The Strings of Murder

A Case for Frey & McGray 01

'A hugely entertaining Victorian mystery' New York Times
'I enjoyed this - properly creepy and Gothic' Ian Rankin
A spellbinding concoction of crime, history and horror - perfect for fans of Sherlock Holmes and Jonathan Creek. The First Case for Frey & McGray.
Edinburgh, 1888. A violinist is murdered in his home. The dead virtuoso's maid swears she heard three musicians playing in the night. But with only one body in the locked practice room - and no way in or out - the case makes no sense.
Fearing a national panic over another Ripper, Scotland Yard sends Inspector Ian Frey to investigate under the cover of a fake department specializing in the occult. However, Frey's new boss, Detective 'Nine-Nails' McGray, actually believes in such supernatural nonsense.
McGray's tragic past has driven him to superstition, but even Frey must admit that this case seems beyond reason. And once someone loses all reason, who knows what they will lose next...
'This is wonderful. A brilliant, moving, clever, lyrical book - I loved it. Oscar de Muriel is going to be a name to watch.'
Manda Scott
'A great cop double-act ... It's the pairing of the upright Frey and the unorthodox McGray that notches up the stars for this book. Like de Muriel, they're going places.'
Sunday Sport
'One of the best debuts so far this year - a brilliant mix of horror, history, and humour. Genuinely riveting ... with plenty of twists, this will keep you turning the pages. It's clever, occasionally frightening and superbly written - The Strings Of Murder is everything you need in a mystery thriller.'
Crime Review
Portrait

Oscar de Muriel was born in Mexico City and moved to the UK to complete his PhD. He is a chemist, translator and violinist who now lives and works in Manchester.

… weiterlesen
In den Warenkorb
Filialabholung

Versandkostenfrei

Beschreibung

Produktdetails

Einband Taschenbuch
Seitenzahl 416
Erscheinungsdatum 12.02.2015
Sprache Englisch
ISBN 978-0-7181-7982-3
Verlag Penguin Books Ltd
Maße (L/B/H) 198/128/32 mm
Gewicht 298
Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
7,99
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Sofort lieferbar
Versandkostenfrei
In den Warenkorb
Filialabholung

Versandkostenfrei

Andere Kunden interessierten sich auch für

  • 52862503
    A Mask of Shadows
    von Oscar de Muriel
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    7,99
  • 45078187
    The Spy Who Came in from the Cold
    von John Le Carré
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    6,99
  • 43388458
    His Bloody Project
    von Graeme Macrae Burnet
    (1)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    8,99
  • 46395086
    A Rising Man
    von Abir Mukherjee
    (1)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    8,99
  • 40200514
    The Harvest Man
    von Alex Grecian
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    6,99
  • 47251140
    The Strings of Murder
    von Oscar de Muriel
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    12,99
  • 44081894
    The Strings of Murder
    von Oscar de Muriel
    Buch (gebundene Ausgabe)
    26,99
  • 61558759
    The Loch of the Dead
    von Oscar de Muriel
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    7,99
  • 42682697
    Camilleri, A: Blade of Light
    von Andrea Camilleri
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    8,99
  • 38930428
    We Were Liars
    von E. Lockhart
    (16)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    8,99 bisher 10,49
  • 46694378
    One of Us Is Lying
    von Karen M. McManus
    (5)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    7,99
  • 15085432
    Altered Carbon
    von Richard Morgan
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    9,99
  • 42769827
    The Girl on the Train
    von Paula Hawkins
    (16)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    6,99
  • 46700128
    Origin
    von Dan Brown
    (1)
    Buch (gebundene Ausgabe)
    15,99
  • 53302413
    Stalking Jack the Ripper
    von Kerri Maniscalco
    (2)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    6,99
  • 65234100
    The Woman in the Window
    von A. J. Finn
    (1)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    11,99
  • 65248535
    The Grave's a Fine and Private Place
    von Alan Bradley
    Buch (gebundene Ausgabe)
    16,99
  • 69708562
    The Language of Thorns
    von Leigh Bardugo
    (3)
    Buch (gebundene Ausgabe)
    9,99
  • 69439252
    The Thirst
    von Jo Nesbo
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    6,99
  • 46395314
    The Woman in Cabin 10
    von Ruth Ware
    (3)
    Buch (Taschenbuch)
    6,99

Buchhändler-Empfehlungen

Kristiane Müller, Thalia-Buchhandlung Hamburg

Zwei, die so schlecht zusammen passen wie Scully und Mulder.
Schöne Schauergeschichte im nebligen victorianischen Edinburgh.
Zwei, die so schlecht zusammen passen wie Scully und Mulder.
Schöne Schauergeschichte im nebligen victorianischen Edinburgh.

Kundenbewertungen

Es wurden noch keine Bewertungen geschrieben.

Wird oft zusammen gekauft

The Strings of Murder - Oscar de Muriel

The Strings of Murder

von Oscar de Muriel

Buch (Taschenbuch, Englisch)
7,99
+
=
A Fever of the Blood - Oscar de Muriel

A Fever of the Blood

von Oscar de Muriel

Buch (Taschenbuch)
7,99
+
=

für

15,98

inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.

Alle kaufen