academic Title 2009

A cultural history of the last forty years, The Age of American Unreason focuses on the convergence of social forces-usually treated as separate entities-that has created a perfect storm of anti-rationalism. These include the upsurge of religious fundamentalism, with more political power today than ever before; the failure of public education to create an informed citizenry; and the triumph of video over print culture. Sparing neither the right nor the left, Jacoby asserts that Americans today have embraced a universe of "junk thought" that makes almost no effort to separate fact from opinion.
Rezension
"There are few subjects more timely than the one tackled by Jacoby. . . . Her book is smart [and] well-researched."
-Michiko Kakutani, The New York Times
"Forceful. . . . Cogently argued. . . . An intellectual journey of the first order."
-Chicago Tribune
"One hopes Jacoby's incisive book will find an audience among the unconverted who will take her warnings seriously."
-San Francisco Chronicle
"Provocative, well-written and often witty."
-USA Today
"Jacoby's is a moderate, sensible, well-founded position, shared by many Americans, yet it somehow rarely got voiced amid the raging hyperbole of the culture wars. "
-Salon
"Jacoby deploys sharp insight on our present straits"
-Los Angeles Times
"Trenchant ...One hopes her incisive book, just in time for the 2008 elections, will find an audience among the unconverted who will take her warnings seriously."
-San Francisco Chronicle
"A surprising and uncommonly sophisticated treatment of a familiar topic."
-New York Observer
"The Age of American Unreason picks up where Richard Hofstadter left off. With analytic verve and deep historical knowledge, Susan Jacoby documents the dumbing down of our culture like a maestro. make no mistake about it, this is an important book."
-Douglas Brinkley, residential historian and author of The Great Deluge
"This is one of the most eye-opening books I've read in a long time. Jacoby charts the intellectual and cultural currents that have characterized the United States since its founding and explains just how and why Americans have recently become so, well, dumb. Anyone who cares about the future of our country will want to read it."
-Marcia Angell, editor in chief emerita, New England Journal of Medicine
"Jacoby has written a brilliant, sad story of the anti-intellectualism and lack of reasonable thought that has put this country in one of the sorriest states in its history."
-Helen Thomas, author of Watchdogs of Democracy?: The Waning Washington Press Corps and How It Has Failed the Public
"Jacoby's fearless jeremiad, at once passionate, witty, and solidly grounded in facts, aries at a propitious moment, when many Americans are perceiving that ignorance conjoined to arrogance can be deadly. This book deserves to be widely read, and especially by concerned parents. As Jacoby insists, it is only within families that some immunity to mind-numbing 'infotainment' can now be acquired. First, however, there must be a will to resist-and if this stirring book can't rally it, nothing can."
-Frederick Crews, author of Follies of the Wise: Dissenting Essays
"To a country of underachievers and proud of it, this book delivers a magnificent, occasionally hilarious kick in the pants. Snap out of it, Jacoby says: Getting it right matters. Tough talk and wicked wit in the tradition of Richard Hofstadter's Anti-Intellectualism in American Life and Neil Postman's Amusing Ourselves to Death."
-Jack Miles, author of God: A Biography
… weiterlesen
In den Warenkorb
Filialabholung

Versandkostenfrei

Beschreibung

Produktdetails


Einband Taschenbuch
Seitenzahl 384
Erscheinungsdatum 01.02.2009
Sprache Englisch
ISBN 978-1-4000-9638-1
Verlag Pantheon
Maße (L/B/H) 203/133/21 mm
Gewicht 288
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
14,99
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Versandfertig in 1 - 2 Wochen
Versandkostenfrei
In den Warenkorb
Filialabholung

Versandkostenfrei

Andere Kunden interessierten sich auch für

  • 15339285
    Self's Deception
    von Bernhard Schlink
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    8,99
  • 1975002
    The Remains of the Day. Was vom Tage übrigblieb, englische Ausgabe
    von Kazuo Ishiguro
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    5,99
  • 43714443
    The Prisoner of Azkaban. Illustrated Edition
    von Joanne K. Rowling
    Buch (gebundene Ausgabe)
    27,99
  • 6342850
    Never Let Me Go
    von Kazuo Ishiguro
    (1)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    6,99
  • 43867002
    The Handmaid's Tale
    von Margaret Atwood
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    5,99
  • 4570744
    The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
    von Mark Haddon
    (11)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    6,99
  • 39151340
    Harry Potter 3 and the Prisoner of Azkaban
    von Joanne K. Rowling
    (13)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    7,99
  • 45866640
    Stormlight Archive 03. Oathbringer
    von Brandon Sanderson
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    15,99
  • 39151338
    Harry Potter 6 and the Half-Blood Prince
    von Joanne K. Rowling
    (11)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    8,99
  • 54525720
    The Underground Railroad
    von Colson Whitehead
    (5)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    6,99
  • 39151337
    Harry Potter 4 and the Goblet of Fire
    von Joanne K. Rowling
    (10)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    8,99
  • 46119876
    The Underground Railroad
    von Colson Whitehead
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    6,99
  • 34360017
    Looking for Alaska
    von John Green
    (21)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    7,99
  • 32901672
    The Fault in Our Stars
    von John Green
    (16)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    6,99
  • 40062395
    All The Light We Cannot See
    von Anthony Doerr
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    7,99
  • 33071970
    Wonder
    von R. J. Palacio
    (3)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    6,99
  • 54336560
    The Power
    von Naomi Alderman
    (2)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    8,99
  • 4203255
    The Alchemist
    von Paulo Coelho
    (5)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    5,99
  • 56065515
    Sleeping Beauties
    von Stephen King
    Buch (gebundene Ausgabe)
    16,99
  • 56065173
    Sleeping Beauties
    von Stephen King
    Buch (gebundene Ausgabe)
    16,99

Kundenbewertungen


Es wurden noch keine Bewertungen geschrieben.

Wird oft zusammen gekauft

The Age of American Unreason - Susan Jacoby

The Age of American Unreason

von Susan Jacoby

Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
14,99
+
=
Fasting Girls: The History of Anorexia Nervosa - Joan Jacobs Brumberg

Fasting Girls: The History of Anorexia Nervosa

von Joan Jacobs Brumberg

Buch (Taschenbuch)
14,99
+
=

für

29,98

inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.

Alle kaufen