The Dragon's Legacy, Book 1

The Dragon's Legacy Book 1

Epic fantasy in the tradition of Guy Gavriel Kay and Jacqueline Carey. "A world of large-scale epic fantasy... This is a rare find and not to be missed." New York Times bestselling author Barb Hendee.

In the heart of the singing desert, the people are fading from the world. Mothers bear few live children, the warriors and wardens are hard-pressed to protect those who remain, and the vash'ai-the great cats who have called the people kithren for as long as there have been stories-bond with fewer humans each year. High above, the Sun Dragon sings a song of life and love while far below, the Earth Dragon slumbers as she has since the beginning of time. Her sleep is fitful, and from the darkness of her dreams come whispers of war... and death.

Sulema is a newly minted warrior of the people and a true Ja'Akari-a daughter of the unforgiving desert. When a mysterious young man appears in her home of Aish Kalumm, she learns that the Dragon King is dying in distant Atualon. As the king fades, so does the magic that sings the Earth Dragon to sleep.

There are those who wish to keep the dragon trapped in endless slumber. Others would tap her power to claim it for their own. And there are those who would have her wake, so they might laugh as the world burns.
Rezension
"You have to surrender to the domination of the author, and trust that she isn't just freewheeling. Otherwise you lose that precious sense of depth, which J.R.R. Tolkien, J.K. Rowling and George R.R. Martin were all able to sustain over multiple books... Ms. Wolf [is] off to a good start." -- The Wall Street Journal - Tom Shippey on the best new sci-fi and fantasy

"An intricate story... This book will leave readers with intense curiosity about its different cultures and anxiously awaiting a sequel." - Booklist

"A well-crafted, intricate blend of the politics and magic of multiple cultures." - Publishers Weekly

"A powerful, compelling read that combines elements of epic fantasy with strong storytelling. Reminiscent of the classic fantasy novel Dune, The Dragon's Legacy is an addictive start to a promising, exciting trilogy....a welcome, desert-scented breath of fresh air, worth devouring, again and again." - Foreword Reviews

"Wolf's debut is ambitious... There are intriguing world building and poignant moments to be found here... Wolf writes for a big screen..." - Kirkus Reviews

"Wolf's style of storytelling, more nomadic and episodic like the world and people she has created, may be initially challenging for some readers, but the tale's mysteries, the world's grandeur, and vivid, strong characters will reward those who persevere. Fantasy fans who crave stories that eschew traditional gender roles, as well as those who find Celtic-analog cultures wearisome, will be pleased with this intriguing new offering." - New York Journal of Books

"True epic fantasy, the kind of rich, multi-layered works that don't just carry you away, but carry you away to a world that you'll want to live in for a long, long time!" -David Farland, New York Times bestselling author of The Runelords

"Plunges you into a rich and vibrant world, filled with magic and intrigue. A fantastic combination of new, marvelous cultures and grand characters in a story that grips your imagination and pulls you into the windswept desert." - Sarah Beth Durst, award-winning author of The Queen of Blood.

"A mesmerizing tale of intrigue and magic that is as richly detailed as it is lethally entertaining." -Tina Lecount Myers, author of The Song of All

"This will knock your socks off. Wolf is rewriting epic fantasy." -Sarah Chorn, Bookworm Blues

"Beautiful and haunting. A world of large-scale eipic fantasy, in the tradition of Guy Gavriel Kay... This is a rare find and not to be missed." -Barb Hendee, New York Times bestselling author of The Noble Dead

"Wolf's lush and painterly prose is reminiscent of Jacqueline Carey, impelling the reader to savor every sight and sound and smell. Highly recommended." -Katherine Kurtz, acclaimed author of the Deryni novels

