Truly Devious

A Mystery

Truly Devious Band 1

Maureen Johnson

(10)
Die Leseprobe wird geladen.
Buch (gebundene Ausgabe, Englisch)
Buch (gebundene Ausgabe, Englisch)
9,79
9,79
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
inkl. gesetzl. MwSt.
Lieferbar in 1 - 2 Wochen Versandkostenfrei
Lieferbar in 1 - 2 Wochen
Versandkostenfrei

Weitere Formate

Taschenbuch

8,19 €

Accordion öffnen

gebundene Ausgabe

9,79 €

Accordion öffnen

eBook (ePUB)

6,29 €

Accordion öffnen

Beschreibung

New York Times bestselling author Maureen Johnson weaves a delicate tale of murder and mystery in the first book of a striking new series, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie and E. Lockhart.

Ellingham Academy is a famous private school in Vermont for the brightest thinkers, inventors, and artists. It was founded by Albert Ellingham, an early twentieth century tycoon, who wanted to make a wonderful place full of riddles, twisting pathways, and gardens. “A place,” he said, “where learning is a game.”

Shortly after the school opened, his wife and daughter were kidnapped. The only real clue was a mocking riddle listing methods of murder, signed with the frightening pseudonym “Truly, Devious.” It became one of the great unsolved crimes of American history.

True-crime aficionado Stevie Bell is set to begin her first year at Ellingham Academy, and she has an ambitious plan: She will solve this cold case. That is, she will solve the case when she gets a grip on her demanding new school life and her housemates: the inventor, the novelist, the actor, the artist, and the jokester.

But something strange is happening. Truly Devious makes a surprise return, and death revisits Ellingham Academy. The past has crawled out of its grave. Someone has gotten away with murder. 

The two interwoven mysteries of this first book in the Truly Devious series dovetail brilliantly, and Stevie Bell will continue her relentless quest for the murderers in books two and three.

Publishers Weekly Best Books of 2018 * Junior Library Guild Selection * 2019 YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults Nomination * 2019 ALA's Best Fiction for Young Adults Nomination * Chicago Public Library Best of the Best Books 2018 * Goodreads Choice Award Nominee for Young Adult Fiction 2018 * 2018 Nerdy Book Club Young Adult Winner * Seventeen Best YA Book of 2018 * Lincoln Award Nominee * 2020-2021 South Carolina Book Awards Nominee * 2020 Pennsylvania Young Readers' Choice Award Winner

Produktdetails

Verkaufsrang 1764
Einband gebundene Ausgabe
Altersempfehlung 14 - 17 Jahr(e)
Erscheinungsdatum 16.01.2018
Verlag Harper Collins Publ. USA
Seitenzahl 432
Maße (L/H) 22/15,4/4 cm
Gewicht 488 g
Sprache Englisch
ISBN 978-0-06-233805-1

Weitere Bände von Truly Devious

Buchhändler-Empfehlungen

"Look a riddle, time for fun!"

Manuela Schütt, Thalia-Buchhandlung Cottbus

Jeder der an der Ellingham Academy lernt, hat ein besonderes Talent. Stevie´s sind Kriminalfälle. Und so ist sie begeistert als sie an der geheimnisumwitterten Schule angenommen wird. 80 Jahre bevor Stevie den Boden der Academy betritt, verschwanden die Frau und Tochter des Gründers. Ein cold case, der Stevie magisch anzieht. Doch in dem Buch wird weit mehr thematisiert als ein Entführungsfall. Unter anderem werden Panikattacken mühelos in den Verlauf der Geschichte miteingebunden, dadurch bekommen die Hauptfiguren mehr Tiefe und man fühlt mit ihnen. Es ist fesselnd geschrieben, mit Rätseln versehen und ich konnte es ab der Hälfte nicht mehr aus den Händen legen.

Nina Hansen, Thalia-Buchhandlung Delmenhorst

Ein Mädchen, das wahre Kriminalfälle liebt und der größte ungelöste Fall des 20. Jahrhunderts. Hier passt einfach alles zusammen: die Geschichte, die Atmosphäre, die Figuren. Der großartige Auftakt zur Trilogie um Stevie und die Ellingham Academy!

Kundenbewertungen

Durchschnitt
10 Bewertungen
Übersicht
6
1
2
1
0

Interesting concept, poorly executet
von einer Kundin/einem Kunden aus Oberglatt ZH am 03.05.2021

*** Minor spoilers *** * I really wanted to like this book. The blurb on the back/premise of the book sounded so promising. I really liked (and still like) the idea/storyline. Unfortunately, my interest in the plot and the case per se was the only thing that stayed throughout the book. Well, this and the fact that I like the ... *** Minor spoilers *** * I really wanted to like this book. The blurb on the back/premise of the book sounded so promising. I really liked (and still like) the idea/storyline. Unfortunately, my interest in the plot and the case per se was the only thing that stayed throughout the book. Well, this and the fact that I like the author's style of writing. In my opinion, the pacing was just off. There's too little happening for too long and it felt like this book was just setting the tone for what's to come which, as I see it, isn't what the first book of a series should do. Granted, we need to get to know the characters first but that's not what I'm talking about because I normally really enjoy reading about character development, etc. With this story, it just felt like the information were spoon fed and dumped on the reader. Rather than the author taking us on a journey to finding clues and making descoveries. Ultimately, I didn't even connect with the characters which is a shame. I didn't really care for what happened to them individually. And although I wanted to know what happened to Hayes and the old case, and how they would react to new clues, most things didn't move me. In short, I wasn't emotionally invested in the characters or the story. This fact and the author's way of dumping information rather than letting us experience them made the "love story" (if we can call it that) quite unauthentic. I never developed any feelings with the MC. In conclusion: I can see why people might like it but unfortunately it wasn't my cup of tea. I'm glad that I read it with a bookclub as the conversations there were very interesting. The story still intrigues me, so I might read book #2 nontheless.

Eine der besten Serien der letzten Jahre
von einer Kundin/einem Kunden am 12.12.2019

Wusste nicht was mich hier erwartet. Hatte vorher schon Bücher dieser Autorin gelesen, und ich warte immer noch auf das Ende von Name of the Star. Aber diese Serie hebt sich von der Handlung her in einer guten Art von den meisten anderen Geschichten der letzten Jahre ab. Die Charaktere sind gut geschrieben, die Handlung vielschi... Wusste nicht was mich hier erwartet. Hatte vorher schon Bücher dieser Autorin gelesen, und ich warte immer noch auf das Ende von Name of the Star. Aber diese Serie hebt sich von der Handlung her in einer guten Art von den meisten anderen Geschichten der letzten Jahre ab. Die Charaktere sind gut geschrieben, die Handlung vielschichtig und spannend und endlich ein Krimi/Thriller mit mehreren Teilen. Ich denke diese Serie verdient weit mehr Hype, als sie im Moment hat. Kann sein das bei einigen heuer dieses Buch von mir unterm Christbaum landet.

TRULY DEVIOUS is truly devious...
von einer Kundin/einem Kunden am 31.10.2019

I really liked the book and loved all those different characters. Also I really really was NOT able to figure out what was actually going on until the very last page... well actually I still don‘t know what happened in Ellingham Academy, because of the !CLIFFHANGER!. It was a thrilling adventure in a beautiful setting and I can‘... I really liked the book and loved all those different characters. Also I really really was NOT able to figure out what was actually going on until the very last page... well actually I still don‘t know what happened in Ellingham Academy, because of the !CLIFFHANGER!. It was a thrilling adventure in a beautiful setting and I can‘t wait to read more about Stevie and her friends in „The Vanishing Stair“.


  • artikelbild-0