The Corpse Exhibition: And Other Stories of Iraq

And Other Stories of Iraq

A blistering debut that does for the Iraqi perspective on the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan what Phil Klay's Redeployment does for the American perspective

"[A] wonderful collection." -George Saunders, The New York Times Book Review

The first major literary work about the Iraq War from an Iraqi perspective-by an explosive new voice hailed as "perhaps the best writer of Arabic fiction alive" (The Guardian)-The Corpse Exhibition shows us the war as we have never seen it before. Here is a world not only of soldiers and assassins, hostages and car bombers, refugees and terrorists, but also of madmen and prophets, angels and djinni, sorcerers and spirits.

Blending shocking realism with flights of fantasy, The Corpse Exhibition offers us a pageant of horrors, as haunting as the photos of Abu Ghraib and as difficult to look away from, but shot through with a gallows humor that yields an unflinching comedy of the macabre. Gripping and hallucinatory, this is a new kind of storytelling forged in the crucible of war.
Rezension
Winner of the Independent Foreign Fiction Prize
One of Publishers Weekly's 10 Best Books of the Year

"Surreal and mind-blowing and completely necessary." -Jayne Anne Phillips, The Wall Street Journal, "Favorite Books of the Year"

"Arresting, auspicious . . . Well-plotted, blackly comic . . . Sharp, tragicomic moments . . . persist in memory. . . . Its opening story [features] a terrorist middle manager who wouldn't be out of place in one of George Saunders's workplace nightmares. . . . 'The Song of the Goats' [is] a cunning gem. . . . If a short story could break the heart of a rock, this might just be the one. . . . The collection's last story is so complicatedly good [with] an ending worthy of Rod Serling. Mr. Blasim's stories owe more than a little of their dream logic to [Carlos] Fuentes and Serling, with maybe some Julio Cortázar thrown in. . . . Their sequence imparts a mounting novelistic power." -The New York Times

"Brilliant and disturbing . . . Bitter, furious and unforgettable, the stories seem to have been carved out of the country's suppurating history like pieces of ragged flesh." -The Wall Street Journal

"Superb . . . The existence of this book is reason for hope, proof of the power of storytelling." -The Boston Globe

"Subtly and powerfully evocative . . . Superbly translated." -The New York Review of Books

"Visceral, full of horror and absurdity . . . Blasim is an Iraqi Kafka with a touch of Edgar Allan Poe thrown in, and his pen spares no one who commits atrocities, Americans and Iraqis alike." -Brian Castner, "This Week's Must Read" on NPR's Weekend All Things Considered

"Perhaps the greatest writer of Arabic fiction alive . . . [His stories are] crisp and shocking . . . cruel, funny and unsettling [with] hooks and twists that will lodge in any mind." -The Guardian

"A modern classic of post-war witness, elegy and revolt . . . Think Irvine Welsh in post-war and post-Saddam Baghdad, with the shades of Kafka and Burroughs also stalking these sad streets. . . . [Blasim] depict[s] a pitiless era with searing compassion, pitch-black humour and a sort of visionary yearning for a more fully human life. . . . Amid all the scars of combat, these stories seek and find comedy, magic, affection and even an urge towards transcendence." -The Independent

"Line for line and paragraph for paragraph, Blasim writes more interestingly than [Phil] Klay. . . . His content is more strange and striking. . . . Blasim is an artist of the horrendously extraordinary. . . . [His] stories are almost Hemingwayesque in their stripped-down style and content. . . . Blasim has a sense of humor. He must have learned his jokes from the Grim Reaper." -William T. Vollmann, Bookforum

"Brilliant . . . [A] much-needed perspective on a war-ravaged country . . . It is a slim but potent collection and will go a long way to making Blasim's name in American literary circles. . . . Blasim plants his flag squarely in the tradition of Kafka, Borges, and other writers of surreal and otherwise metaphysical fiction. . . . He has a vital subject and takes it seriously: Iraq and its people. . . . He has written a fresh and disturbing book, full of sadness and humor, alive with intelligent contradiction." -The Daily Beast

"A bravura collection . . . Mind-bendingly bizarre . . . Blasim . . . lights his charnel house with guttering flares of wit. . . . [Be] ready to be shocked and awed by these pitch-black fairytales." -The National

"Unforgettable . . . Very important . . . [Blasim's stories] could only come out of firsthand experience of the war." -Flavorwire, 10 Must-Read Books for February