"This exquisitely written debut novel is one of the best new voices in fantasy I've seen in years. The vividly crafted characters simply force you to care about them, and even those we might easily dismiss as villains show the complications of people who disagree with each other, but are not necessarily evil. Deborah's world is painstakingly crafted, revealing a multi-layered tapestry of history, mythology and culture, all blending into a masterful gestalt.
As we follow the younger generation of her matriarchal desert culture, all grasping for adulthood, they find their hopes and dreams will not quite meet reality, as the explosive secrets and errors of their parents all unfold at once. Now both generations must discover who they can really trust and discover the hidden truths that may allow them to save their homelands from destruction and war." -Duane Wilkins, University Bookstore in Seattle, WA

"Wolf's debut fantasy is remarkably assured and deeply detailed, offering a unique universe and a trope-twisting narrative that plays out in unexpected ways." - Barnes & Noble SFF blog

"Reading it is like watching the works of Wagner and Mozart performed onstage: you connect with th
… weiterlesen
In den Warenkorb
Filialabholung

Versandkostenfrei

Beschreibung

Produktdetails


Einband gebundene Ausgabe
Seitenzahl 320
Erscheinungsdatum 01.04.2017
Sprache Englisch
ISBN 978-1-78565-107-6
Verlag Titan Books Ltd
Maße (L/B/H) 17/24,1/4,5 cm
Gewicht 752 g
Buch (gebundene Ausgabe, Englisch)
19,99
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Sofort lieferbar
Versandkostenfrei
In den Warenkorb
Filialabholung

Versandkostenfrei

Andere Kunden interessierten sich auch für

  • The Starlit Wood: New Fairy Tales
    von Dominik; Wolfe, Navah Parisien
    Buch (gebundene Ausgabe)
    26,99
  • Frostblood
    von Elly Blake
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    6,99
  • Paladin - The Path North
    von David M. M. Sidders
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    8,99
  • Mage Heart
    von Jane Routley
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    17,99
  • The Waking Fire
    von Anthony Ryan
    Buch (gebundene Ausgabe)
    19,99
  • The Shattered Crown (Steelhaven: Book Two)
    von Richard Ford
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    8,99
  • Waking Gods
    von Sylvain Neuvel
    (2)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    12,99
  • Spin State
    von Chris Moriarty
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    6,99
  • Avengers of the Moon
    von Allen Steele
    Buch (gebundene Ausgabe)
    27,99
  • The Copper Promise
    von Jen Williams
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    8,99
  • Before the Storm (World of Warcraft)
    von Christie Golden
    Buch (gebundene Ausgabe)
    9,99
  • 12 Rules for Life
    von Jordan B. Peterson
    Buch (gebundene Ausgabe)
    12,99
  • Lost Boy
    von Christina Henry
    (4)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    7,99
  • A Court of Frost and Starlight
    von Sarah J. Maas
    (2)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    7,99
  • Nineteen Eighty-Four (1984)
    von George Orwell
    (2)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    6,99
  • You Are a Badass
    von Jen Sincero
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    9,99
  • Game of Thrones 5-Copy Boxed Set
    von George R. R. Martin
    (10)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    25,90
    bisher 37,49
  • The Life-Changing Magic of Not Giving a F**k
    von Sarah Knight
    Buch (gebundene Ausgabe)
    11,99
  • Never Let Me Go
    von Kazuo Ishiguro
    (1)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    6,99
  • George R. R. Martin's a Game of Thrones Leather Cloth Boxed Set (Song of Ice and Fire Series)
    von George R. R. Martin
    (10)
    Buch (Leder)
    49,50
    bisher 70,76

Wird oft zusammen gekauft

The Dragon's Legacy, Book 1

The Dragon's Legacy, Book 1

von Deborah A. Wolf
Buch (gebundene Ausgabe)
19,99
+
=
Blood upon the Sand

Blood upon the Sand

von Bradley Beaulieu
Buch (Taschenbuch)
11,99
+
=

für

31,98

inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.

Alle kaufen

Kundenbewertungen

Es wurden noch keine Bewertungen geschrieben.