The Lies We Tell

(1)

You can never escape your past...

The Lies We Tell has a sense of tension and skewed reality from page one. Delightfully creepy and skilfully plotted ... it's a can't-wait-to-get-back-to-it book and I thoroughly enjoyed it.' Hilary Boyd, author of Thursdays in the Park

'After a dramatic opening, The Lies We Tell develops into an intriguing story full of slow-burning suspense.' Sophie McKenzie, author of Close My Eyes and Here We Lie

The last time Katy saw Jude was on a school trip, when Jude was attacked by a stranger and Katy ran away. Twenty years later, Jude is back, and her reappearance coincides with a series of unsettling incidents: a stranger appears in the downstairs flat; Katy's house is vandalised; her mother is mugged and her home ransacked.

And Jude seems to know an uncomfortable amount about Katy's current life...

Forced to revisit the same rocky waters of friendship and power they inhabited when they were fifteen, Jude and Katy realise that when it comes to memory, truth and family - nothing and no-one are what they seem.

For fans of I Let You Go, The Girl With No Past and Behind Closed Doors, THE LIES WE TELL is an explosive and completely gripping psychological thriller in which present and past intertwine to devastating effect.

Meg Carter worked as a journalist for twenty years before turning her hand to fiction. Her features have appeared in many newspapers, magazines and online with contributions to titles including You magazine, Independent, Guardian, Financial Times, and Radio Times. She is on the advisory committee of Women in Journalism. The Lies We Tell is her first novel.

Portrait
Meg Carter worked as a journalist for twenty years before turning her hand to fiction. Her features have appeared in many newspapers, magazines and online with contributions to titles including You magazine, Independent, Guardian, Financial Times, and Radio Times. She is on the advisory committee of Women in Journalism. Meg recently relocated from west London to Bath, where she now lives with her husband and teenage son. The Lies We Tell is her first novel.
… weiterlesen

Beschreibung

Produktdetails


Format ePUB i
Kopierschutz kopiergeschützt i
Seitenzahl 320, (Printausgabe)
Erscheinungsdatum 17.08.2015
Sprache Englisch
EAN 9781910859018
Verlag Canelo Digital Publishing Ltd
eBook
1,99
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Erscheint demnächst (Neuerscheinung)
In der Cloud verfügbar
Für diesen Artikel gilt unsere Vorbesteller-Preisgarantie

Andere Kunden interessierten sich auch für

  • 42191688
    Saga of Lyn
    von Aric C. Carter
    eBook
    4,45
  • 28036807
    Callisto
    von Lin Carter
    eBook
    10,41
  • 41131128
    Fake ID
    von Jason Starr
    eBook
    5,99
  • 43877378
    Mississippi Off the Beaten Path®
    von Marlo Carter Kirkpatrick
    eBook
    15,99
  • 43167382
    Killing Eva
    von Alex Blackmore
    eBook
    5,99
  • 42830390
    Little Girl Gone: The can't-put-it-down psychological thriller
    von Alexandra Burt
    eBook
    4,99
  • 45625805
    The Silenced
    von Anders De la Motte
    eBook
    5,99
  • 42718056
    Copts in Egyptian Politics (RLE Egypt
    von B.L. Carter
    eBook
    107,52
  • 35932650
    Carry Me Across the Water
    von Ethan Canin
    eBook
    15,49
  • 40890280
    Typographic Design
    von Rob Carter
    eBook
    57,99
  • 67922211
    Camino Island
    von John Grisham
    eBook
    10,99
  • 47543486
    Into the Water
    von Paula Hawkins
    (4)
    eBook
    10,99
  • 41211703
    The Girl on the Train
    von Paula Hawkins
    (16)
    eBook
    6,99
  • 46472199
    The Thirst
    von Jo Nesbo
    (6)
    eBook
    12,99
  • 47770860
    I Know a Secret
    von Tess Gerritsen
    eBook
    12,99
  • 57909107
    To Kill the President: The most explosive thriller of the year
    von Sam Bourne
    eBook
    4,49
  • 73922771
    Seeing Red
    von Sandra Brown
    eBook
    9,49
  • 47530067
    The Whistler
    von John Grisham
    eBook
    5,49
  • 54333598
    All the Missing Girls
    von Megan Miranda
    eBook
    3,99
  • 73005728
    Insidious Intent
    von Val McDermid
    eBook
    9,99

Kundenbewertungen


Durchschnitt
1 Bewertung
Übersicht
0
1
0
0
0

The Lies We Tell
von miss.mesmerized am 04.10.2015

Twenty years have passed since last Katy saw Jude. The incident burnt into her brain: the friend was attacked and Katy left her alone and ran away. Now she is back and there are things to be sorted out. At first Katy does not give it too much attention... Twenty years have passed since last Katy saw Jude. The incident burnt into her brain: the friend was attacked and Katy left her alone and ran away. Now she is back and there are things to be sorted out. At first Katy does not give it too much attention but gradually her life becomes more and more threatened by the old acquaintance and she starts to wonder if she got something wrong from in her memory of that summer. Slowly the past returns and in talking to her family she finds out what was hidden behind masks and changes her life forever. What starts as a slow with minor incidents becomes more thrilling when they are linked and a pattern becomes visible. As Katy unfolds what happened in her youth the reader develops an understanding and being in the advantage of memories from different characters, you soon detect that there was a lot more than the innocent girl assumed. Watching her detect the dyfunctioning of her own family, lies not only she told but also her surrounding and a memory which was adjusted to her own needs, is what makes reading this novel a great fun. The plot is strong and interesting, yet the language sometimes lacks variety and especially the scenes in which Katy and her husband quarrel are weak and annoying. If they are meant to slow down the action and to create suspense, this did not work for me. It might, however, for readers who are into romance and the hardship of marriages. The end, too, was a bit too much to my taste. All in all, a convincing story with an enthralling plot.

Hat Ihnen diese Empfehlung geholfen?

Wird oft zusammen gekauft

The Lies We Tell - Meg Carter

The Lies We Tell

von Meg Carter

(1)
eBook
1,99
+
=
Tell Me - Lisa Jackson

Tell Me

von Lisa Jackson

eBook
6,99
+
=

für

8,98

inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.

Alle kaufen