"A vivid, sometimes lurid picture of wartime Iraq [by] one of the most important Arabic-language storytellers . . . Violent, bleak and occasionally beautiful . . . Dark and sometimes bitterly funny . . . Most of these stories feel ready to collapse or explode at any moment. . . . The reader walks on solid ground one moment, and the next t
… weiterlesen
In den Warenkorb
Filialabholung

Versandkostenfrei

Beschreibung

Produktdetails


Einband Taschenbuch
Seitenzahl 208
Altersempfehlung ab 18
Erscheinungsdatum 05.02.2014
Sprache Englisch
ISBN 978-0-14-312326-2
Verlag Penguin Books Ltd
Maße (L/B/H) 19,9/13/1,4 cm
Gewicht 154 g
Übersetzer Jonathan Wright
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
12,99
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Sofort lieferbar
Versandkostenfrei
In den Warenkorb
Filialabholung

Versandkostenfrei

Andere Kunden interessierten sich auch für

  • 34910866
    The Life List - Lori Nelson Spielman
    The Life List
    von Lori Nelson Spielman
    (7)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    7,99 bisher 9,70
  • 16147262
    Call Me By Your Name - Andre Aciman
    Call Me By Your Name
    von Andre Aciman
    (4)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    8,99
  • 4570744
    The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time - Mark Haddon
    The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
    von Mark Haddon
    (11)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    6,99
  • 36899543
    Crazy Rich Asians - Kevin Kwan
    Crazy Rich Asians
    von Kevin Kwan
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    6,99
  • 15399648
    Animal Farm - George Orwell
    Animal Farm
    von George Orwell
    (2)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    6,99
  • 29974749
    Me Before You - Jojo Moyes
    Me Before You
    von Jojo Moyes
    (9)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    8,85 bisher 11,80
  • 70728937
    Turtles All the Way Down - John Green
    Turtles All the Way Down
    von John Green
    (3)
    Buch (gebundene Ausgabe)
    12,99
  • 4203255
    The Alchemist - Paulo Coelho
    The Alchemist
    von Paulo Coelho
    (5)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    6,99
  • 15053199
    Silver Bay - Jojo Moyes
    Silver Bay
    von Jojo Moyes
    (1)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    7,99 bisher 9,99
  • 11640077
    Dead Poets Society - Nancy H. Kleinbaum
    Dead Poets Society
    von Nancy H. Kleinbaum
    (2)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    5,99
  • 3694885
    You Get So Alone at Times - Charles Bukowski
    You Get So Alone at Times
    von Charles Bukowski
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    13,99
  • 19261485
    To Kill a Mockingbird. 50th Anniversary Edition - Harper Lee
    To Kill a Mockingbird. 50th Anniversary Edition
    von Harper Lee
    (2)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    5,99
  • 40049317
    Everything I Never Told You - Celeste Ng
    Everything I Never Told You
    von Celeste Ng
    (1)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    8,99
  • 70728844
    Turtles All the Way Down - John Green
    Turtles All the Way Down
    von John Green
    (9)
    Buch (gebundene Ausgabe)
    13,99
  • 19254143
    The Catcher in the Rye - J.D. Salinger
    The Catcher in the Rye
    von J.D. Salinger
    (4)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    5,99
  • 36856212
    The Rosie Project - Graeme Simsion
    The Rosie Project
    von Graeme Simsion
    (7)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    6,99
  • 3455867
    Mother to Mother - Sindiwe Magona
    Mother to Mother
    von Sindiwe Magona
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    11,99
  • 1975002
    The Remains of the Day - Kazuo Ishiguro
    The Remains of the Day
    von Kazuo Ishiguro
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    5,99
  • 43606427
    A Little Life - Hanya Yanagihara
    A Little Life
    von Hanya Yanagihara
    (3)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    7,99
  • 2998303
    The Old Man and The Sea - Ernest Hemingway
    The Old Man and The Sea
    von Ernest Hemingway
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    6,99

Kundenbewertungen

Es wurden noch keine Bewertungen geschrieben.

Wird oft zusammen gekauft

The Corpse Exhibition: And Other Stories of Iraq - Hassan Blasim

The Corpse Exhibition: And Other Stories of Iraq

von Hassan Blasim

Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
12,99
+
=
Call Me by Your Name. Movie Tie-In - Andre Aciman

Call Me by Your Name. Movie Tie-In

von Andre Aciman

(4)
Buch (Taschenbuch)
5,99
+
=

für

18,98

inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.

Alle kaufen